We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plaza
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$172
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$330
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$324
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$144
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,572)
Filter reviews
2,572 results
Traveler rating
1,622
482
224
140
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,622
482
224
140
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courtedwardian suitebutler servicerose clubcentral parkthe todd english food hallnew yorkiconic hotelroom serviceturn down serviceluxury hotelbeautiful roomlobby barfifth avenuetimes squarefairmontconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,496 - 1,501 of 2,572 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is where we stay. There may be something more mod and hip but we love the old school service and brilliant location. Melody, the concierge, is a delight. She is the first person to welcome us back and ask how our dinner or lunch was. Good people doing a good job at this marquee hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Kelli D,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that this is your home away from home when you are visiting New York. Your kind words regarding Melody will certainly be shared. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The Plaza holds a special place in my heart ever since I stayed here as a little girl and even had my debutante ball here. My husband surprised me with a trip to The Plaza for my birthday this past weekend and it's opulence once again did not disappoint. We stayed in the gorgeous Edwardian Suite with partial view of the park. The room was plush and luxurious and exceeded my expectations. Sadly the full park views have now been occupied by the private residences, which also changed up the original entrance and check in desk, but the hotel still maintains it's charm and we actually cancelled a dinner plan because we were having so much fun at the Rose bar! Some of the breakfast servers in the Palm court could use a little polishing, but other than that, everything was perfect and we especially enjoyed the Todd English food hall.

Many thanks to the staff for making our weekend magical (we also had a sighting of Michael C. Hall who plays Dexter on one of our favorite shows!!) we look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank AustinAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked for birthday treat for my sister just the breakfast after seeing home alone 2 so many times we really looked forward to seeing the plaza thank you to kirsten who telephoned me back in the uk to confirm my reservation great place would love to stay in the hotel next time i visit lovely staff and beautiful setting thank you for such a lovely dining experience

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Plaza's historic magic applies to New Yorkers (especially suburbanites) who want a "weekend away." Excellent service, comfy rooms and facilities and good room service, The location is without equal in New York. Opposite Central park (winter sledding, summer walks). Near the finest shopping. Easily accessible to everything that makes New York City the Empire City of the World. Expensive but worth it. By the way, its very kid friendly.

Room Tip: No swimming pool . Too bad. Ask for an upper floor room and one facing the park
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Charles M,

Thank you for your post. We love to hear that as a New Yorker you would choose to spend a "staycation" with us here at The Plaza and we hope to welcome you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My twin daughters were visiting from Australia and I booked afternoon tea at the Plaza early December 2013. Our booking was for 3.15pm. When we arrived we were advised we had to be out of the venue by 4.30pm at staff had to set up for a private function. Would have been good to know about limited time when we booked. We were seated at a table for six and had to ask for additional settings to be removed. We were ignored for over 10 minutes before staff approached us for our order. Staff were obviously very busy in preparation for the evening function. Management should have not taken our booking for that particular day as we were rushed, provided with substandard food and service. The tea was incredibly weak and no tea leaves, the sandwiches were dry around the edges. We were told sandwiches were made fresh that day, which I'm sure they were, but probably not covered appropriately. The whole experience was disappointing and we felt like we a nuisance that paid $60 per head to be there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews