We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Quintessential NYC”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #103 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Romantic, Quintessential NYC”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Plaza over Valentines Day weekend with my husband. We live in New York so this was a special treat and I'm glad we did it! The service is impeccable. The rooms beautiful - the bathroom was exquisite with gold plated everything. The robes were super soft, bath accessories luxurious, bed extremely comfortable. There was an iPad provided for free wifi use and it also controlled everything from lighting to temperature in the room. We had a drink at the Rose Club which offered delicious cocktails.
The only suggestion I would make is: make sure to reserve a Central Park or City View room because otherwise you might get a room overlooking the Plaza courtyard which is far from a nice view.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    419
    202
    121
    86
See reviews for
675
833
110
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We pushed the boat out for a special treat and stayed here for five nights and cant say enough about the service standards and location. If you are in NYC stay here and treat yourself. The rooms are lovely and you feel like you are spoiling yourself. The outstanding people at the hotel are the concierge staff and most notably James and Melody who cant do enough for you and will help in any way possible. Also join the Fairmont club and enjoy the various benefits in the hotel. everything from check in to check out was easy and the staff know how to look after you with no pressure and fuss.
also an amazing location to boot. we will be back and with the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manwering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Manwering,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay - from the rooms to the exceptional service. I will certainly share your kind works with James and Melody. Thank you again for your post, and we look forward to welcoming you (and your children!) back on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staying at The Plaza is a life experience that you probably wont forget, the history of the hotel is beyond compare, and you feel this as you enter the lobby. All feels very luxurious, location is probably the best in New York.

Room Tip: Park view please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmyrOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingram, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently stayed at The Plaza just before Christmas, and loved it. I had stayed there years ago and didn't remember being overly impressed, but it has been renovated and was first class. Our room and bathroom were beautiful and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on....ever. My sister agreed. The service was impeccable, the concierge service was efficient and accommodating, and the security into the hotel was a nice add-on. They even have a hotel car/driver that you can use, if it is available. We did use it one night to go out to dinner. There is a great food court and shopping area attached to the hotel, and we ate there twice. Great variety of foods and something to please everyone. It's not just for the hotel guests either. We talked to several people who were dining and they come fairly regularly. My only complaint was the price of room service. Our package included breakfast, but one morning we decided to order breakfast in the room and it was astronomical. I understand that prices in NYC are high, but $180+ for breakfast and service is a bit much! We didn't order everything on the menu, either! Other than that, our stay was enjoyable and I would definitely go back. I just wouldn't order room service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

From the magnificent chandeliers to the service, the atmosphere and oh.......the massage. The room is controlled by an iPad. The tub can fit four people. I felt like royalty. At least experience this luxury once. Also, the food is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JONATHAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the Plaza after getting off the Queen Mary 2 for a night before i flew home the new day.
The service was good, room beautiful and hotel excellent on all counts as far as I could see even though I was only there a day.
The location is perfect for anybody visiting New York and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
I think what made my visit even more special was getting off the QM2, just a word to anybody who maybe thinking of getting on her, don't! But that's another story.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed at the plaza from 20th till 29th december
from the moment we arrived till the very moment we departed the
service was second to none stayed in edwardian suite 1931 and rose suite 1934
both suites were fabulous room service was fantastic
everything we asked for was there in moments
met with our butler but have to save did not need him as reception was always there to help
and dealt with any requests in a flash
i have stayed in many top hotels around the world but i have to say the plaza was tops for me
breakfast was great some will think pricey but if you are staying at a top hotel then you have to be prepared to pay the price
and as all service was faultless then that is what you pay for in my book
rooms were immaculate chamber maids were fantastic
i would go back again and again

so heres to my next trip to the plaza and new york

Room Tip: stayed on top floor very quiet and never heard a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#53 of 467 in New York City
1,459 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
2,750 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing