We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAP OF LUXURY”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #111 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Last week we had the very pleasant experience of staying 3 nights at THE PLAZA in NYC. First of all, the location, directly across from Central Park, was great! The hotel was spotless, beautiful, amazing, fantastic.....not enough words to describe it! The lobby was full of fresth flowers, especially roses. Everyone was very friendly and helpfull. Our room was very large and had a private patio with lounge chairs and fountains amid the sky scrapers. The bath was huge! With a huge tub and separate shower stall gilded in gold and all the amenities that one ever could wish for. The king bed even had a fur spread to wrap up in!! AND we had a private butler at our beck and call!! We did not eat in their beautiful restaurant, but did have a drink in the cocktail lounge while enjoying the evening's entertainment. The bottom line is that It was 3 days and nights in PARADISE!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 2,452 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at The Plaza for two nights to celebrate our 5th anniversary. We normally stay at a Hilton or Sheraton while in NYC, but decided to splurge since it was a special occasion. The Plaza's reputation is worldwide and we wanted to experience it first hand. We've stayed at many 5-star resorts/hotels and we were looking for a 5 star experience that never happened.
Check-in was fine and the front desk staff was nice enough as was the bellman.
The lobby, bars and other general areas of the hotel are very elegant. The location next to Central Park and right at 5th Avenue is fabulous.
Our room, however, was tiny. It was so small that we had to take the lampshade off of the nightstand to get the closet with the safe to open. For the rate we paid, we shouldn't have had to deal with that kind of issue. Also, the mini-bar in our room was completely empty upon our arrival and we had to call to ask them to replenish it. We were in too good a mood to complain about room size on a serious level, but my husband did call the desk to explain why we removed the lamp shade and left it off, and to address the situation with the mini-bar. They did refill the mini-bar during turndown service that evening.
We ordered room service for breakfast and although they stated they would deliver within 30 minutes, it took 55 minutes and an extra call to get it to us.
The management left a small box of gourmet chocolates and bottle of water as an apology for the issues we had.
The bathroom in our room as very nice, but lacked counter/storage space for cosmetic bags and I had to keep mine on the window sill in the bathroom. Size matters, after all.
We had afternoon tea at The Plaza and the service there was slow as well, but it was nicely done.
However, for the money, the plaza just wasn't worth it. We've had better experiences at less expensive hotels in NYC. Next time we want an 5-star hotel experience in NYC, we'll try one of the others.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyonthego905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I stayed at the Plaza for two nights in September 2009. From the moment you arrive at this landmark property taking pride of place on Central Park South it oozes New York luxury.

The rooms are among the largest in New York and well appointed in a traditional style which has tried to recapture some of the orginal Plaza hotel with the addition of a modern hi tech flat screen TV's and ipod docks.

The bathrooms are large and well appointed and there is plenty of storage space and my room on the 12th floor overlooked the internal courtyard so did suffer from the street noice you get at some properties.

Despite the Grand nature of the hotel it is strill relatively small and this enables it to offer exceptional levels of service from all levels of personnel.

I had an exquisite meal in the Oak Room restuarant with excellent service.

Broadband is free to Presidents Club members or just $14.95++ for non members.

The location of the hotel is excellent, right on central park and ideal for an early morning run, the hotel pays on water and fruit for early morning runners between 6 and 8 am which is a lovely touch.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Even the beautifully renovated facilities can't make up for the many shortcomings of this hotel. On the outside, it is brimming with luxury, but after a stay, there are too many things that fail to meet expectations. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, but the carpet was stained beyond acceptable range. The minibar was paltry and items stale. The service was unpolished, slow, and clearly lacking experience. The butler is a useless gimmick. It took 4 calls and a full day/night to get a foam pillow delivered (it was a perfect tempur-pedic though). The house car refused to take us to/from nearby locations (<10 blocks away). The food was OK but not nearly as good as comparable hotels (such as the Ritz). Even if money were no object, this is not a place worth returning to. The Plaza needs to substantiate their hyped-up luxury quite more to convince experienced high-end travelers that it is worth a chance. On the plus side: the TV has HD, including good HD pay on-demand movies; the hotel is clean and quiet; the shower is very strong, hot, and drains well, and linens were very new and of excellent quality.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luxtrav67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

It was our first ime in NYC so we were looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel near Central Park. After viewing several hotel websites,including Tripadvisor, we chose The Plaza.

While we are both working professionals, we are certainly not rich and what made us choose The Plaza was there special promotion: stay :three nights and pay for two. It appears that it is popular marketing tool among many hotels in NYC during the summer.

In so many ways, the hotel lives up to its reputation of supreme luxury. The room we had was simply beautiful. Everything from the king sized bed to the cotton Egyptian sheets to the floor to ceiling drapes to the LCD wall mounted television were first rate. However, what is the most stunning feature of the room was the french doors leading to the bathroom. The best word to describe the bathroom is opulent. The mosaic tile and the gold embossed wall designeed and the gold plated sink fixtures were impressive enough, but the vast size of the bathroom broken into three separate compartments, bath, toilet and shower (with a rain forest head) made it a remarkable room. It is probably the only time in my life that I actually enjoyed shaving so that I could hang out in the bathroom!

The extra perks that elevate a hotel to 5 star status, the slippers by the bed, the extra thick towels and bathrobes and the comprehensive turn down service were all there. And if you are into technology, you will love the easy to use screen (that comes off the wall) that you can use at your fingertips to control all sorts of features such as climate control, television and lights. Its just another example of how The Plaza thinks of everthing to make you comfortable.

The hotel also lives up to its reputation for outstanding service. Whether it is the doorman, bellman, waiter, chambermaid or hotel reservation clerk, they are there to please you. The people who manned the conceirge desk were constantly giving us directions and drawing routes on maps for us. When you go to the desk they make you feel that you are the most important people in the world. It is a very nice feeling.

The Plaza is in a great location, right across from Central Park. FAO Shwartz and The Apple store are across the street and Rockefeller Center is about a half a mile away.

While dining is not cheap in New York, The Plaza is exorbitantly expensive. Toast $6.00. Coffee $10.00. Orange Juice $12. Coke $9.00. These prices are hard to grasp. A suggestion would be to go up the street about 20 yards to Sarabeths where the prices are more reasonable.and the food is terrific, especially for breakfast (try either the omelette or the lemon risotto pancakes). Sarabeths has tables on the sidewalk so it is a great place to people watch or just to gaze out at the Park.

Overall, The Plaza was a great experience. We are so glad we did it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We arrived as Mr and Miss and left as Mr & Mrs. The first of several unexpected treats was complimentary champagne in the Oak Bar on our first night as we tucked into the most delicious seafood platter. Then we were upgraded to a superior suite which was simply gorgeous - from the beautiful Grecian mosaic bathroom to the tasteful period furnishings, original crystal chandeliers and luxurious bedding. There was ample space for me and my entourage (mum & best friend) to prepare ourselves for the big day, although we opted to indulge ourselves at the Warren Tricomi beauty salon where the staff were very attentive. After perfectly finished nails, hair and make-up I was greeted with yet another treat - the loan of the Plaza Rolls-Royce to take me to the chapel! (Thanks Tony!)
The Plaza refurbishments were so stunningly beautiful that I felt a million dollars - (no make that four hundred million dollars) - being photographed, in my wedding gown, on the staircase with a gathering, curious crowd who then heartily applauded!
The Plaza staff were just wonderful in their delivery of uncompromising service, offering the perfect mix of friendliness and helpfulness. When the room CD player needed fixing there was an engineer there within minutes. Whatever we needed, from ice to extra wine glasses, from clothes steamers and shirt pressing to toothpaste, the butler was there in what seemed like seconds!
Our small wedding reception was held in the legendary 'Oak Room' and our guests were blown away in the first instance by the history and setting - and then by the amazing talents of chef Eric Hara and his staff . If we could've reclined longer into the opulence and sheer luxury of the Plaza we would have - but with the inclusion of a rehabilitation course back to the 'real world'! This was a real fairytale of New York experience and we hope that one day we'll have the opportunity to experience it again!

Mr & Mrs Waring (Berkshire, UK)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conniebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Having stayed at the Plaza ten years ago before its renovations and being disappointed at the small room and dingy hallways, I was eager to change my view of the hotel this time around. The new Plaza did not disappoint. From the airy lobby and the elegant red roses everywhere to the friendly service and the fabulously decorated, spacious room, everything was near perfection. The central location of the hotel could not be beat, and the staff treated us like royalty. I felt quite pampered throughout our eight-day stay. The food at the hotel's various restaurants costed an arm and a leg, and the room rates were certainly on the expensive side. Other than that, what a wonderful experience the Plaza offered.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummingtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#52 of 471 in New York City
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#55 of 471 in New York City
800 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#74 of 471 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 471 in New York City
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $502 - $1,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing