We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise! A Garden in Chelsea <3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Save
You added A Garden In Chelsea to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 81 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise! A Garden in Chelsea <3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is one of my favorite neighborhood.s in NYC. Always bustling, beautiful tree lined streets, smiling people and great little shops and restaurants. This place feels like a neighborhood even with some big name chains on the corners. Very diverse people live here in harmony.

A Chelsea is garden is home away from home. Fabulous and Clean offering primo location to anywhere you want to go.

I recommend A Garden in Chelsea <3 My fav!!!

Room Tip: Rear Facing the Garden <3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4Cindy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A real gem: a thoughtfully equipped studio apartment with a huge bed and fabulous new shower room, leading onto a shady garden, perfect for coffee and croissants. Located in a townhouse on an historic tree-lined street, a short stroll to the High Line on 10th Avenue, the Hudson River park and to a multitude of restaurants and delis, this is Manhattan at its most romantic. Buses and the subway are close by for easy access to other parts of New York City.

This was the first time I had used the internet to rent an apartment in the USA and I was apprehensive. My worries were unfounded. Owners Karen Jacob and Paul Vershbow live on site and are welcoming, friendly hosts (but not intrusive), and have a wealth of local information. This was particularly reassuring when I needed urgent dental treatment.

I would recommend A Garden in Chelsea to any couple, pairs of friends or to people travelling alone, who are looking for something more than an impersonal hotel. My partner and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaniceE619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A wonderful 5 nights in this exquisite apartment overlooking peaceful secret gardens in Chelsea. Karen and Paul could not have been better hosts. Super helpful and considerate. A large light living room overlooking a tree lined street. A large quiet bedroom at the back. Woken by bird song each morning. We'll be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A lovely oasis to come back to after the hubbub of the city! Spacious, homey, with plenty of space to put your stuff. Birdsong in the morning, quiet in the evening--a perfect home away from home.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a find! After a full and exciting day in the big NYC, retreat to the most perfect oasis you will ever find. A Garden in Chelsea offers everything you could want. Charm, location, amenities & gracious hosts, Karen & Paul, who share their local knowledge with you. The joy of staying in a brownstone in Chelsea with a garden included is absolutely unbeatable. This is the place I will be staying again & again. I am too spoiled to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I consider it a real blessing to have discovered this fabulous B&B in the heart of Chelsea. It was everything I had hoped for... and then some. 

I recently spent a stress free, drama free, action packed, safe and truly memorable two weeks in New York, celebrating a milestone birthday.

My two friendly hosts, Paul and Karen, made my stay something really special, a holiday I will never forget. Karen surprised me on my birthday with a bouquet of flowers hand picked from their rooftop garden. Now, you don't get that kind of thoughtfulness at a hotel!

I highly recommend A Garden in Chelsea to other women who are travelling to New York on their own.

You will feel safe and secure, with all the comforts that make travelling a joy, including your own private courtyard for when you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Big Apple. Karen and Paul are always on hand if you need advice or directions or an extra set of towels...

You'll be staying in a quiet and pretty street, close to the subway, with heaps of great restaurants nearby. Every time I turned the corner to walk back to the B&B after a long day of exploring, it felt like walking home. And that's the best feeling there is when you are on the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nerida73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 (sorry, justed started entering in all my reviews) and we loved this place. Karen the owner is great and made sure that everything was perfect. We had the big apartment on the 3rd floor which was really nice. The location is perfect, walking distance from Soho, Meatpacking and of course Chelsea. Rather stay in this part of town then where all tourists go (Times Square). You really feel like a local!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#9 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,955 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,333 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#52 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#16 of 81 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#7 of 81 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Property: A Garden In Chelsea
Address: 439 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea District. Your studio apartment opens directly onto our private garden and offers comfort and relaxation. We are fortunate to offer a quiet oasis though only a block away from all the city offers, such as the elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, You couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing