We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-level, small hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #263 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have stayed at this small hotel several times, with varied experiences. Since our first stays were when the hotel needed some upgrading, the hotel has since renovated rooms and is a comfortable hotel, nothing fancy at all, but located near shops, the waterway, restaurants, and quaint little places, walkable distance from Chinatown and Little Italy.

If you don't need anything top notch, this might work out for you. Depending upon what else is going on in town (prices go up if graduations, conventions, etc. are in the city and hotel rooms are hard to find), the prices are reasonable, rooms average size, but everything was immaculate. Rooms: nice bed linens, no evidence of any bugs, soft bed, pull-out couch/bed was comfortable, walls and carpet very clean, plenty of pillows, plenty of room for 2 people.

We asked for 2 beds, so the room was fine, but the view was nothing but the top of a buidling, fire escape, dirty dirty window, and buzzing from a fan outside 24/7, so ask not for those rooms.

Bath: new tile, granite sink, new shower head, plenty of hot water and pressure, hair dryer, tiny shampoo/conditioner, 2 soaps. Sink is located high.

Cleaning: very hospitable cleaning woman, said to take any extra towels, etc. that we needed. Because the place is small (5 stories), she is available, very accommodating.

Free breakfast: steamed scrambled eggs, sausages (I think, but not very tasty, weird texture), make your own waffles, lots of breads, fruits, oatmeal, cereals, 4 different juices. Breakfast hours 7-10, but coffee/tea available 24/7.

One computer at back of breakfast room, can use this room off hours to work on the many tables there. One printer; very easy to use. Internet access: they give you a code, but you need to log in if leave your computer for a time. Fast, no interruptions to this service (free).

Very small reception area, but free cookies in the afternoon! Very hospitable staff; quick check in and check out

Take advantage of the bars on the pier a short walk across the street, little shops along with big names (gap, guess, etc>, great pubs, luncheon places (Stellas was excellent), pizza places, ice cream shops--walkable to lots of places. Subway stops close or far, depending upon where you are going and which ones are being renovated.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room over the front door, as the view is lovely. Make sure you DO NOT get a room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PammyBret7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear PammyBret7,

Thank you very much for your review and being repeat a guest. We are always making improvements to our property and at the same time keeping our rates very competitive. Our location and customer service what sets us apart. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 972 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Best Western is a great renovation of a nineteenth century seaport building. It is perfectly situated on Peck Slip near Battery Park, South Street Seaport, the East River Ferry, and Brooklyn Bridge. My wife road in the Five Borough Bike tour and they accomidated her and dozens of other cyclists very nicely. The staff was consistently very nice and hard working. It is one of the best hotels that we have stayed at anywhere.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room I would ask for one on the interior of the block. it will be blessedly qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Thomas P,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that enjoyed your weekend during NY Bike Tour. Our location is ideal whether you are on business trip or pleasure. We are next to East Side River and Pier 17 shopping mall. Plus great views of the Brooklyn Bridge and City. Again thank you for your review and we hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We wanted a true Manhattan experience and the staff at this Best Western helped us get it! Frank, Dion, Tia and everyone at this Best Western were all wonderful.

We were initially considering booking at a hotel closer to Times Square but it's so touristy and crowded. The Best Western Seaport is off the beaten path and in the amazing Financial District of Manhattan. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and shoppes. Stick to the side streets, though - the mini-mall on the Pier was full of sub-par chain restaurants and souvenier stores. The other stores on the sidestreets were great. This hotel is also within walking distance to the new Freedom tower and many historic churches and pubs.

We were celebrating our First Anniversary so Frank upgraded our room to one that had a terrace overlooking the Brooklyn Bridge. Breathtaking! Our 6th floor room was spotless.

They gave us recommendations on where to eat (Acqua next door is quaint and fabulous for dinner/drinks and Squires was a perfect breakfast diner!). They gave us subway instructions, booked us a car for the airport etc. They literally took care of everything upon request.

This establishment is amazing and we will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Brooklyn Bridge, if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Heather O,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is ideal if you want a piece a mind and stay close to all the attraction in NY City. Plus our staff goes above and beyond to make every guest stay “home away from home” experience. We hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Seaport Inn location can't be beat. The desk staff, especially Frank who accommodated a last minute change that made a HUGE difference in our comfort, was consistantly friendly and helpful. They made great suggestions for food! The breakfast was good and a nice start to the day. The view was wonderful- I loved the Brooklyn Bridge with the Supermoon behind it! Thanks very much for helping to make our weekend so pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear kdb1960,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Frank is one of the team members who go above and beyond daily to make our guest stay memorable. Plus our location and great views sets us apart. We hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

First Visit to New York City. My daughter and I spent a whirlwind weekend (Friday until Monday) in New York. We absolutely loved it! We stayed at the Best Western Seaport Inn for 3 nights, and chose this hotel based on other reviews. We were not disappointed. Clean, quiet large room on the 5th floor. Great view of Brooklyn Bridge from our window. Douglas was our check in clerk, and he was very friendly, patient and extremely helpful with all of our many questions.

Very close walking distance to many areas of Downtown Manhattan. Great little Seaport across the street. Nice shops and restaurants very close by. We also booked a 48 hour hop on hop off bus tour. We had to take the subway to start our tour uptown. Fulton street subway less than 10 minute walk from hotel. We could then take advantage of the hop on hop off stop nearby for the remainder of that tour, but took the subway back later on from Times Square. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 5th floor or highter for good view of Brooklyn Bridge - were not bothered by traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdb1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear kdb1960,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your first visit to New York went well. Our location is ideal if you want a piece a mind and stay close to all the attraction in NY City. Plus our staff goes above and beyond to make every guest stay “home away from home” experience. We hope to you see again soon.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is located near the seaport, close to shops, pubs and restaurants. The room and bathroom were very clean. the staff was ver accommodating. Very comfortable setting, highly recomend for your NYC stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibikemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Ibikemountains ,

Thank you very much for your review. For the past 5 plus years we've been hosting many repeat guests who visit us for the NY Bike Tour. In this event some of our own staff participates. Again thank for your review and we hope to you see again next year.

Best Regards,

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Seaport Inn for 5 nights , It is in a great location walking distance to many places . The staff were very friendly , courteous and helpful. The Room was very clean and had a view of the river. The breakfast was plentiful and to have access to tea or coffee any time of day was great. Could not fault our stay in any way

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear adrienne c ,

Thank you very much for your. Customer service and our location set us apart from the competition. We are glad that you have selected us and we hope to see again soon in the near future.

Best Wishes from NYC!

ZB Moham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#261 of 469 in New York City
1,064 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#234 of 469 in New York City
410 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#240 of 469 in New York City
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#353 of 469 in New York City
517 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#70 of 469 in New York City
664 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#290 of 469 in New York City
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $331 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing