We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - great drinks”
Review of Toloache

Toloache
Reserve with OpenTable
Toloache is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #149 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Broadway and 8th Avenue
Transit: Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.
Description: Toloache is an upscale Mexican Bistro by Chef Julian Medina. The menu boasts traditional dishes with exquisite culinary twists, must try's include guacamole, tacos and entrees like the Costilla de Res. The bar prides itself in offering over 300 different tequilas and mezcales, as well as, re-imagined takes on the classic margarita and other cocktails all made with fresh ingredients.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food - great drinks”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went here on a weeknight before a Broadway show and the place was packed. It has a fun atmosphere, mainly of theatre-goers. We had a reservation which was taken on-time, and they asked us what time our show was without us even mentioning it, so they were very attentive to timing.

The food is good, and can be great, depending on what you order. The fish special (cod or tilapia) was quite tasty, and so was the guacamole (but the portion was small). The tacos are also appetizer sized (as disclosed on the menu) and are a bit non-traditional, but good. I did not like the pork carnitas, as I thought it was dry. My advice is to make sure you order a couple of different things, and if it has a special sauce or marinade, it's probably good. They use high quality, fresh ingredients. The drinks are amazing - special margaritas or traditional style - very tasty.

The downside: price. It is very expensive, so go there with your eyes and wallet wide open.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJacksonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    521
    138
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Way to go Toloache”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A huge thank you to management and staff at Toloache. We had an outstanding experience in New York last weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed service and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanBoy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“good but not great”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Three of us had dinner, with tax and tip, but no drinks cost was $ 155, and, just one appetizer, and one entree was a salad. So, I would say that is expensive, even for NYC.
The food quality was good, but not great. The service was excellent and the waiter was helpful and friendly. We sat upstairs, and though crowded, the setting was pleasant. Also, not many vegetarian options were available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in the heart of the theater district”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my fourth trip to Toloache. They never disappoint. Great tacos and wonderful margueritas. Many restaurants are closed for lunch on the weekend so matinee lovers are lucky that Toloache is opened.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethany40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe for the rich and Those who Don't Eat Much”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Atmosphere: poor, there are so many people in there at once, and everyone is so cramped in there that you have to yell to talk to whomever you came with. They also rush you in and rush you out, the second we paid we just stoof up (not even had taken a step yet) two people were in our way trying to rush to take the stuff off the people.

Food: We ordered chips and salsa to start (yes you have to pay) and they gave you what looked like 2 tablespoons of salsa. Then the main food, well it was alright at best, I had the tacos, which were 12$ for 2, and they were the tiniest things I've ever seen. About the length of your finger... with some stuff piled in the middle.. which wasn't really that good. Really disappointing. My boyfriend got a quesadilla which was a bit better, but it was really thin - and again small.

Essentially, I would never go back.. I was hungry when I got in there, and hungry when I left, after spending 45$

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toloache also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Toloache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing