We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Ranked #9 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A wonderful 5 nights in this exquisite apartment overlooking peaceful secret gardens in Chelsea. Karen and Paul could not have been better hosts. Super helpful and considerate. A large light living room overlooking a tree lined street. A large quiet bedroom at the back. Woken by bird song each morning. We'll be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
49
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A lovely oasis to come back to after the hubbub of the city! Spacious, homey, with plenty of space to put your stuff. Birdsong in the morning, quiet in the evening--a perfect home away from home.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a find! After a full and exciting day in the big NYC, retreat to the most perfect oasis you will ever find. A Garden in Chelsea offers everything you could want. Charm, location, amenities & gracious hosts, Karen & Paul, who share their local knowledge with you. The joy of staying in a brownstone in Chelsea with a garden included is absolutely unbeatable. This is the place I will be staying again & again. I am too spoiled to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I consider it a real blessing to have discovered this fabulous B&B in the heart of Chelsea. It was everything I had hoped for... and then some. 

I recently spent a stress free, drama free, action packed, safe and truly memorable two weeks in New York, celebrating a milestone birthday.

My two friendly hosts, Paul and Karen, made my stay something really special, a holiday I will never forget. Karen surprised me on my birthday with a bouquet of flowers hand picked from their rooftop garden. Now, you don't get that kind of thoughtfulness at a hotel!

I highly recommend A Garden in Chelsea to other women who are travelling to New York on their own.

You will feel safe and secure, with all the comforts that make travelling a joy, including your own private courtyard for when you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Big Apple. Karen and Paul are always on hand if you need advice or directions or an extra set of towels...

You'll be staying in a quiet and pretty street, close to the subway, with heaps of great restaurants nearby. Every time I turned the corner to walk back to the B&B after a long day of exploring, it felt like walking home. And that's the best feeling there is when you are on the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nerida73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 (sorry, justed started entering in all my reviews) and we loved this place. Karen the owner is great and made sure that everything was perfect. We had the big apartment on the 3rd floor which was really nice. The location is perfect, walking distance from Soho, Meatpacking and of course Chelsea. Rather stay in this part of town then where all tourists go (Times Square). You really feel like a local!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had been looking for a holiday rental in nyc because they usually allow enough space for the four of us (sons 18 & 20) to stay together and offer great flexibility - but having realised the difficulty of finding a legal holiday rental, I was delighted to find that 'A Garden in Chelsea' could offer all that we were looking for. We stayed in the 2nd/ 3rd floor (2 floors above entrance level) apartment which was very spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped - we felt truly 'at home' there and it was always great to come back there to relax after our busy days and evenings.
We had a large bedroom with a very comfortable bed and plenty of closet space (we were staying 7 nights). The lounge had a large, comfortable sofa bed which my sons shared - although Karen also offered temporary beds if required. We left the bed made up whilst we were there, as there were two further comfortable chairs and also a table and chairs, so there was still plenty of room for the four of us to share the lounge together whilst in the apartment. The kitchen and bathroom were quite small but more than adequate for our needs and it was perfectly possible to cook a meal should you wish to do so. There was also a closet in the hallway with ample hanging space for us all to use.
We loved the location of 'A Garden in Chelsea'. We had chosen Chelsea because it was well positioned between Downtown and Uptown with a number of major sights being within walking distance and also some attractions of its own. In addition to this it also proved a great neighbourhood to be in and we would have liked more time to explore it further - it was also very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. The location also suited us well as we attended two events at Madison Square Garden (basketball & concert) and also went to the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre (improv comedy) and these were both within easy walking distance and it was great not to have to go too far in the evenings after busy days sightseeing.
Karen was always helpful and prompt to answer enquiries during the booking process and both Karen and Paul were friendly and helpful during our visit and we felt that they were available should we have needed any advice/help.
The only difficulty I could see with this accomodation is that the stairs are quite steep for anybody who has any mobility issues - the basement accomodation did however appear to be easily accessible, with just a few external steps down to it. Should you be attracted by the garden, there is no access to this from the upstairs accomodation but we were fully aware of this when booking and it did not concern us as we were there during early April.
Should we be fortunate enough to visit New York in the future, I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took our two boys to Manhattan for spring break, and stayed in the basement apartment which has been newly renovated. Perfect condition, easy in-and-out to the street. An oasis when our boys "hit the wall." The owners (Karen and Paul) are fantastic...everything went so smooth, we already booked our next visit.

Room Tip: No swimming look and fitness center...but we weren't looking for those things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GvilleRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Property: A Garden In Chelsea
Address: 439 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea District. Your studio apartment opens directly onto our private garden and offers comfort and relaxation. We are fortunate to offer a quiet oasis though only a block away from all the city offers, such as the elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, You couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing