We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Amazing Honeymoon”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #90 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our Amazing Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the Plaza for our honeymoon in August 2013. We had the most amazing time and the hotel was wonderful. The staff were friendly, the decor and cleanliness were impeccable. We would love to come back and stay in this amazing building. What a fantastic location too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Charlottex_12,

Thank you for your post and for choosing The Plaza for such a momentous occasion as your honeymoon. We hope to welcome you back for many anniversaries in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    411
    198
    119
    84
See reviews for
664
821
109
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We decided to try The Plaza on a long weekend getaway. Splendia offered an attractive discount so we gave it a try. A classic NYC property with lots of history. The staff have been trained in "Ritz Style" customer care. A true A+ experience. Right across from Central Park, a great location for dining and checking out all that NYC has to offer. Unfortunately inside construction as they update the main eating area was disappointing, but still a great time.

Room Tip: Use Splendia.com to get a good room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Love is the only word I can use to describe the fabulous experience I had staying one evening in The Plaza. I have never experienced white glove service before..I feel like I have arrived! The staff was super friendly, the room was gorgeous, we were in a suite with a terrace beautiful, the chandeliers, the bathroom was crazy the marble, the gold inlay, the tub was big enough for two people, the shower ( I have to admit I took three showers because the shower was so inviting) the grounds were impeccable. I love all the rich history about The Plaza not just from the movies although knowing that Robert Redford walked the same red carpet as I isn't too shabby. Hands down one of the best hotel experiences of my life!! Enjoyed every single moment of my experience at The Plaza!

Room Tip: Loved room 522!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelerGirl426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear SteelerGirl426,

Thank you for your post. We are so happy to hear that you loved your experience at The Plaza and are thrilled that our rich history helped to make for a memorable stay. We are also happy to know that you found the bathrooms so inviting! We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back to The Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This review is one year late but I felt I had to write it. We stayed at The Plaza for 12nights in June last year and we had a fantastic time. Our son and daughters were pampered with costumes, customised knights and princesses chocolates, Eloise books and videos. The location of course was exceptional and the best I've ever experienced. They were able to secure the best seats to all the shows I wanted even at the last minute. Rooms, bath, toiletries were well appointed and every bit luxurious. We also loved the Plaza food court for quick snacks especially Luke's Lobster Rolls!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SID&AKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear SID&AKAY,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay! We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay and hope to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os, Ms
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wonderful stay, upgraded to a suite with butler service. Culinary options are many, concierge service was excellent. Wonderful location! Perfect place for family, friends, couples.
Room was excellent, staff attentive and personable. Great location for museums, central park, the best shopping in NYC, and other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear SLJC,

We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay and enjoyed the opportunity to experience one of our suites! We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a wonderful experience staying at The Plaza. Each stay this service has been consistent.
Loved the rooms! Especially, the bathrooms.

Will be returning for my next Christmas holiday.

Tiffany Anshelewitz

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany_Anshelewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Tiffany_Anshelewitz,

Thank you for your post! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your many stays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back this holiday season, as it's truly a magical time here in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very best stay at the city. Location very easy to catch many places. I am very satisfy to br here. But I have compliants that New York Knicks did not succside NBA championat. This is shame for such a city!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Krzystof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing