We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A garden 36 steps above?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Garden In Chelsea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Garden In Chelsea
Ranked #12 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico CIty
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A garden 36 steps above?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent a week at the Garden in Chelsea in a second floor apartment so no garden for us. It is our first apartment experience in NYC and we have mixed feelings. On the pro sides the place is on a perfect destination for retreating out from the buzz and noise of the very crowded touristic atractions. It is nice to have a place away to recover with a home feeling. The apartment is well appointed with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Beds and linen were decent and clean also towels and kitchen. Be aware of having the strength to escalate 36 steps above in a steep narrow stair with your luggage, we were never warned we would have to experience that! So it is not an accesible place for elderly or injured people. My knees are still swelling! Also we felt a litlle bit like intruders, since you stay in a place filled with personal belongings of the family, that feeling never went away during our stay and that is not comfortable. It was not as clean as you would expect for what you invest, they could do better, we had to clean it twice before using it! Also we could never connect to the wi fi, and have to go downstairs to catch another wifi in case needed. Be aware of that if you are going in a business trip.
Karen the owner was nice and helpful by email but since they were absent during the same week, nobody could really help us in any way. Mixed feelings.

Room Tip: Be aware of asking where you are going to be booked! The upper apartments are not accesible for elde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Joaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent three nights in the apartment and loved it! We have rented 4 different apartment type places (all legal) in New York City, and this was by far the best! The location is ideal for exploring Chelsea (Highline, Chelsea market) or walking a few short blocks to a subway to explore any part of New York City. The bedroom is extremely quiet and there is minimal street noise in the living room. The apartment is incredibly well furnished with shampoo, conditioner, soap, robes, hair dryer, and basic breakfast supplies (coffee, tea, milk, sweeteners). There are two large groceries within 3 blocks. You can carry in food, have food delivered, or enjoy the many many restaurants in the area (or throughout the city). The hosts (Karen and Paul) are incredibly friendly and helpful.

We visit New York City at least once a year. We try to stay in a different area for each visit. But, it will hard not to return to A Garden in Chelsea for our next visit. It is a true gem!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EthelSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 2-week stay at a Garden in Chelsea in NYC. This apartment is located on the basement level of a heritage brownstone house in the historic district of Chelsea.

The accommodation was fantastic and was a real highlight of our stay. The apartment is very well set up and includes a small kitchen, a huge comfortable bed, a sitting/dining area, a nice bathroom with plush towels and access to a lovely garden. It was a wonderful retreat at the end of a busy day sight seeing.

The apartment is really well located in easy walking distance to many fabulous restaurants, shops, the Chelsea Markets and the High Line as well as the subway. Our hosts Karen and Paul were full of helpful information on the area and were very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in the downstairs apartment for just under a week and it was perfect. What more could you ask for than a nice bed with good mattresses, a well-lit bathroom with a powerful warm shower, a couple of armchairs for when you need to put your feet up, a small kitchen for preparing tea and nibbles, a garden outside - and amazing quiet at night. Oh, and the location was great as well - close to the High Line park for strolls, great restaurants (we tried both the Chinese and Indian close by and they were excellent) and easy access to both cross- and up-/downtown transport. We'll be back and try out the bicycle lane on 9th Ave next time :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heike_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in the 3rd floor apartment at ‘A Garden in Chelsea’ for 4 weeks from late December through to the end of January 2012. Karen and Paul were wonderful hosts and a wealth of knowledge from shopping tips (January shoe sales!!) to what shows to see. The apartment is close to the subway (2 stops to Midtown) and within walking distance to Maceys, Empire State, Chelsea Markets, Greenwich Village. There are many good diners, cafes and restaurants an easy walk away on 9th and 10th avenues. Although not the coldest winter on record it was pretty chilly for us Aussies but the apartment was always very warm and cosy. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in and there was always a plentiful supply of fresh towels. The kitchen served us well for breakfasts and the occasional dinner (with so many great cheap places to eat nearby we ate out most of the time). There is a supermarket that has everything (including vegemite) a block away and the wonderful Chelsea Markets (Amys breads are to die for) about a 10 minute walk. The apartment is in the middle of a residential street so was very quiet compared with the Midtown area. Karen made us feel like we were staying with old friends and after a long day of sightseeing and exploring returning to the apartment felt like home. We loved our stay so much we didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

My partner and I stay in hotels a lot with our work, and were keen to immerse ourselves in something a little more 'homely'. The apartment met, and exceeded, our expectations, providing a comfortable place to 'hang our hats' while exploring New York. There is plenty of room in the apartment, a bed that is very inviting, a kitchenette to whip up an intimate dinner, wifi access, and a courtyard to absorb the serenity. The weather was turning cool for our stay (mid November) but the heating kept us toasty warm. The location suited us perfectly with ready access to the Highline, Chelsea Market and an easy stroll to the subway. The place is very clean, and well maintained, providing a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of such a vibrant city. Highly recommended, and we'd be delighted to stay again. Paul and Helen from Australia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had the third floor apartment for a four-day weekend in November. Having a living room, kitchen and bedroom was so much nicer than staying in a hotel, especially since the bedroom was at the back where it was very quiet. There were family pictures on the walls, so we felt as if we were staying with friends, not in some impersonal spot. We already knew we loved the neighbourhood and this visit confirmed that; the proximity of the High Line and the Chelsea Market is a big plus. Other parts of Manhattan are easy to get to on the subway. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#26 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#59 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#111 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,575 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#14 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Garden In Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Garden In Chelsea

Property: A Garden In Chelsea
Address: 439 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in an 1859 brownstone in the Historic Chelsea District. Your studio apartment opens directly onto our private garden and offers comfort and relaxation. We are fortunate to offer a quiet oasis though only a block away from all the city offers, such as the elevated High Line Park and the Chelsea art galleries, You couldn't pick a more ideal spot for your NYC visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Garden In Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing