We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #244 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Amriswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great place to stay in NYC”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed 5 nights and can really recommend it. We can confirm what others said. From our window in the 5th floor we could see the Brooklyn Bridge, which is within walking distance. Also the different Ferries (Staten Island, East River…), Rivers tour stations and the Subway stations are within walking distance. Next door is a nice pizza place and near by is a place where you can sit outside and listen to music. There are also some quite nice shops. Just outside you could rent bikes. For Breakfast we enjoyed especially the waffles, which one could make.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldapfel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    392
    90
    31
    21
See reviews for
305
273
54
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed her for four nights and would definitely go back. The price was very reasonable. The location near the South Street Seaport is excellent and provides easy access to lots of fun bars and restaurants as well as the port area itself. The Staten Island Ferry and Lower Manhattan are all easy walks from here-and the Brooklyn Bridge is very close-but far enough away that there is no traffic noise. There is a subway stop (Fulton Street) about three blocks away that gives you easy access to all of Manhattan. We got there early and the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. They anticipated our needs very well, asking us if we needed to store our bags and what type of room we would like when they became available.Their lunch recommendation (la block away) was perfect for a quick meal. When we returned, we had already been checked in and the room was available. The room was very clean and well laid out for travelers. Adequate storage space was provided. There were no surprises-everything was as good or better than promised. All in all, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olmsted Falls
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The service was excellent, every staff member we encountered was very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, it was clean & comfortable. Had a nice closet to get things out of the way. There is a free hot breakfast every morning which was very nice, what an added bonus. We were close to the subway so getting around was not a problem. We did drive into the city and used the hotel's parking which is just around the corner & very convenient. I would stay in this hotel again & highly recommend it.

I am a bit nervous about staying in hotels with all of the bed bug scares, so I have educated myself on how to check for them, this hotel is clean...no bugs found....

Room Tip: 509 had a bed and a fold out sofa sleeper which was comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbarano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester on
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Loved the price, the location, and it was a very clean and friendly hotel. Very comfortable beds and a show head that actually sprayed the way it should. Located close to the seaport close to tour boats, quaint little restaurants and 10 minutes walk if that, to the Brooklyn Bridge. Breakfast offered a wide variety of choices hot and cold. Yogurt and fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, breakfast meats, juices etc. and a great cup of coffee. Nearby subway, cheap and takes you anywhere, fast to the high points of the city: Times Square, Little Italy, China Town, So Ho, Yankee Stadium etc. Such a great stay, we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised that this hotel exceeded every expectation. We selected it based on location, as we were stopping in NYC for one night with our family of four to see the Statue of Liberty and then an evening show of Stomp. This hotel was in between those locations, and in fact is an easy walk to Battery Park where we caught the ferry to the Statue of Liberty.

We arrived at noon, and did not expect check in until 3pm; we parked and expected to ask them to hold our bags so we could catch the 3pm ferry. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, and we were so happy when they offered to put us into our room immediately.

On the way to the room I noticed one thing consistently...this place is immaculate. The lobby was clean, the small dining area was clean, the hallways were clean and sparkling. Our room was beautifully appointed and also, as the paperwork informed us, "ultra cleaned". I could not find fault with anything in terms of things being clean and well cared for, and I gave a thorough inspection as I always do as I clean up a little, due to our kiddos' food allergies. Everything passed the clorox wipe test with flying colors!

Three notes to the management: (1) would love to see a small microwave added to the room (although the staff allowed us to use the dining room microwave so this wasn't a big deal); (2) the hotel requests you to re-use your towels to be eco-friendly, but there are not four towel hooks in the bathroom. It would be easier to re-use my towels if you add a nice rack of 4-8 hooks for towels and clothing! (3) Please ask your supplier to include ingredients on the labels for shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc...I could not determine if these things had our allergens in them and thankfully I had brought along our own from home.

When we stepped out for both events, the folks at the front desk gave superb directions and maps. Parking was a breeze at the covered lot recommended, and there was a discount available if the parking ticket is presented to the hotel.

We were in a beautiful room on the 5th floor, where we had a nice view of the bridge. Breakfast was included the next morning and there was a nice selection of yogurt, fruit, waffles, eggs, and sausage. The staff was able to provide ingredients, so FA families will appreciate being able to feed their FA children! Coffee seemed to be available all day which is one of my favorite "perks"!

A computer and printer were available for guest use in the lobby. There is also information available on local attractions.

I would stay here again in a minute. The beds were comfy, everything was clean, the staff was great...overall we highly recommend.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 5th floor room, but I would ask for a room overlooking the bridge. The hotel probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

First trip to New York city and it was only a few days after Christmas. Being a best western plus, I wasn't expecting much. Sure the building isn't pleasing to the eyes when driving up to the hotel. The elevator area wasn't that much better. However, the lobby wasn't bad and the room arguably is one of the best deal you can find in New York. Another friend of ours booked a much more modern hotel for a much higher price but we would have rather stayed here instead. The room was roomy it was modern enough, had enough aesthetic appeal and amenities. It is a best western plus standard room but in New York. Hotels in NY are a whole dif ball game than anywhere else. Did I mentioned that it is in Seaport and next to the Brooklyn Bridge? Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The service was wonderful. Staff was very friendly and went above and beyond. The location is great. Loved all of the views especially since I got a balcony at no additional charge. The rooms were average size and for being NYC very quite. They were clean.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitnsaly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#232 of 466 in New York City
1,033 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#192 of 466 in New York City
385 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#347 of 466 in New York City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#213 of 466 in New York City
537 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#285 of 466 in New York City
506 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 466 in New York City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing