We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #97 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
avalon1025
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A grand hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Stayed two nights at the Plaza in an Edwardian suite. Wonderful hotel, great service. The renovation was spectacular and a great improvement over the pre-renovation hotel. Staff were wonderful and were very helpful in helping me find my luggage after my airline lost it. Overall, I was very happy with my stay

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avalon1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    419
    202
    120
    87
See reviews for
674
833
110
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

It was a tough week, so my wife and I decided to take a weekend in New York for R&R, and we chose the Plaza. We had a Rose suite. Excellent Room. Nice decor. The "$400M renovation" they touted was very well represented in the interior decoration department, and it was much appreciated and it provided a lovely ambience for a "tuck-away weekend" R&R. The room experience in terms of comfort and luxury, the room service, the "butler" service, the phone receptionist--they were all excellent. That part was just fabulous. Special kudos to Rafael in Concierge who pulled off a great treat for us on a short notice. Well-done. The outside was 25 degrees cold with a hefty wind chill factor, so we basically stayed in the hotel all weekend (except to go out at night to see a show.) That's where our biggest disappointment arose. Other than what happened in our own room, the rest of the hotel left much to be desired. The old charm of the Palm Court was gone. The Palm Court, the Champagne Room, the Rose Club -- they lacked charm, class and most of all, the warmth and "feel-good" hospitality one should expect from a top hotel in NYC. There is SOMETHING MAJOR WRONG with the food servers in all those locations. (I heard something about the Union). Not that any of them were openly rude or anything. Their attention to the hotel guests, their carriage, the way they were dressed, the way they spoke to the guests like us (we are exactly their target market)--were on par with those of average chain-hotel services. The palm court was used as a warehouse for a piano sale this past weekend. What should have been a lovely, relaxing lounging in the palm court or the champagne room, felt more like walking through a cold, neglected hotel lobby. We made heavy use of the Oak Room and the Oak Bar. Those were fairly nice places, but then again, the waiters lacked that special quality service--I could have been in a Sheraton or a Hyatt restaurant somewhere in New Jersey, I wouldn't have known the difference. Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed my stay at the Plaza because the room and the services related to the room were nice. But after spending "$400M" on renovations, the hotel owners and investors have failed to create the old, "The Plaza" feel in the fine details of service. The experience just wasn't there any more. They need to realize it takes more than just gilded interior decorations to tickle the guests' fancy. The way the service staff dresses (shabby), the tone they use to address the guests (often blunt, hard tone), the way they carry themselves--especially the food servers--all work together to create "The Plaza" experience. And in this regard, the hotel failed to convince me that they are unique from the Carlyle, the Ritz, Four Seasons, etc. Will I return to the Plaza? Maybe. Not a definite yes.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustsayingJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I have been staying at the Plaza on and off for many years. It is quintessential midtown, unlike most hotels it actually has a distinctive character, and it has some of the best public areas of any hotel in the world. In this respect, it is more reminiscent of a club than a hotel.

The recent renovation, which has seen the division of the old property into residences with views of central park and the hotel with midtown views, is very impressive. The rooms, indeed, are far richer and better appointed than they were in the past. One of the main benefits of the old hotel - room size - has thankfully been preserved. The staff are courteous, helpful and competent. The hotel is now by Fairmont - a chain who know what they are doing when it comes to luxury hotels.

But ... but ... the Oak Room is being run by another company and the food is frankly ordinary, and it sort of doesn't open properly on Monday and Sunday. The Palm Court is not being used. The Edwardian Room is being used as an art gallery. In short, the fantastic public areas of the old hotel are a thing of the past. the buzz and excitement of the old hotel has gone. The new hotel has a kind of a lobby bar and a mezzanine bar where you can take breakfast, have drinks and substantial snacks. But it has no dedicated restaurant of its own.

Doubtless, this is not of Fairmont's doing but is the result of the arrangements with the developers and owners. Unfortunately, though, for the moment, this is a beautiful hotel without the heart and soul which was its main attraction.

A first class restaurant in the Edwardian Room would be a huge success - it's one of the best locations in midtown New York - the people who run the Modern would be an ideal choice. The Palm Court would make a perfect breakfast room, and could also serve high tea (as it did in the glory days) and be an informal restaurant at night. Do this and New Yorkers might return to the Plaza. Oh and get some real restauranteurs to run the Oak Room - it's a sad day when the hotel concierge can't even recommend it.

With an admittedly heavy heart, I can't recommend this place. Why? Beautiful as the hotel is, it's not worth the money without its "heart and soul".

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed at the Plaza in November for our anniversary for 3 nights and as I was making arrangements to go back I ran into this website and actually, I am shocked at the reviews. Our stay was nothing but wonderful. The staff was so welcoming and professional. They made you feel so at home and also, responded so quickly to any requests we had. Our room was spectacular, you can't beat the location and the food was delicious. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Plaza with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammiKv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2010

amazing hotel all amenities and helpfull staff , rooms exremely comfortable , spacious bathroom and rooms kept spotlessly clean

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We were very excited to go back to the plaza where we had stayed in 2002 and had a fabulous experience. This time however it was extremely disappointing and sad to see a hotel with the prestige of the Plaza operated like this. From our arrival experience where we had to carry our own luggage (6 pieces) from the cab to the front desk, to the horrible concierge who attempt to rip you off (and have very cheesy false attitude) to the quality of food was all just horrendous.

The management must know this is a complete joke and have to act now to save the reputation of this hotel if not already damaged, and going by the reviews here the damage already may be done.

We have stayed in Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, and St Regis in NY the past 3 years and had a great experience, but checking into the Plaza felt like checking into a Holiday Inn. The hotel has lost its sparkle and atmosphere it once had. The Lobby and Palm court felt like walking into a morgue.

The floor we checked into had a horrible stench of smoke and rotten food, room was clean but looked nothing like the website, and service terrible from start to finish, seems like the staff have no interest in being there.

Needless to say I will never be back aswell as my company who were looking forward to stay at this address.

Very sad indeed!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelzxpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Plaza for 5 nights in late July as our last trip before baby. The staff was courteous, helpful & friendly. Our room was spacious and beautifully renovated with a great shower & tub. The bed was extremely comfortable and the view was spectacular of the park. The staff was very helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. My only complaint id that as usualy for a Fairmont hotel, room service and restaurnat prices are way overpriced. We ate out for every meal as I cannot justify a $40 breakfast. There are so many great restaurants within a 5 minute walk though that I never really considered eating in. NY is a fantastic city to explore. It is in a great location - we walked to just about everything. I was 37 weeks pregnant on this trip, and I was able to walk from the hotel to Times Square, Grand Central, Rockefeller, Empire State, Macy's, Chrysler Bldg. and the park. Just bring comfortable (yet stylish) shoes and you will be fine. The only cabs we took, aside from the airport were to Battery Park and back from Macy's after shopping. We took the subway to a Yankee's game. I felt very sake and comfortable while on this trip. There is so much to see and do for people of all ages that you could never possibly be bored.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meglara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#52 of 467 in New York City
1,459 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 467 in New York City
2,746 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing