We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Plaza is the Essence of New York”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #107 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a long anniversary weekend in New York at the Plaza Hotel and it was just the kind of experience I had hoped to have for my first trip to New York City. We spent a wonderful weekend sightseeing, shopping and eating. We toured all the sights that someone visiting New York would be expected to see including the Statue of Liberty, the NBC television studios, Central Park, etc. The Plaza was a big part of that experience where we ate many of our meals and enjoyed the Eloise tea. We went for a carriage ride through Central Park that began right in front of our hotel and crossed the street to go to the fabulous toy store and get a slice of pizza. Later that weekend we had a package that had us eating dinner at the Plaza then being taken to a Broadway play by limo. It was truly an outstanding way to be introduced to New York and one that will always live in my memory.

Room Tip: To be honest, we went with the least expensive room, but it was still a great experience. This is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My experience for late night drinks at the Rose Club was horrific. My family and I were walking back from dinner and had a craving for some warm drinks - and what better place than the Plaza? Or so we thought.

The atmosphere was wonderful, I will say that. Even strolling in at 11p they had a small jazz ensemble going and at the velvet and low red light made it a wonderful lounge. This alone is what merits them 2 instead of 1/5.

I thought it odd though that, of the entire place that was mostly empty, they stuck us back in a corner right next to another group of people. I guess they did that for ease of the servers, not thinking of perhaps giving the patrons a little more space to enjoy.

We ordered a Hot Toddy and some sort of hot chocolate drink (sadly no Hot Butter Rum that I was craving). They came in what looked like red wine glasses... which I thought was odd considering they were hot drinks. They were so scalding hot that it took awhile before we could even try them and it was dangerous to try and hold anything but the stem of this glass, which was awkward. The Hot Toddy was a little too strong for any of us to stomach, so we figured we'd catch the waiter to doctor it a bit. It was nigh impossible to get him over to where we were. Eventually, we gave up and figured he'd have to come over check on us at some point. He didn't. The drink got cold and we stopped caring, being a little put off from being ignored.

There was barely a sip out of the Hot Toddy and he brought the bill, which was the second time he ever came to the table. I've been to a lot of places that weren't half as upscale as this and the waiters are mindful of your drinks. They know when you need a refill, they notice when you haven't touched your drink - usually they ask what was wrong and offer some solution. This guy just snapped up the credit card and was back in a flash to have us sign and get out. Mind you, it wasn't that close to closing at that time either.

I won't be going back, from the bad taste in my mouth about it all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank CostalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Plaza did a wonderful job of hosting our wedding, and we greatly enjoyed our stay there. The hotel has a lot of amazing historic details, and the rooms are quite charming. The location is excellent, and you can easily obtain lots of good food close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkat343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear kitkat343,

Thank you for your post and congratulations on your recent wedding! We are thrilled that we were able to be a part of such a special occasion. We hope to welcome you back on your one year anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A New York classic. great hotel with great location near the Central Park. very efficient and quick check-in. well sized luxurious rooms that are controlled by an Ipad. Visiting and dining at the Plaza Food Hall by Todd English is a must.Their luxury complimentary car is fun to ride for close areas. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: higher floor street view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErolBrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

With a major birthday approaching I thought it finally time I splurged and flew to New York to stay at the Plaza. It was a wonderful experience that if you have the chance at some point in your life, I would highly recommend. Our suite was perfect - spacious, clean and beautifully decorated with lovely furniture. It also had a fabulous shower in a glorious bathroom and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in (be sure to warm up with the fur comforter!). Lovely linen and special touches such as a welcome snack and champagne made the experience memorable. While we didn't have the need to interact with the staff to a great extent, those that we did speak to were friendly and efficient. Our only complaint was we found the Palm Court breakfast rather plain and the service exceptionally slow despite not being particularly busy. However the hotel itself was fabulous and for a "bucket list" experience it was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunchenerReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear MunchenerReisender,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear that you chose to spend your birthday at The Plaza and that we were able to make it a memorable one! It's great to hear that you loved your suite, in particular the 'glorious' bathrooms, comfortable beds and the welcome amenity and champagne to celebrate the special occasion. I would d like to apologize that your breakfast experience at The Palm Court was less than stellar, and assure you that I have shared your comments with the Executive team. Thank you again for your post, and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What's not to like about this hotel? Let's start with the iconic location across from Central Park (and the Apple store!). Next, extremely courteous, helpful and welcoming staff. Beautiful public spaces and room decor that is luxurious and tasteful, including stunning mosaics in the extra large bathroom. Thoughtful touches like a nightlight in said bathroom, and generously sized toiletries. Free wifi for Fairmont President's club members. The hotel car, available on a first come basis, to take you to the opera in style. And finally,grace under pressure: staff dealt quickly and generously with an incident that required us to change rooms.

Room Tip: Views are not a strong point but who spends time in NYC staring out the window?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at The Plaza Hotel with my Cousin for 2 nights when we visited NYC on a Business Trip. The Room was quite spacious and comfortable, and the Staff Service was one of the best I've had in my trips. The location of the Hotel is pretty good, as we just had to walk for a short while to find all the places we were looking for, like Variety of Restaurants, Tourist Places, Shopping Areas and many more. The Plaza Hotel was right up to its Standard, in terms of Service, Cleanliness & Comfort.

All I could say is that We enjoyed the stay at The Plaza and will be surely staying there in our next trip as well, and is surely Recommended to all of you......Hope U Enjoy the Stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patelrajdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#59 of 470 in New York City
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#103 of 470 in New York City
214 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#56 of 470 in New York City
779 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $504 - $2,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing