We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Bopping Around Manhattan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Ranked #8 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for Bopping Around Manhattan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took our two boys to Manhattan for spring break, and stayed in the basement apartment which has been newly renovated. Perfect condition, easy in-and-out to the street. An oasis when our boys "hit the wall." The owners (Karen and Paul) are fantastic...everything went so smooth, we already booked our next visit.

Room Tip: No swimming look and fitness center...but we weren't looking for those things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GvilleRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the top floor apartment of this B&B for three nights and we could not have wished for better accommodation. This apartment is tastefully decorated throughout and filled with books and family pictures, which makes it really cosy and exactly the opposite of hotel rooms, which sometimes feel a bit cold and impersonal.

Its location is perfect, in the beautiful area of Chelsea, very close to the underground and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The owner is really nice and welcomed us with a friendly smile and some useful recommendations on restaurants to try.

Since our apartment was self-catering, I cannot comment on the breakfast but I strongly recommend this place to anyone who want to have a wonderful, comfortable place to stay during their holiday without compromising on character. Top marks!

Room Tip: Stay in the self-catering, one bedroom top floor flat for a real "New Yorker" experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuscany82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband, 9 month old and I stayed here in the 1st week of March, just after the bathroom and apartment had been newly renovated. We found our stay very comfortable and Karen was very friendly and accommodating and a wealth of NYC information.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay in NY. The location is fantastic and there are plenty of local restaurants / cafes very close by. The street was lovely and quiet and I felt very safe the entire trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at at A Garden In Chelsea for 11 nights over Christmas and New Years in December 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

It was our first time staying at a B&B so were a little unsure what to expect but after spending the previous 3 weeks in hotels it was a very welcome change. Karen and Paul the hosts were very accommodating and friendly and were always willing for a quick chat when we ran into them.

The room itself was in then basement which gave it a very cosy and homely charm. It has a private kitchen and small dining area as well as a bathroom. It's quite large compared to Manhatten standards. After extremely busy days exploring the sights of NYC it was nice to return home to our own little haven.

Perfect location in the heart of Chelsea with an abundance of restaurants close by, as well a walking distance to the famed Chelsea Markets and the Subway. It was nice to get away from the hotel scene and we actually felt a little like 'locals' staying at the Garden.

I hope to return to NYC in the coming years and this place will be the first thing I book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clint S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The spacious second floor apartment had a homey and artistic feel, quality furnishings, clean and ready, very handy kitchen in a quiet, safe neighborhood. The subway was very convenient, as were restaurants of all sorts and stores for essentials. We did fine with the stairs and were told before hand (not elderly, but not spring chickens!). Easy to stop on the way upstairs and admire the great movie posters, if necessary. Paul and Karen helped us with our suitcases, too. Karen and Paul were totally available with helpful information and printed our plane tickets when it was time to go (just before the storm!). The WIFI was great for my iPad and TV reception perfect as we rested for the next full day. We prepared breakfasts and quite a few dinners for the 8 days we were there. Terrific stay, would come again and again. Thanks Karen and Paul!

Room Tip: I had hoped to have access to garden...not necessary, too much to do in New York- get out early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameraladyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the second floor apartment for 9 nights. The street itself is quiet and lined with glorious brownstones. The apartment has everything you need, a comfortable and spacious lounge/dining room, a kitchen, a very quiet bedroom and beautiful views from both the bedroom and lounge room. It's definitely has more ambience than a standard hotel room that are much the same all over the world. We walked all over NYC from here - from the Upper East Side as well as from the Village. Karen was available to answer our questions about NYC, book a car to the airport and even posted our post cards for us! Great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 weeks stay in the garden apartment with my wife and it was wonderful! The flat itself could not nave been better, furnished with everything including an excellent library (which I wish I had more time with as it included many books on my "to read" list!), good kitchen and bathroom facilities, wifi, cable TV, and an excellent large bed. The garden was an added bonus - it was a lovely place to sit after a hard day of sightseeing. The hosts, Karen and Paul, could not have been more helpful. I note a previous comment on the steps to the upstairs flat; I have a disability and found no problems with the steps accessing the garden apartment.So if you do have any mobility problem, make sure you book this apartment..

The location was also fantastic,in a quiet tree lined street, close to good restaurants, a laundary, and a subway station on a good line. Though if you were more energetic you could walk to the village, or Times Square! Unlke the experience of staying in a hotel, turning into the street in the evening really felt like coming home! I would certainly recommed this place to anyone, and hope to return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#14 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Property: A Garden In Chelsea
Address: 439 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea District. Your studio apartment opens directly onto our private garden and offers comfort and relaxation. We are fortunate to offer a quiet oasis though only a block away from all the city offers, such as the elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, You couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing