We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #297 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having stayed uptown for four days, we had booked here to look around downtown, but after the noisy poky place we had stayed in we were not expecting much. What a pleasant surprise, friendly staff, who actually made us feel welcome, a good sized room with everything we needed, including a fridge and quiet air con. Free breakfast in the morning, coffee available in the lounge area at all times, just help yourself, it was great. Plus, the area is lovely, so much to see and really good restaurants and bars in the village area surrounding the hotel, which is a few minutes from Brooklyn Bridge, Wall Street, Battery Park,(where all the ferries and trips to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island go from) and a short walk to China Town and Little Italy. Can't recommend this hotel enough, staying downtown for our last four days, made our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Peter R ,

Thank you for very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is ideal if you want a piece a mind and stay close to all the attraction in NY City. Our rates are very competitive and our staff goes above and beyond to make every guest stay “home away from home” experience. We hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham

General Manager
ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 971 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

The front desk staff were great from check in to check out. I was there for a family wedding and then for Broadway shows with a friend. This location is close to a TKTS booth - and to the subway.

Wonderful breakfast included.

Room was comfy and quite spacious considering the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Mary Ann P,

Thank you very much for your review. Customer service and our location set us apart from the competition. We hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My daughter & I stayed here end of June! Loved the quaintness of this motel & the staff were helpful & pleasant. When I booked this room I was under the impression there were balconies off the rooms so that you could enjoy the Brooklyn Bridge & other views. When checking in, found out that was not the case. Our 1st room looked right into the side of another building (room was great though) Due to the fact we were going to be there a week, asked if they had a room with a better view & boy did they deliver. We were moved to a room with a terrace off of it & lived like queens for a week. This motel was within walking distance to almost everything & if not was close to hopping on a sub. Would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Jen P ,

Thank you very much for your review. Our location is ideal when visiting New York City. It is close to everything you will need from transportation to restaurants, city tours, tickets to broadway shows and great view at the brooklyn bridge.

Again, we appreciate you review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager

ZB Moham

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August to attend a wedding. The Hotel staff were amazing from the get go. We had taken a red eye flight and had landed in the airport at 7:30 AM. Even though our room reservation was not before Noon, the Hotel front staff offered us hot breakfast which was great btw. The Hot breakfast included fresh fruits, pastries and scrambled eggs and sausages with the usual selection of bread and bagels and juices.

I was also impressed with the location. It was just a block about away from the historic seaport area and pier 17. We were about a good 15-20 minute walk away from the battery park from where one can take cruises to Ellis island and statue of Liberty. The wall street and financial district was about a 10 minute walk away. The best thing one can enjoy close by is a walk on the Brooklyn bridge. If you can do it at night, the views are awesome! There is a subway station not more than 5 minute walk away as well.

The negative thing though is the whole building and rooms are quite small. Even the lobby area and the breakfast area could easily get crowded when 3 or 4 families got there at once! The rooms were clean and serviced well. However they were small. Although we were offered a room with a partial view to the Brooklyn Bridge, the whole area is surrounded by old buildings and which mellowed down the view.

There are no amenities like pool or a spa. They did have a fitness center which I did not use. They do have a complimentary wireless, which was quite spotty connection wise inside the rooms.

The only reason I did not give it 4 stars was that it lacked some of the amenities that a typical 4 star restaurant should have. It is in the 3+ star category in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view of the Brooklyn Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear sakraghu ,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your overall stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed our location. Our rooms are biggest in our location. Not too many hotels in New York will have 2 queen size beds or King size rooms with Terraces. Most of our guest find it comfortable. We wish we had a pool and spa. Real estate in NYC is very expensive ($100 SQ FT). Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were in NYC for a three day weekend and stayed at this great little hotel near the South Street Seaport. The team behind the desk was just superb. I have not experienced such stellar attention since a stay at the Four Seasons anew years ago! Douglas was the epitome of excellence and even recalled my name several days after we checked in. Also Janice and another fellow this morning were also so kind and helpful. The lady managing the breakfast was probably overworked, but not one complaint, she was cheerful and so helpful and accommodating. We liked our room a lot with a view of the top of the Brokklyn Bridge. We will definitely go back and give it two thumbs up!

Didn't love the pillows - too thick - made our necks hurt, but did like the nice King size bed!

Room Tip: Anything with a view of the water or the bridge makes it more special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear trvel4fun ,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed the area and view. Douglas and Janice are few of the team members that deliver exceptional service day in and day out. Again, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is an ideal location, close to the Financial District, but has problems with rattling A/C units, broken shower heads and missing breakfast items (no coffee on Monday, No Eggs on Tuesday, etc). Construction on Peck Slip has caused the hotel to become dirty. On the positive side, the hotel staff are likely the friendliest and helpful in Manhatten.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComputerTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the BW South St. Seaport between August 21st & August 28th. I was initially impressed with the positive comments that were posted on this site. My expectations are simple: It has to be affordable, clean, and in a good location. We were not disappointed!
My first impression was that the hotel was clean and well organized. The check in was smooth and the staff were welcoming. Our room was on the 5th floor which gave us a great view of the Brooklyn Bridge.
As for proximity, it is a short stroll to restaurants and shops located in the South Street Seaport and Pier 17. A few blocks away are the subway stations, a couple of 24 hour stores.
The only negative that I have is the bathroom. It was showing its age. The sink tap came off in my son’s hand when he went to turn it on. We advised the front desk and within a few hours maintenance had repaired it. Problem solved. That’s the way things are supposed to work.
Food wise, the breakfast that is provided, is the best deal in town! The food was fresh and definitely hot. When the room was full, we were directed to an adjacent conference room. The ladies who worked that room were friendly and helpful.
A word about the staff, they are the awesome! From Frank and the front desk staff who are efficient & helpful (and can read a map upside down), to the ladies who take care of our rooms (always cheerful). Even the maintenance man, who was a busy guy, had a great sense of humor. Everyone was polite and professional.
I have stayed in fancier hotels from some well known chains and discovered that the staff is what you remember. The staffs at the BW Seaport Inn have raised the standard. Keep up the great work!
If you are looking for a hotel where the action is, go to the Times Square district. If you want to stay at a hotel that is away from all the hustle and bustle of the city, this is the place. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#263 of 473 in New York City
1,104 reviews
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#5 of 75 in Brooklyn
568 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#109 of 473 in New York City
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 473 in New York City
2,474 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $309 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing