We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Save
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 80 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The five of us (two parents and three adult "kids") stayed in the studio mid October. Only blocks away from the Highline, Chelsea Market and subway - which allows you to access the rest of New York City within minutes. A great place to return to after pounding the pavement all day - or just spending a few hours relaxing in a pleasant, familiar environment. We would love to try the garden unit sometime - as a couple. Next time. Highly recommended. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reinhardmajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just spent 6 wonderful days staying in the studio apartment. The location is perfect for exploring all that NYC has to offer. The restaurant choice is endless in Chelsea, with many good places to eat within easy walking distance after exhausting days of sightseeing. Having a small kitchen to prepare breakfast is a real plus. Large comfortable bed and very modern bathroom added to a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywanderer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We traveled to New York with our one year old and were delighted with how baby friendly the studio apartment was.
It is below street level (basement) so it was easy to access with baby and stroller with few stairs leading down to it.
The apartment was equipped with a crib and high chair which made our life a lot easier and made it feel a lot more homely than some of the hotels we've stayed in.
The kitchen also made it easy to prepare baby meals etc.
The apartment is in a brilliant location and Karen and Paul are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bringthebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is one of my favorite neighborhood.s in NYC. Always bustling, beautiful tree lined streets, smiling people and great little shops and restaurants. This place feels like a neighborhood even with some big name chains on the corners. Very diverse people live here in harmony.

A Chelsea is garden is home away from home. Fabulous and Clean offering primo location to anywhere you want to go.

I recommend A Garden in Chelsea <3 My fav!!!

Room Tip: Rear Facing the Garden <3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4Cindy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A real gem: a thoughtfully equipped studio apartment with a huge bed and fabulous new shower room, leading onto a shady garden, perfect for coffee and croissants. Located in a townhouse on an historic tree-lined street, a short stroll to the High Line on 10th Avenue, the Hudson River park and to a multitude of restaurants and delis, this is Manhattan at its most romantic. Buses and the subway are close by for easy access to other parts of New York City.

This was the first time I had used the internet to rent an apartment in the USA and I was apprehensive. My worries were unfounded. Owners Karen Jacob and Paul Vershbow live on site and are welcoming, friendly hosts (but not intrusive), and have a wealth of local information. This was particularly reassuring when I needed urgent dental treatment.

I would recommend A Garden in Chelsea to any couple, pairs of friends or to people travelling alone, who are looking for something more than an impersonal hotel. My partner and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaniceE619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A wonderful 5 nights in this exquisite apartment overlooking peaceful secret gardens in Chelsea. Karen and Paul could not have been better hosts. Super helpful and considerate. A large light living room overlooking a tree lined street. A large quiet bedroom at the back. Woken by bird song each morning. We'll be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A lovely oasis to come back to after the hubbub of the city! Spacious, homey, with plenty of space to put your stuff. Birdsong in the morning, quiet in the evening--a perfect home away from home.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#12 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,988 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#55 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,867 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#18 of 80 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#8 of 80 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Property: A Garden In Chelsea
Address: 439 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea District. Your studio apartment opens directly onto our private garden and offers comfort and relaxation. We are fortunate to offer a quiet oasis though only a block away from all the city offers, such as the elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, You couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing