We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
23
39
16
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
23
39
16
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom guest house central park bathroom shower free wifi the ground floor new york metro station short stay mini fridge pleasant stay two nights would definitely stay here again coffee machine the air conditioning bed was comfortable short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2019

We have stayed at this location twice to visit relatives. It's easy to get to by subway, nice neighborhood, and the room/bathrooms are clean and comfortable. It was very quiet even though you have to share a bathroom/shower. We will stay again.

Room tip: The rooms we have stayed in were both very quiet.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thecentralparknorth, Manager at The Central Park North, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Dear Anne, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you loved our location and cleanliness. Thank you for considering us for your next stay. Best regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

I booked the family room very spacious, clean & tidy, staff very friendly and helpful.
The shared shower and toilet were not a problem even with 2 teenagers who hog the shower.
I would definitely stay here again very good.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thecentralparknorth, Manager at The Central Park North, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Dear Marie, thank you for your rating. We appreciate you for taking your time to give us a review. At The Central Park North we aim to do our best to satisfy all guests. Hopefully we will see you and your family again. Best regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

My own fault for not reading the small print! SHARE TOILET AND SHOWER ROOMS!
The room was clean , beds comfortable but the aircon was very loud and prevented us from getting any sleep. The shared toilet was clean but the shower unit far too small and needs a lot of work to be done to it. If your are going to have us share a shower room at least make it appealing
No elevators so had to walk up top floor! The stairs creaked as we walked upstairs.
The reception is very basic but the two ladies that were saw were pleasant
We booked out the very next day loosing all our monies and booked into another hotel with full comforts and more accessible to New York
Didn’t like the area much . I would fully recommend you read the description first before booking or call up. One of my top three worst places I stayed

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Emin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thecentralparknorth, Manager at The Central Park North, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear Emin, we are sorry to know that you did not like staying with us. As you have mentioned, we advertise online that we have shared bathrooms. In fact, all room types include "With Shared Bathroom" on its title. We also mention that the building is a walk-up. We do our best to give all guests a hospitable stay. Best regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

I recently stayed at the Central Park North because my son is a patient at Mt. Sinai and I needed a place close to the hospital. I was aware that there were shared bathrooms and showers which I must admit I was a little nervous about because I never stayed at a guesthouse before. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in to see how clean not only my room was but also the shared showers and bathroom. They were spotless! The evening desk clerk was so nice I wish I could remember her name. She was very welcoming and even arranged transportation for me back to the hospital. My room was spacious and although I did not use it the room had a kitchen with a toaster and coffee maker. It also had a fridge. My bed was comfortable as well as the bedding. The building has nice architecture with very large windows allowing much sunlight into the room. I will definitely be staying again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCCB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thecentralparknorth, Manager at The Central Park North, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear Jean, thank you for staying with us. We are more than pleased to know you had a great stay with us! We work hard to provide a pleasant stay. We are looking forwards to welcome you again. Best regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

A lot of the negative reviews seem focused on the fact that bathrooms are shared and not in-unit. Well, did these people bother to read the description before booking? All information about bathrooms and lack of staff after 10PM is clearly written in the description! This is not a traditional hotel, people. It even advertises itself as a "guest house" and that is appropriate.

Onto the good: the Central Park North is incredibly close to the metro -- 2min walk to the 2 & 3 train! We stayed in a double room and it was just fine for the comparatively low price we paid. Big plus is that the room had a little kitchen area complete with stove, fridge, and sink so it's perfect for longer stays. Room had working/competent A/C and beds were functional albeit very firm (!). Staff (both front desk and cleaning) were friendly and helpful the few times I interacted with them.

The cons: bathrooms are shared. If this bothers you then, please, don't stay here! My party did not have any issues with shared bathrooms and they were always clean and well-maintained. This is an old building and it certainly shows its age. Stairs/floors creak and walls are fairly thin (you can hear the neighborhood!). Didn't particularly bother my party, but something to be aware of if you're looking to stay here. Lastly, there's no elevator and it's a 4-5 story building with a steep porch so please keep that mind if you have any mobility issues. This is definitely not an ADA compliant building. I have no knowledge about NYC law, but the City hasn't closed the place down so I can only assume these sort of properties are exempt from federal ADA rules.

Overall, I enjoyed my time at the CPN and would gladly stay again. The proximity to the metro, room price, and suite-like layout of the double room is a good enough value for a NYC accommodation.

Room tip: Those with mobility issues should not stay here. No elevator and it's a 4-5 story building.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwd_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thecentralparknorth, Manager at The Central Park North, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. As you have mentioned, we offer the exact service advertised online. We do our best to provide an excellent service for an affordable price. Thank you for staying with us! Best regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews