We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #227 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

An oasis in the BIG city! Here are the reasons this a great hotel - a good rate in an expensive city, Second - personal service - Frank at the front desk rocks - Nearby by parking at midwest prices - Hot items on the breakfast bar saves you money everyday - Large, clean and quiet rooms - three blocks from TKTS to get those half price shows - comfortable walk to the train station - no better downtown hotel value

Room Tip: ask for the bridge side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Littlesheep,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your first visit to our location went well. Our location is ideal if you want a piece a mind and stay close to all the attraction in NY City. Plus our staff goes above and beyond to make every guest stay “home away from home” experience. We hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    392
    90
    30
    21
See reviews for
305
273
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night using a free voucher. We go to NYC once a year and always stay in Times Square area. This was our first time staying this area for the first time and we like the location. About 10 minutes walk to Centry 21 and Wall Street. Seaport is just a minute away.
Nice view of Brooklyn Bridge just outside of the hotel,.

Staff at this hotel was very friendly and he called us to make sure after we checked in that we are fine with our room.

The hotel provides free breakfast.

Only the negative comment we have is air conditioning wasn't working well (it may okay during normal weather but when we stayed there was on extreme heat alert day. )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Friendly, helpful, a great place to stay when away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Cari72,

Thank you very much for your. Customer service and our location set us apart from the competition. We are glad that you have selected us and we hope to see again soon in the near future.

Best Wishes from NYC!

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford, england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and found it to be excellent. The location was very good with ground zero only a 5 minute walk away, the Staten Island ferry only a 10 minute walk away and a subway station, Fulton Street, only a couple of minutes walk away. The area around the hotel, the seaport, is currently under renovation and judging by the parts that have already been completed it will be a really upmarket area when finished. The hotel itself was well furnished inside and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly, booking us a taxi back to the airport on our last day and being generally polite. The complimentray breakfast was very welcome as it meant we didn't have to go and find it in the morning. The waffle machine was particularly good. Overall an excellent hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Apparently the terrace rooms have incredible views over brooklyn bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedalo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Pedalo14,

Thank you for very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is ideal if you want a piece a mind and stay close to all the attraction in NY City. Our rates are very competitive and our staff goes above and beyond to make every guest stay “home away from home” experience. We hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Bit hard to find, down in the tangle of bridges and freeways by Brooklyn Bridge, but very comfortable and quiet. The manager was super helpful in showing us where the nearest parking was and giving us a discount on it. Couple of nice restaurants nearby and in neighborhood that is undergoing restoration. Clean and comfortable rooms with more space than is usual in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rexinthecity29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear rexinthecity29556 ,

Thank you very much for your review and commending our staff. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant. We understand parking can be frustrating in NYC. Construction and limited real estate in NY complicates it even more. Many of our guest’s find it convenient entering and exiting seaport area because it is close to Brooklyn Bridge and FDR drive. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Have just spent a week in the BW Seaport Inn and found it a comfortable hotel in a good location. We had a terrace room on the 6th floor overlooking the bridge and seaport, the room was large, clean and tidy although the terraces are a little untidy. On the Saturday evening of our stay we had to move rooms as there was a problem with the main door lock, we were moved to another room on the 6th floor that was even larger,this time over looking Peck Slip. TV's have a good choice and HD channels. The wi-fi connection is also excellent throughout the hotel. The only real problem with the rooms is the noisy air cooling, we thought this may have been just our bad luck but it was the same in both rooms and you could also hear this in other rooms. You need to be a heavy sleeper for this not to disturb you.
We never struggled to get a seat for breakfast between 7.45 - 8.00 am and we enjoyed the selection on offer and it was always well stocked.
Staff were always friendly especially Frank who has a great manner with customers and always helpful.
There is a lot of work going on in the area but there is in the whole of New York and the noise rarely starts before 9 and is always done by 4. Once this is finished the area will be lovely and the Seaport Inn will be an even better choice.
As for the area now, there are some great local resteraunts and bars on the doorstep and a great place to stay after the noise, hustle and bustle of the city. If you enjoy walking then this is a great area to stay although the subway is only a short walk.
All in all a good value hotel and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruisin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear cruisin2,

Thank you very much for your review. Our location is ideal when visiting New York City. It is close to everything you will need from transportation to restaurants, city tours, tickets to broadway shows and great view at the brooklyn bridge.

Again, we appreciate you review and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2012.

Received a free upgrade to a 6th floor room with balcony and view of Brooklyn bridge and a whirlpool bath. View is fantastic if you overlook the multi-lane freeway that runs alongside the river! Unfortunately the balcony wasn't very private as it just had a metal railing all the way around so no privacy from the balconies of the rooms on either side. Not really a problem for us as the weather was such that you couldn't sit out anyway. Also, the patio doors (two sets) onto the balcony need some attention. They were badly fitting so let in a lot of noise not to mention the strong wing that was blowing on one day. I imagine in the winter it would make the room very cold.

Having said that, the room was a good size for New York and well maintained.

The breakfast room is very small and was very busy on both mornings. There is a good selection on offer and the hot dishes looked appetising though I didn't try them.

The location is great. Seaport is a quiet area with nice shops set in cobbled streets and Pier 17 is very nice too with quite a bit indoor mall and a number of restaurants with outdoor seating. The work outside is still going on but it doesn't start until around 7am and finishes late afternoon so the noise shouldn't affect your stay. Once the work is completed it will be an even nicer area.

It is less than a 10 minute walk to the nearest subway (Fulton Street) and from there you can get trains uptown. We went right up to the Central Park area in less than 15 minutes.

Dion on the front desk was extremely helpful as were all the staff.

If I needed to stay in NY again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Team_DC ,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that enjoyed your stay with us. Dion is one of the team members who go above and beyond daily to make our guest stay memorable. Plus our location and great views sets us apart. We hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#348 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Financial District
Eurostars Wall Street
Eurostars Wall Street
#392 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing