We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in NYC !!!”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #99 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent 3 nights in n NYC for 40th birthday. So we thought we would treat ourselves to the plaza. They did not disappoint. Service was excellent. Even gave a fantastic birthday cake. Concierge was really helpful. Booked all our restaurants. New food court downstairs was great. Still renovating the oak room. But overall they made our freezing cold stay in NYC fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDSC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear MDSC8,

Thank you for your post. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the frigid temperature! We thank you for choosing The Plaza to celebrate your 40th birthday, and we hope to welcome you back for your next! Thank you again for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

It's always fun to see this place and it's a part of history. The lobby is elegant and beautiful. Open to public so you can take photos with friends and family. The chandelier is gorgeous and the hallways are very sophisticated. I love coming here!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Beachlovergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

It seems the word iconic could be used about practically anything in New York but it truly applies here. From the minute you walk in the door you are treated well, surrounded by luxury, history, ambience. The public areas, the rooms, the bathrooms, the robes (!), the amenities - everything is awesome. No disappointments in any area for me. Will definitely go back. Location - was a big plus as I was planning to go to Bergdorfs. Even if you don't stay here, go inside and check it out, especially the food hall downstairs. Price - yes, it is expensive, but it was a lot less than some other places I looked into, like The Peninsula. Also got an upgrade upon arrival and was allowed into the room three hours ahead of stated check in time. Service with a smile all the way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsMalibu90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Everything about the hotel was 5 star. The hotel was exquisite from the lobby to the rooms. The service was outstanding especially the house keeping staff who were so sweet and helpful and dropped off Fiji water with the turn down service. The best part of the hotel in the food hall in the lower level, everything tasted amazing especially the macaroons from FP patisserie. The location was phenomenal across from Central Park and all the best shops! The gym was great although it was awkward to access, from a fire escape stairwell. The equipment was new with a nice locker room.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank NurseKrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear NurseKrissy,

Thank you for your post. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at The Plaza and were able to experience so many of our amenities - from The Plaza Food Hall and the macarons at FP Patisserie to the LA PALESTRA gym. We hope to welcome you back to The Plaza on your next trip to New York City. Thank you again for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and it does make you feel special, like Claridges in London but bigger. It's pricey bit you pay for the location,history and quality. It's a must if you have the chance just to say you have done a part of NY history.

Definitely better to stay in this location than further downtown. Classier and quieter. I suppose you get what you pay for. Food also top class.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwanlandTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

As someone who works in the hotel industry, it was the trip of a lifetime to stay at this iconic property. The Plaza just does everything perfectly, from our late arrival, to the little details at turndown, and without a doubt a fantastic concierge team that looked after all our requests.

Since staying I have used the exemplary service as an example to many of my colleagues of top quality service in hotels. It was an absolutely fantastic stay and I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: See the concierge for some insider knowledge of NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 81marka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Mark A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, in particular that you found the service of our colleagues to be 'exemplary'. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day soon. Thank you again for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We love the Plaza hotel... it's an iconic part of NYC. Many people simply want to walk the property (for varied reasons, usually somehow related to Pretty Woman), and even that is a pleasure. Staying here is an additional pleasure.

Be sure to ask for a room with 'park view' and as high as they will put you. The view gets better and better every floor you ascend.

Rooms are more generous than you might expect from a NY hotel... and the location is a stones through from the beginning of 5th. You will have plenty of opportunity to spend all your money within a block or two of the hotel. Should you choose.

Walk across in the opposite direction and you are in Central Park. You can easily spend all day wandering on and off the paths, in the warm sunlight. Warmer weather brings out thousands of park goers and yet the park never seems crowded... perhaps because it is humungous. Odd word to actually write..... ;-)

The service at the hotel is what you would expect of a luxury property... and don't be shy to ask questions of their very knowledgeable concierge(s)... they know more about what to do in the Big Apple than your average concierge!

If you go, enjoy! We'll be back this spring!

David & Mandy
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmandy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,481 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#49 of 469 in New York City
736 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $566 - $1,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing