We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,106)
Filter reviews
3,106 results
Traveler rating
656
977
716
343
414
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
656
977
716
343
414
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square great location new york family room bunk beds premium room rooms are small around the corner coffee machine the theater district central park suny nyc broadway block subway maids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 3,106 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival had no information was given goodie card told the room number.
Next day asked questions at desk got told to go see another staff. When seeing that person had no interest what so ever with an attitude.
Every night there were constant doors banging, couldn’t open the window as it was taped up which the room was very hot. Housekeeping wasn’t that good, knocked on door and asked if we needed anything and then got told to wait until she got it and passed it through the door. When on check out day the cleaner knocked several times and was told we were checking out at 12. Knocked 8am 9.30am , and many times after that. The staff didn’t seem interested in any of there residents just more interested in taking your money and that is it. You will be left with a tax bill when u leave the hotel. I wouldn’t stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank U6033YImarting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacianaGS, Assistant General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear U6033YImarting,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sad that we have not exceeded your guest expectations. As we pride ourselves in hospitality and creating an experience for all travelers. In review of your concerns It seems as there was some slight miscommunication with Front Desk Reception and Concierge Desk. We have 2 desks at reception one that deals with guests internally for checking in and out and one for travel and tourism inquiries.

We apologize for any misunderstanding allowing you to evaluate us negatively. We will continue to strive for great service. Thank you very much,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't get told that we would have to pay taxes at the end we were told we would get the whole deposit back but were not and only getting half back. People should be told upon arrival that this would happen. Good hotel overall

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karlmunt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacianaGS, Assistant General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear karlmunt91,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sad that we have not exceeded your guest expectations. As we pride ourselves in hospitality and creating an experience for all travelers. Please note the Urban Fee is a fee is disclosed on The Gallivants explore page listed under hotels "General Policies". This information lists all amenities included for guest knowledge prior to guest arrival.

We apologize for any misunderstanding allowing you to evaluate us negatively. We will continue to strive for great service. Thank you very much, Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel via a package with a local travel agent. We looked through the website and on Google and thought the rooms looked good and it was what we were looking for as an overall hotel.

Service at front desk was good and made welcome however our room was anything but. It was nothing like the photos and we even wondered if we were put in the right room.

The radiator cabinet was hanging off on 2 sides, the decor was different to the images we saw and the bathroom door had water damage.

Bedroom walls are paper thin and the doors are not soft close so we could hear conversations and the slamming of doors. I think we only got one good night's sleep when we were there. One evening I saw there was a delivery of new mattresses for rooms and having woken up at 3am, it sounded like the noise of people unwrapping the mattress out of its plastic and the jostling of getting it in the bedrooms.

Any good points? The location is perfect. Situated by times square, far enough away from traffic but not enough you are out of the hustle and bustle. Plenty of restaurants, bars, tube stations and landmarks to visit are all in walking distance.

The cleaner did do a good job of our room each day. New linen and towels, extra cups and coffee for the machine.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jordan715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacianaGS, Assistant General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jordan715,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sad that we have not exceeded your guest expectations. As we pride ourselves in hospitality and creating an experience for all travelers. In review of your concerns I will have Chief Engineer note deficiencies listed within your review. This will allow us to resolve any pending or reoccurring issues.

We are pleased you were able to enjoy our location. This is always a great way to start and end your holiday. With all noted concerns addressed we apologize for any misunderstanding allowing you to evaluate us negatively. We will continue to strive for great service.

Thank you very much,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Myself and my sister spent 4 nights at the gallivant. It is a lovely hotel, in a prime location (100 metres to M&M world). Staff were very friendly and helpful, beds the comfiest I have ever slept in!!! Apart from being a little noisy (but we were staying on Times Square) it was perfect.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolacoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacianaGS, Assistant General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We would like first of all for you to know that we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday at our hotel.

We will continue to pride ourselves in creating an amazing guest experience.

We are humbly honored to receive confirmation this has been achieved we consider it a success story.

We would like to thank you once again for your appreciation and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Do not stay here.

My room had some large machine belching out noxious fumes all night while having tubs corrosive acid bouncing around on top of it. They charge a totally unjustified $35 a night mandatory extra fee. The manager is impossible to track down; I tried four times to see the manager, only finally tracking her down before I checked out.

Stay here at your own risk.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank MarcusW1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacianaGS, Assistant General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are sad that we have not exceeded your guest expectations. As we pride ourselves in hospitality and creating an experience for all travelers. Managers on Duty are scheduled day and night o assist in guest inquiries or concerns.

Please note the Urban Fee is a fee is disclosed on The Gallivants explore page listed under hotels "General Policies". This information lists all amenities included for guest knowledge prior to guest arrival.

We apologize for any misunderstanding allowing you to evaluate us negatively. We will continue to strive for great service.


Thank you very much,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews