We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very central but only suitable for two persons”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
erica12
england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very central but only suitable for two persons”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We were met and taken through a grubby door and even grub bier stairs to the apartment which was a pleasant surprise. It was clean,functional but could not be used by more than two persons as there was a double bed . The settee just could not be comfortably used. However we were just two and the apartment was good enough for a centre of the city . It was obvious that t he apartment was well used ,do not expect perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central position
Liked least: Bathroom!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“いいホテル A lovely stay in New York”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

とても場所の良いホテルです家族で4人いってもゆったりして清潔もあって良いホテルです安心して泊まれるんです。ちなみにMOMA博物館やー国連にちかいです

Very good size & lovely apartment! As japanese aussie, this vacation rental is great for both travelers from the East or the West! We love it! ~_~

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvanderme...
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, but small for 5. Must supply own toilet paper, shampoo, wash cloths, etc”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Ben, the greeter, was very nice. Great location, average as far as cleanliness, low on amenities. I wasn't expecting to have to buy toilet paper, soap, kleenex, etc..... Additional fees added on.........final cost of almost $300 a night was high for what we got. Could have gotten a hotel with breakfast wifi etc..... for same price, maybe cheaper.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally Ann...
Warburton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is in a great location, being so handy to Grand Central, sights and shopping. We were promptly and helpfully received and shown the apartment on arrival. The stairs up are rather dingy, but once in the apartment it was quite fresh. Two large windows onto 46th Street let in light and one opens well to let in air. The other has an air conditioner fitted at the bottom. The bathroom is a bit tired and grubby around the edges, but the shower was hot and strong. The kitchen was barely adequate, missing a sink plug, tea towel, matches (or instructions on how else to light the oven!). However, there is so much delicious prepared food for purchase around, you can get by with just boiling water, although we had to use a large pot for this, needing tea rather than coffee - there was a coffee maker there. The neighbours are quiet, although being New York, there is always noise outside. Comfortable bedding, good hanging space but no drawers. We stayed just over a week and were very pleased with the apartment overall.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of storage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapethe...
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Many positives - and room for improvement”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
5
people found this review helpful

There are many positives that made this studio an easy and enjoyable home for 2 weeks. Ella, who arranged the booking, and Ben, who met us on arrival were pleasant, efficient and they dealt with two problems promptly: when the hot water failed, Ella had it fixed within a couple of hours, even on a Sunday; similarly Ben arrived promptly to arrange more data when we used the allocation unexpectedly rapidly. The location is great, with easy access to many highlights of Manhattan, transport and restaurants. The studio itself is clean and bright, with two large windows and modern furnishings, and is spacious (apart from the bathroom) and comfortable for two people: the bed and pillows are very good (and we are so fussy about pillows that we carried ours from Australia, but didn’t need them!); but the sofa bed is not comfortable, even for sitting, so I wouldn’t like to sleep on it (and, as other reviewers have noted, I have no idea how the studio could accommodate 5).

There are, however, a few drawbacks, some of which are minor, some expensive to fix but some could be easily improved. This list might seem to belie my overall rating, but I offer the suggestions below because our overall experience was positive.

The building is old and in need of repair: the stairs are worn; during our stay the apartment below was sealed and condemned as ‘unfit for human habitation’; and rubbish disposal is a bit of a chore. In the studio, the bathroom could do with minor repair: the paint on the bath and on the walls is peeling; black soot fell from the vent over the bath on a couple of occasions; the door is sticking; and the toilet cistern gets caught in the up position, so you have to open the top to drop the chain. The location can be very noisy (I know, everywhere in NYC is noisy!) but several things made sleep difficult; garbage and delivery trucks to the restaurants below (the studio is essentially on the second floor, so street noise is loud); the old stairs boom, especially if tenants from the two floors above run up or down; you can hear movement in the upstairs apartment (every day the tenant began thudding around in the early hours); and the (notorious) fridge was loud enough to be annoying when the motor switched on throughout the night.

The studio is adequately equipped but some things could be improved or more generous. The drapes are very thin and not wide enough to cover the whole window: they therefore let in a lot of light (lights in the library and car park opposite are on all night). The air conditioner works well, but its fitting means that sound and hot/cold air seeps in. Double glazing and heavier drapes would help: without them, I found an eye mask and ear plugs necessary. There is a lack of storage space in the studio: there is a closet for hanging, which is fine, but there are no drawers or shelves, which means that you have to live out of your suitcases (there is room for a storage rack or chest of draws behind the door). Cupboards in the kitchen and bathroom are locked for cleaning purposes so there is little room for personal supplies or food preparation (perhaps one cupboard can be freed in the kitchen; or a smaller fridge below a kitchen cabinet extending out from the wall would solve all these problems). Crockery and cutlery is mismatched (who cares!), but some were bent, chipped or cracked and should be replaced. Some essentials are missing: a cutting board and knife, a kettle (pouring from a large saucepan of boiling water is dangerous, especially since the handles get very hot!); a tea towel (especially since there is no drainage space - we bought and left one, so there should be one now!). The bath towels are also small and rather worn. The management provides a few basic supplies, enough to make the place immediately functional, but this could be more generous so tenants staying more than a week do not have to buy quantities that they cannot possibly use. We would have appreciated: a new washing up sponge; washing up liquid to cover the whole period (again we bought and left nearly a full bottle); and a change of towels and bed linen (even if tenants had to pay for it, as who wants to go a laundry for such things while on holiday?). Finally, WiFi is not included in the price and costs $7/day for 200MB, which was not enough for us: the free but unsecure connection to the public library opposite is not reliable from a distance, but you could always go in during the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: Noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erica12
england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An ideal place to see New York from”
Reviewed May 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were a little wary when we saw the outside and stairway to the apartment. However the inside was great for the two of us. Everything was there that we could need and was clean. One night they decided to resurface the road outside so there were diggers,rollers and a lot of noise all night.This was nothing to do with the owners and is unlikely to happen again! Great place to walk to Times Square and thoroughly recommended . I don't know however that five people could manage in this apartment unless there were children in the group.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel114147...
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location close to Grand Central Station”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Upsides: perfect location, felt safe, very friendly and efficient welcome, pleasant decor, good shower, spacious for 2 people, handy for restaurants/ Central Park/ Intrepid aircraft carrier, can pick-up free wifi from NY library opposite.

Downsides: 5 people is not realistic - the sofabed can only really accommodate 1 adult or 2 children, plus there is 1 double bed. Everything is in one room apart from the bathroom. No washing up bowl or plug in kitchen sink, which is annoying if you do cook in the kitchen. Toilet flush kept needing to be fixed to stop it continuously running. Paint peeling off bath and bathroom ceiling.

Overall we had a great time, hence 4 out of 5, but there are a few annoying bits. If you can't cope with that, don't book this. If you are pretty laid back then this place is brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing