We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite did not match description -- not 5 star service -- got food poisoning”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Suite did not match description -- not 5 star service -- got food poisoning”
Reviewed November 29, 2009

After a long conversation on the phone with a reservations assistant, and after carefully reviewing the descriptions on the internet, I selected an Edwardian Suite with 1000 square feet, a living room with a sofa, and pocket doors between the living area and the bedroom. Well, they put us in a room that they insisted was in fact an Edwardian Suite, but it matched identically the description of the next lower tier suite that was several hundred dollars less--no pocket doors, about 700 sq feet, no room for a sofa. They moved us after one night (were sold out the first night), but did not refund the difference in price. The first night was uncomfortable as we had no privacy from the children and the rollaway beds barely fit in the room, and they were saggy. The next night, the REAL Edwardian suite was lovely. But we had to go to the trouble of moving and really didn't get to enjoy it. There were some other problems: no chicken fingers for the kids (ran out for two days!) though eventually they cooked some from scratch for us (shouldn't have been that hard!) And, after eating ONLY hotel food the whole day, I got a mild case of food poisoning in the middle of the second night, which kept me up for several hours. Luckily I was ok again the next day. I think it must have been the salad I ordered.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinFamTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    411
    198
    119
    84
See reviews for
664
821
109
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

After a five-day, four-night Thanksgiving weekend at the Plaza, a re-reading of previous reviews reveals both the good and the not-so-good both have it pretty right. Yes, a gorgeous, Beau-Arts hotel in an absolutely fabulous and matchless location. And yes, after only a couple of years following the ground-to-roof renovation, the carpets in the rooms are not pristine. But the culprit here is not housekeeping but the (in-hindsight) choice of the vanilla creme color of the carpet. Our junior suite definitely had some "shadows" showing in the short but plush pile. I wouldn't call them stains, but disappointing none the less. However, the room verged on being spectacular in the aforementioned creme, and white and gold. The marble bathroom was large and the towels large and soft. What the Plaza offers with the incredible location, wonderful service that was, in our case, very consistent, and luxury surroundings simply cannot be matched anywhere else in NYC. I downrate by one star only for the poor choice in carpet color and the need to pull these up and replace with a more forgiving tone. The in-hotel associated but not owned Oak Room restaurant is a bit problematical; a separate review was submitted on a holiday dinner of mixed results.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddock_rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Went on shopping trip with my 2 daughters to New York for the first time.Hotels location was really good but the hotel was average.Good points were it was really clean and the bed was so comfortable.I felt safe here with my daughters,Staff were friendly n & helpful.
Bad points were their was no atmosphere at all in the hotel.The reception area in hotel served as breakfast area and that was about it.There was a lovely bar/restaurant at back of hotel which appeared closed.The room service menu was so overpriced 1 coffee & 1 hot chocolate $30.A full breakfast for 1 person $40 and it wasn't very nice.We left yesturday morning early- No hot water.Didnt have time to complain. but not what you would expect from this hotel.I have seen other review that have mentioned this as well.
Anyway all in all we had a good time but feel that it was really overpriced for what you actually got.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We booked the Plaza Hotel prior to a departure on a cruise from NYC, as we wanted (what we thought) would be the best NY had to offer.
When booking the rooms, I was told that the Edwardian Suite (1740) would be the best choice with it's "sweeping views" of Central Park. This was not the case, and the room had obstructed views. Further, upon arrival, we found that the room was in a state of repair, and the engineer spent over an hour in the room replacing bulbs, repairing the toilet seat, repairing the door latch. The carpeting was old and filthy. An overall disappointment that has left a lot to be desired on this overpriced landmark. $400M in remodeling doesn't make it any nicer apparently.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

This is a first-class hotel. The service is excellent. The location is very convenient to shopping, restaurants, night life and Central Park. The rooms were EXTREMELY comfortable. I can't remember when I slept so well at a hotel. Absolutely no noise from either the street, the corridors or the neighbours. The bed is very comfortable. Staying here was a special treat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Let me begin my review by saying my wife absolutely loved this hotel and cannot believe I have anything negative to say about it so take that for what it's worth. The hotel itself is in the absolute best location in NYC. It's location effectively provides for a private road in front which allows for easy entry and exit into your vehicle (if you drive) or for catching a cab (compared with The Ritz, The Peninsula, St. Regis and Mandarin, all of which are on very busy streets and have no place to park). I found the room to be clean although I was not a fan of the antiquated furnishings and retro gold bathroom fixtures. The butler service was very spotty. I called for a restocking of the wet bar and it took over three (3) hours for this to be taken care of. During our stay the hotel was having problems with it's television service and so we were without several television stations. Due to the size of the hotel, it is hard to expect a level of service whereby the doormen recall your name etc., as you might if you are accustomed to staying at a Four Seasons, Ritz, Mandarin or small boutique properties. All in all, The Plaza is an institution and for that, I am glad I stayed. However, compared to the Four Seasons Jackson Hole, Mandarin Oriental DC, Beverly Wilshire, Arrabelle at Vail, Four Seasons Miami, or King Edward Hotel Toronto, it doesn't even come close.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWSMWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK & Grasse, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Of course, one must realise that today's Plaza Hotel is not the legend it once was, as most of the hotel was converted to private apartments during the recent refit. What is left, however, is still magnificent, both as a hotel, conference centre and function venue. Certainly, some facilities are not what they used to be, nor are they as good as one might expect for a hotel of this stature - the breakfast area, squeezed into the corner of the lobby being but one example. The rooms, however, are extremely comfortable, well decorated and provided with every modern amenity that one could wish for including a huge flat screen TV and a marble lined bathroom. In my experience, service was also top rate. Add to this its central location at the south end of Central Park on 5th Ave. where it is equidistant between the Guggenheim, the Mettropolitan Museum, MoMA and Broadway theatres, and a stones throw from the high end 5th Avenue stores and it's appeal is obvious. Cost? Well, that's high, but in a place like this that's what you pay. All in all - excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,695 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,449 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing