We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great family reunion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #227 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great family reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

We booked this hotel for a family reunion at Thanksgiving. The hotel staff were great. The location of the hotel was great. We had many grandchildren at the reunion and they enjoyed the proximity to the South Seaport and the activities and shopping it has to offer. We liked the lack of city traffic around the hotel and felt safe with all the young children we had around.

The rooms were spacious and very clean. The free breakfast was well stocked and the staff kept replacing the food as it was consumed. The subways stations were nearby and the hotel was close to a free shuttle service that takes you around the downtown New York area.

We're looking forward to come back to this hotel again and again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — gym was smalll
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VACharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    392
    90
    30
    21
See reviews for
305
273
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

I stayed 4 nights in New York, 2 in Hilton in Midtown (business) and 2 in this small scale Best Western Inn Seaport Inn (leasure). In Hilton I paid over 400 $ a night. Breakfast not included. In the Seaport Inn I paid 199 $, breakfast and internet included.

Staff is very friendly, location ok for downtown (bars, shops, restaurants in the neighborhood, subway-station Fulton 5/10 minutes walking).

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

My partner and I decided to take a road trip up to new york wednesday at about 2pm. We didn't leave Delaware until about 5, and didn't start looking for hotels until we got to the new jersey turn pike. We called about 15 hotels, motels, and even a hostel that appeared on our GPS search. This Best Western was the cheapest stay, accepted AAA, and had a deal with a parking garage for ONLY 20bucks. The hotel is very easy to find, and has a conveinent loading and unloading sidewalk. We checked in with no problem and were assigned a room on the third floor. The room was small, but perfect. Had a table to eat, a small desk basically for our laptops and cell phones to charge and a queen size bed, a hidden tv, micro fridge, and even a vcr. Smelled clean which was a plus, and we actually had a decent view of the harbor and of the street in front of the hotel. The only negative and gross thing I can say is NOT that there were bed bugs or anything, the only gross thing was that when we opened the toilet there was poop and atleast an entire roll of toilet paper inside. It was really gross. The water pressure was great for city water. Bed was comfy and the thermostat kept the room perfect temperature.

It was a little hard to sleep. I will tell you, that you can hear VERY LOUDLY if anyone upstairs of you runs their water. At about 2:30 they decided to take a half hour shower and then again at 7am. Everytime they flushed the toilet we could hear it. This happens at a lot of hotels so Im not going to hold it against best western.

They were extremely nice and even offered us late check out so we could go see the macy day parade and have time to come back and pack up.

Forgot to mention, the amazing breakfast. I read on a review someone had written that they only had 4 tables. Okay, who cares? You get the food and you go back to your room! There were 4 tables and then they had 3 couches and 2 or 3 barstool tables AND you could sit in any of the lobby couches. I dont think i've ever stayed anywhere and not taken my food back to my room where its more comfortable.

  • Liked — Wasnt right in town with the hustle and bustle but Times Square is 6 Subway Stops away
  • Disliked — I liked everything.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyger7404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

This is a good hotel if you are on a budget. Is I was visiting for business reasons it was close to the financial district in the Seaport area. The surrounding area is very nice with plenty of restaurants in close proximity with cobbled streets. It is not that convenient if you are mainly focussing on uptown tourist areas as it is quite a few stops on the subway.

The hotel itself is very good, with helpful desk staff and a good continental breakfast is included in the rate.

The rooms are quite nice and spacious albeit more traditionally presented (not ultra modern) and the only issue was the rattling airconditioning (old style with no way to set an accurate temperature).

The hotel is also very quiet as it is not on any main thoroughfare.

  • Liked — Very comfortable, good staff
  • Disliked — Airconditioning
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Macca41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

I only tend to praise something when its worth praising.

This is a great little hotel in good location at a great rate for New York.

The hotel has a charm that is not often found in chain hotels and the service is individual. All the staff were helpful.

We were told that breakfast was not included in our rate but on arrival the staff told us continental was included and this was served in a, small, parlour with a large choice of cereals, pastries coffee tea etc. Enough to set you up for the day albeit you may have to wait a few minutes for a free table.

The location at the Seaport is great. Okay Pier 17 is a tourist trap but the surrounding area is great with lots of restaurants and cafes serving exquisite food (MUST GO: Les Halles Brasserie, St John Street).

When people say you can get better hotels in the area at a better price, well I could not and I spent hours looking round and comparing prices. The price of 229 dollars per room was good.

A point to bear in mind if your travelling into the States - we purchased gift vouchers when the exchange rate was high. When we visitied the exchange rate has dropped considerably but we came out well because of the forethought.

The room itself was larger than expected with high speed WIFI and LD tv.

The aircon was a little noisy and one of the lifts was a little slow.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Guilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal,Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

We chose this hotel because we were just off a cruise in Brooklyn and wanted something close to the port and not too far from Little Italy.We wanted to visit the San Gennaro feast.I must say we were pleasantly surprised.The room was clean and well-decorated.We had a mini-fridge, a safe and continental breakfast.The breakfast room had cereal, juice ,toast, waffles,and muffins.The only setback is that it's small(4 tables).Then there were some selfish people there who sat and chatted at a table for about 20 minutesafter they had finished while some people had to eat breakfast on a chair. The staff was very helpful when we asked for directions.If you're expecting the Waldorf Astoria, don't book there.But if you want a clean and comfortable hotel at a reasonable price, the Seaport fits the bill.

  • Liked — rooms were tastefully decorated and had great amenities
  • Disliked — size of beakfast room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

They gave me a queen room facing the inside of the building so my view out the window was a vent. Well I was only there for 2 days, so it didn't much matter to me. I was planning a conference at the Bridgewater restaurant venue space and so the walk was only 2 blocks, which was more important to me rather than the view. Perhaps you may want to ask for a Street View room, but I'm not sure how the noise factor would be.

After the conference I didn't want to walk back to the Best Western to catch a limo, so the front desk was kind enough to oder the airport limo to pick us up at the Bridgewaters venue. Very good service.

Ok tasting cookies at 3pm daily at the front desk of Best Western (although Subways are much better).

Showerhead was new, so that's was nice. Old TV and cabinetry, but decent.

Good rate and good area. For those of you who have been to the Distillery District in Toronto, it's very much like that - cobblestone streets closed off to the cars so great for pedestrians shopping. High end stores, very trendy area.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ringettechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#348 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Financial District
Eurostars Wall Street
Eurostars Wall Street
#392 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing