We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
travelup.com
$854
Hotels.com
$895
Fully refundable before Fri, Apr 19
Get rewarded with One Key
Skyscanner.com
$810
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,208)
Filter reviews
4,208 results
Traveler rating
2,923
592
314
206
173
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,923
592
314
206
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the palm court edwardian suite central park rose club butler service new york iconic hotel room service luxury hotel fifth avenue concierge nyc doorman fixtures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,780 - 2,785 of 4,208 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2014

Great rooms, great location, and good to experience at least once. I went for a business trip and would have stayed the entire weekend if the rates were not so high................................................

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank melder1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza New York - A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do have some great promotions throughout the year, especially if you are a member of our loyalty program, Fairmont President’s Club. I hope we are able to welcome you back one day soon.

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

For New York visit, hotel location is perfect.
But considering room rates I would expect a much better service.
front desk did not answer call (answer machine instead), light commands at rooms are confusing and complicated. Looks like they wanted to transform an old building into a cool and modern room but they couldn't. There was and Ipad to manage lights and room temperature, but the connection with the systems was not working well.Overall poor considering my expectations of going to the Plaza NY at a US$ 800 room.

Date of stay: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza New York - A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m disappointed to learn that the service did not meet your expectations, and I would like to apologize for the confusion you experienced with the room lighting. For your next stay, I would be happy to arrange a room orientation with our Butler team. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2014

Thank you plaza for hosting us for our 10th anniversary. We had a package of macaroons and sparking wine waiting for us. Although the construction with the Palm court forced breakfast downstairs to the Todd English Food Plaza - it turned out to be a great venue to host the buffet breakfast. Service was excellent and expected of a Fairmont run property. Even the ipad room controls (lighting/temp) was a modern upgrade. We hope to be make this a regular getaway destination.

Room tip: take advantage of the Todd English Food plaza downstairs
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank STLRSTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza New York - A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Congratulations once again on your 10th anniversary! We are delighted to have shared in this special celebration, and I’m pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for new memories and milestones in the future! Thank you for your post.

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2014

My review is for people who might want to go to The Plaza just to see it. Do it! I'm sure tourists can only get so far into one of the classiest NYC hotels, but you can walk up the red carpet, into the lobby and take the escalator to the downstairs markets. Nothing is really affordable in the shops for a middle class tourist like me, but the Food Hall (jam-packed on a Saturday) offers fare for the non-elite. Silly to say, but the ladies restroom is gorgeous. I offer this review only to augment anyone's NYC experience. If you plan to visit Central Park, stop here to take a photo in front of the hotels with the beautiful, majestic flags. The horse carriages of Central Park are right across the street. It's simply a beautiful part of the city. You can cross 3 things off your NYC "to see" list right here.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Ellenlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza New York - A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to stop by The Plaza during your visit to New York City. I’m certainly glad to learn that you enjoyed your time here!

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2014

We just spent an extended weekend at The Plaza, and it was one of the best experiences yet. Many might complain about the cost, etc. etc, but if you're going to enjoy the wonderful city of New York, you need a base that can provide the amenities that signal "this is something special". The location is the best- directly adjacent to Central Park and tons of shopping! I'm not sure any other hotel could provide the same convenience and luxury. The staff was "at your service", providing not only answers but a warmness and pride that indicated they really enjoyed being part of the team. The Palm Court is a perfect example of someone with vision taking a "landmark" and making it part of today's scene. We enjoyed breakfast there every day. Shopping extends in every direction. In addition, it was easy to see that the hotel caters to families as well as business. What a remarkable place!!

Room tip: It is important to look into special offers provided by many agencies. We took advantage of the American Express "Fine Hotels" opportunity.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mededguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy L, Hotel Manager at The Plaza New York - A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing The Plaza. I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to be a part of your New York City experience and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Tracy Lowe, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews