We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in NYC!”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #92 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in NYC!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful Hotel in NYC, next to Central Park. We were able to walk most places and great shopping is right out the front doors. The rooms and bathrooms are larger than normal in NYC which is great for 3-4 adults. Our bellman Waheed was the best! He was so personable and friendly, he made us feel at home. Our only complaints were the early morning work noise due to the construction being done at the Hotel and the $10 bottles of water. On the 1st night we stopped at the bar for water not realizing that we'd have some in the room and the bartender charged us $30 for 3 average sized bottles which is ridiculous, even for the Plaza. Other than that our experience was a great one.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    412
    198
    119
    84
See reviews for
666
823
109
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The plaza is a beautiful hotel with a great history and location. Unfortunately all this means nothing when the hotel offers dismal service. During our stay they were quite busy and the only actual service that functioned was the housekeeping. My room was ready 3 hours after check in time with no apology or compensation.

The Edwardian suite comes with butler service but dare ask the butler for anything and have him treat you like you are a peasant who is inconveniencing him. Ask for anything and be prepared not to received it. 3 phone calls for a robe and during our 4 day stay never received this robe. In fact, any calls requesting anything were ignored.

After an unacceptable first day I made an appointment to speak to the manager. When I woke up early the next morning for the meeting I was rudely told by front desk that "there is no meeting scheduled and that if I had a meeting with the manager the manager would be here"

Prior to this experience the plaza was my favorite NYC hotel. Sadly they have gone from 5 star servixe to 0. Clearly they are having management issues and not offering the service that a 5 star hotel should. I've never stayed at Motel 6 but I am sure the service level there would be better.

Definitely will never return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank liza_loves_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear liza_loves_travel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and being a loyal guest of The Plaza. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. What you've described is unacceptable and I'm sorry that we didn't deliver. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to New York. Please feel free to email me directly at plaza.official@gmail.com should you wish to make a reservation and give us a chance to turn this around.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Well it delivered...fantastic experience today for my wife's 40th b'day celebration...James Netzel looked after us with his fantastic staff of the Palm Court ( at the Plaza!)....opposite Central Park, magical location and experience to cherish....well worth it (don't eat before!!)

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Aaron S,

Thank you for sharing your experience in The Palm Court! I will relay your great feedback to James and the team. We hope to welcome you and your wife back again soon! Thank you again for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Working on my bucket list, The Plaza Hotel made my first trip to NYC a dream come true. Excellent location overlooking Central Park. Walking distance to Times Square & Broadway. Travelling alone at my age, the hotel security was very important & I was comfortable returning even late at nite. The hotel itself is a historical monument & my room didn't disappoint. Beautiful, spacious & the bathroom was incredible. The weather was great, so having a room w/ an outdoor terrace was wonderful. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Lower level food court has an excellent selection of desserts, its a good thing I did a lot of walking. Fabulous hotel & vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SHIRLEY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and has great fixtures but the good story ends there. The management and service here is what one would expect in a budget backpackers hotel not when you are spending over $1300 a night. I won't waste my money here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at The Plaza for one night in August, and I was blown away. Its timeless elegance made us feel like we were right on a movie set. The lobby and public areas are gorgeous, with every detail taken care of. The room was totally amazing, with amazing bed linens, a large bathroom and wonderful towels.
We needed ice and of course there are no ice machines on the floors, so a butler in white gloves brought us our ice in a silver bucket. It was nice to be spoiled. Another nice service is the use of the hotel's concierge car that will take you anywhere within a 10-block radius. I highly recommend a drink at the Rose bar as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well if you have never visited the Plaza hotel it is a unique experience. Do you need peace
and tranquility ? Like an old fashion "White glove" environment ?
Than this is a do not miss !!!! Could not think of a better place for honeymoon, anniversary
romantic bonding.
Location is outstanding. Basement has a food court that has an amazing selection
Wines are acceptable, not exceptional

Room Tip: Like the suites, not really a fan of basic rooms. Must book well in advance to get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 466 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing