We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just what we needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Ranked #8 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

A Garden in Chelsea was the perfect cozy spot for us to unwind and just enjoy a great neighborhood in Manhattan - close to friends, relatively light traffic, good restaurants and even street parking in a snowstorm. The elegant bath is worth the price of admission. Karen and Paul were great. We'll be back when we can enjoy the garden!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent 9 nights here over Christmas and it was fantastic. Close to Subway, Chelsea Markets and Pier with many great restaurants/cafes/pubs within walking distance. The 2nd floor apartment was well appointed and suited 4 adults well. Karen & Paul were awesome hosts from the first contact to our final day in NYC. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A Garden in Chelsea felt like our home away from home. Karen and Paul had put in a lot of thought to ensure that our stay was very comfortable, and were always on hand in case we needed anything. The location is perfect, being about a 5 min walk to the subway, about 5 min walk to the Chelsea Market and the Highline and Chelsea Piers are at the end of the street. We would highly recommend A Garden in Chelsea and wouldn't think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazzlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent, just 3 1/2 blocks from the 8th Ave subway that runs uptown/downtown. The apartment is lovely with comfy beds, big bathroom, efficient kitchenette and well stocked bookshelves, located in a quiet residential area that is a welcome relief from the bustle and hustle of the city. Gourmet Deli and wine shop close by to stock the mini-fridge. The owners, Carol and Paul, are welcoming and helpful. In all, a great place to stay to really enjoy New York.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Smatjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We found A Garden in Chelsea a terrifically located place to stay in NYC. We stayed in the 2nd floor apartment which was roomy, quiet and comfortably furnished. We were able to self cater as well as access the many restaurants in the area. Our hosts Karen and Paul were friendly and informative. A great place to base yourself for a 7 day stay and to experience NYC as a local.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The five of us (two parents and three adult "kids") stayed in the studio mid October. Only blocks away from the Highline, Chelsea Market and subway - which allows you to access the rest of New York City within minutes. A great place to return to after pounding the pavement all day - or just spending a few hours relaxing in a pleasant, familiar environment. We would love to try the garden unit sometime - as a couple. Next time. Highly recommended. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reinhardmajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just spent 6 wonderful days staying in the studio apartment. The location is perfect for exploring all that NYC has to offer. The restaurant choice is endless in Chelsea, with many good places to eat within easy walking distance after exhausting days of sightseeing. Having a small kitchen to prepare breakfast is a real plus. Large comfortable bed and very modern bathroom added to a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywanderer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#58 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#213 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,618 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#111 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#14 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Property: A Garden In Chelsea
Address: 439 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea District. Your studio apartment opens directly onto our private garden and offers comfort and relaxation. We are fortunate to offer a quiet oasis though only a block away from all the city offers, such as the elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, You couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing