We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New York Presbyterian Guest Facility
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times and cannot say more about the friendly desk staff, regardless of the time of day. The hotel is convenient to local hospitals but is also a quiet, pleasant hotel if you're in NYC. You can walk to the subway or take several busses right outside the door to get around the city. Taxis are always available right outside the door. Some rooms are nicer than others so ask before you book.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    150
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
239
78
65
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently stayed here while participating in a conference at Weill-Cornell. In the spirit of full disclosure I must reveal that I did actually call this building "home" 20 years ago. It was great to be back. Not much had changed - and no one is going to mistake this for a luxury hotel - I did enjoy for this trip, as I did when I lived there, the convenience of the location, the advatages of a full kitchen, and access to the path along the East River for wlaking, running, etc. The neighborhood is filled with delightful neighborhood restuarants. And because of the constant flow around the hospitals the neighborhood is very safe.
The few downsides: streets are busy and can be noisy. Odd numbered rooms face the river and are a bit quieter. Like many buildings in NYC - this one is heat on all the time - so rooms can be hot and dry - especially if the outside temps are mild. Bedding and towels are low-end. All that said, the rooms offer great value for the price. And the front desk folks - as overworked as they are - have hearts of gold!

Room Tip: this is like borrowing a friend's studio apt... do not expect the full services of a hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heartlander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Well, it took me a while to get around to writing a review of where we stayed while in NYC.

There are ups and downs to staying in NY but our stay here was a complete up. It was just the right mix of informality, cleanliness, convenience and supportiveness by the staff.

Everything was clean, everyone was polite and helpful.

Really, I can't think of any downside to this place, unless the location is not what you're looking for. It's on the UES in a hospital corridor, far from the bright lights and ruckus of Broadway.

I would definitely stay here again, if I could afford it, as it's a home away from home.

As I said, everyone was polite and helpful. I would like to single out Jonathan for being simply outstanding. What a wonderful human being he is, truly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saleonsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here with my husband before my surgery at HSS and had a nice quiet stay, room was nothing fancy,but. clean, had two doubles, flat screen tv, granite counter tops and a kitchen..more than we needed for one night, but I could see someone staying here comfortably for awhile, parking was under the building and was discounted for our stay, front desk staff was very nice .the rate was much less than the other hotels in the area for the night

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skimompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

just returned from a two night stay at the Helmsley Medical Tower(NY Presbyterian). The area is safe and has several restaurants in the area. most of the people in the area are either patients or medical people since there are several hospitals in the immediate area. Sloan, which is where we were headed, was 2 blocks south, an easy walk. A grocery store is 2blocks in a different direction, everything is nearby and convenient. Hotel staff are quite nice and the garage is right beneath the hotel which was great. Do not hesitate to stay here, the rooms are very clean, everything was just fine, it was so NYC with the police sirens and ambulance sirens going for most of the day. the real NY experience. (although we grew up in NYC we now live an hour north so it brought back childhood memories). we actually stayed in two different rooms because we were only to stay the one night and had checked out but then needed to stay an extra night so we are able to comment on two different rooms. Both were nice and clean. Nice kitchen too with full size fridge and gas stove, plates, cutlery, glasses.

Room Tip: Front room was best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My cousin was admitted to New York Presbyterian Hospital so l stayed here for three nights from a recommendation from a friend. At the time I was coming, all the hotels around Manhattan were going for around $600-$700 a night because of the universities having graduations. I paid $290 including all taxes for a one bedroom "apartment". It was large with a full kitchen, a real deal considering the location. I was in room 1112 facing York Ave. It isn't a luxury hotel, but it is clean and well kept.The facility offers discounts and deliveries to a few restaurants in the area but more choices are 2 blocks west on 1st Ave. The front desk is very accomadating and always friendly. I would stay here again next time I'm in New York.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ghorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I chose this hotel , after looking at many others, because it was the closest to Memorial Sloan- Kettering Hospital, where my husband was having surgery.The daily rate for a studio room was $235 total, which I thought was a bit high, but the convenient location- only 2 blocks away, decided it for me. We were there for 8 nights and I never had any fear of walking in that neighborhood. The room had 2 double beds, a desk and chair, free wi-fi, and a nice kitchenette, with a full sized refrigerator, a small gas stove and oven, and a microwave, and all the necessary dishes for 4. There was also daily maid service and a big laundry area in the basement. It was very quiet both during the day and at night. There are two cafes, a mini-mart and a pharmacy right on the same street and just a block away are many small restaurants, a grocery store, and other shops. This was our first stay in New York City and we were very pleasantly surprised at how safe, friendly and convenient everything was.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CruisingSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#231 of 467 in New York City
3,648 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#73 of 467 in New York City
1,850 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,539 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,865 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Presbyterian Guest Facility? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Presbyterian Guest Facility

Property: New York Presbyterian Guest Facility
Address: 1320 York Ave, between East 70th and East 71st, New York City, NY 10021-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 164 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your New York Presbyterian Guest Facility reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Presbyterian Guest Facility Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing