We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to NYC only once - stay here!”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #110 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you go to NYC only once - stay here!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First rate experience and the best experience having travelled around New England on our honeymoon. Even better than the QM2 Queens Grill! We were very kindly upgraded to an Edwardian suite as we were on honeymoon, and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more!

Service was fantastic - at all levels from doormen to front desk and upwards. When we experienced problems during our stay with a bathroom fitting, the staff couldn't have been more helpful or quick to rectify the broken fixture.

Wonderfully comfortable bed, impeccable housekeeping (and they were challenged by our luggage after weeks on honeymoon and shopping!!), THE location to be in in NYC! Possibly the best hotel room we've stayed in - far out stripped the Waldorf Astoria of a stay a year ago, with superior fittings, staff, toiletries, space, decor and living areas.

The only wish we would have had would be that there were more elevators!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    409
    198
    120
    88
See reviews for
656
812
109
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the quintessential NY hotel...dreamed about staying here since I was a little girl reading the Eloise books. We stayed here on our wedding night...would have been nice to get a generous upgrade, as I arrived in a wedding dress, it was fairly obvious...enjoyed nonetheless.
Our package included a food credit, so we ordered in breakfast -- beware, two omelets, some fruit, juice and coffee came to $200....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

have not been here for a few years. Rooms werevtired but much better now. The Todd English food court is worth a meal or two. For the price, wireless should be included. Service is great. iPad suite controls were easy to use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camdeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear camdeca,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. As you pointed out, The Plaza was recently renovated and restored back to it's original grandeur. I am so glad to hear that you were pleased with the results! Should you stay with us in the future, I would recommend enrolling in Fairmont President's Club which includes complimentary internet and other benefits. This can be done prior to your stay, or upon check-in. Thank you, again, for your comments and we do hope to welcome you back to The Plaza on your next trip to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked two Edwardian Suites during August with the family, and we dying to check this hotel out. The hotel location cannot be better; it is in THE best location in New York for a hotel. The lobby and the rooms were beautifully decorated and had the ambiance of a French palace.

The service, however, was below what I expected. I expected the service to be more personal, more attentive, more interacting, and more professional. The service resembled a normal busy 5-star hotel instead of the ultra-luxury Plaza hotel. The concierge could care less about booking your shows, broadway musicals, or anything else for you. They will pretend to care for 3 minutes and then go to the next customer!

The breakfast buffet is NON existant. There is a table in the beautifuly decorated dining area that has 4 or 5 different food items. Anything else will have to be charged and it extremely costly. They really should work hard on improving their breakfast. Thank God its New York and you have plenty of other options.

I would stay here again for the rooms, location, and the whole "luxury" feel to it; but it wasn't as luxurious as I expected.

Room Tip: Dont get a courtyard view; always try to get a 5th Avenue or Park View. Dont waste your money and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Plaza is not a luxury hotel. It's sort of a guilded Hilton, but without the proffessionalism that a Hilton has. I'm in a midst of a 6 night stay here in an Edwardian suite and find myself quite occupied with thoughts of moving somewhere else. Right around the corner from The Plaza are quite a few real luxury hotels: Peninsula, St Regis, Ritz-Carlton Central Park, Mandarin Oriental, Four Sesaons, Carlyle, The Mark, Surrey, all of wich we have stayed at and that delivers luxury quite handsomely. And also nearby are the London NYC, Parker Meridien, Essex House, Sherry- Netherland and a number of pretty good business class chain hotels. So why stay at the Plaza? They have a "butler service" at the Plaza. But it's totally clueless. The butler can do a lot of things that a normal traveller anyway preferrs to handle by himself, like drawing a bath and unpack suitcases. But he can not get you a cup of coffe, which is a pity as not even the Edwardian suite comes with a coffe maker.
When we came home from dinner tonight, no one had turned dopen our room, despite the fact that we callexd and asked for that 3 hours ago. And when returning from that dinner,
our door keys did not work.
At breakfast, there is a tiny and sad little breakfast buffte, which at our first morning there did not have a single piece of bread that was not sweet. Our second morning we were seated at a table for two which had 1 (one) napkin, zero (0) water glasses, and also zero (0) bread plates. We were not offered a coffe refill the entire time we sat there.
This is a really sad place. Spend your money at the Four Seasons, St Regis, or Mandarin Oriental and you will be a lot happier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my 4th stay at The Plaza since 2009, and I hope it's not my last. Everything about The Plaza is LUXURY. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Amazing fixtures/fittings. Lots of technology. It was fun to order Room Service from the iPad without having to call anyone! You can even schedule a time that you would like it delivered, although mine arrived 10 minutes early. Luckily I wasn't in the bath. The bed and linens at The Plaza are the best in the world! I've stayed at many hotels... and the bed at The Plaza is just heavenly. A sole reason to return! Not to mention the deep baths and powerful walk-in showers. I was on the 29th floor in the cheapest room category... and there was nothing cheap or basic about this room. I had a window in the bedroom, toilet AND walk-in shower. Amazing. I will return.

Room Tip: There's no such thing as a bad room at this hotel. Don't forget to order room-service on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kihei
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Dropped by lounge to check out hotel. Sat at bar to have a glass of wine. Menus were wrinkled. Bartender left snacks from previous guest in front of us. Never checked back with us. When presented check bartender scribbled on our check to see if pen worked. I understand that its a nice place with high end pricing. But back it up with the details

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiheimaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear kiheimaui,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I’m disappointed to hear about your experience at The Champagne Bar. I’d like to apologize, as we truly pride ourselves on offering the highest level of service – anything less is simply unacceptable. Thank you, again, for your comments and I hope you’ll consider returning to us on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 468 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing