We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #99 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to an Edwardian suite. Staff were fantastic throughout our stay. If going to NYC, will always stay there! The only down side was there were a couple of small hairs on the bathroom floor

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidthomhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Davidheeps,

Thank you for posting your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I also appreciate your comments regarding the lapse in the bathroom. This is certainly not our service standard and has been shared with our Housekeeping colleagues. Thank you, again, for your feedback! We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is perfect. We stayed for 5 days in AugustThe service is impeccable, the decor is lavish and spacious. It's in a perfect location. I think the best in Manhattan and the fifth avenue subway is right under the building. There is butler service which I thought we would never need but it was great to have your ice bucket filled by late afternoon everyday and when we needed other hygiene supplies they were readily delivered in the plaza pouch. There was a nominal fee for this service but the supplies would have cost us that much if we ventured out to get them ourselves.The hotel is also immaculate but we never actually saw the cleaning staff. We used the shops and restaurants located downstairs everyday. The quality was top notch and the selection was great. Concierge was also right on with their suggestions. We used the spa which is a separate entity from the hotel so we couldn't charge our services to the room but again top notch amenities. We also had the hotel BMW take us to a Broadway show and another time out to dinner. I'm going back soon. I can't wait.

Room Tip: Our room, #1541, had a courtyard view which was looking west. The neighboring buildings were quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I am currently staying at the plaza. U don't need to read about all the good bc I'm sure u already know. So let's just talk about the bad shall we. There r four of us. My wife and two daughters ages 4 and 6. We had arranged a stretch limo from the plaza to pick us up at the airport(cost a little under 300) they were supposed to meet us at baggage claim and they weren't there. So we got all our own luggage and went to where the limos have to park and waited for 15min. They have our cell number but still never called us. I call the plaza's concierge after a wait I got someone who had to put me on hold. After a wait bill picks up and says can I put u on hold. I say no. I said I'm stuck at the airport, the link hasn't shown up and can u reach them. He says I have other guest in front of me now. U will have to wait just moment. So while I'm waiting and the kids r being tortured in the heat we decide to see if we can get a town car. It'll b so cramped but we just cant wait anymore. As we a just exiting the airport bill gets back on phone... Yes I've been on hold all this time. I explain it all to bill and tell him I am in a town car now and have left the airport. He finds out the limo says they went to wrong terminal. No one can tell me why I wasn't called. Then bill tells me the limo is on its way to my terminal to pick me up. I said I told u I am in a town car and have left the airport already. He asked me how long til I get to plaza. Driver tells me 30 more minutes bc united nations is in session. When we arrived curbside a bellman took two of my cases up the stairs and inside. My wife had to stay there bc he left our things completely unattended. We looked there was no other hotel worker around or watching our stuff. I went to concierge desk and got from a girl there mr. Andrews I'm so sorry. Bill told me what happened. My six year old explained to the girl the ride made us all sick. Because we were so cramped and the driver had to stop and start and swerve. (yes she is 6 and talks like this)
We checked in. The room was hot and bellman should us how to work the controls. He said the butler was on the way. After 15min I called and they said butler was indeed on his way. 15 min later he got to the room. We said we wanted him to help us unpack. We need space cleared out of frig bc we had medicine that had to b kept cold. We needed ice and 4 diet cokes. We needed up unpacking and setting up the room. It took the butler 30 min to return. He placed the coke on the table and left. We heard him come in and walk rt back out and the kids were in the living room when he came and went. He never returned or helped in any other way. The room was still hot it had gone from 80 to 77 I have them all set on 65
So I set them to 60 hoping it'll get better.(yes I know that doesn't work, but I'm desperate )
We go to eat at Todd English downstairs... This is when we knew we were truly in NYC bc everyone was so rude miserable and unhappy and not helpful.
We try to order from a food station and they said we have to b seated. So some non talking non friendly girl with a sour face takes us to b seated.during our lunch The waiter constantly rolls his eyes. Gives us dirty looks and Snit little comments
My kids order goat cheese ravioli which they normally like. They said it tastes bad. Their mom tries it and spits it out and tells the waiter she thinks its spoiled. He says no that's how it comes and he walks away. I swear the little shot walls away
Before all this I went to go get my wife fresh squeezed juice. Three people working behind the counter. I stand at register and they all look at me blankly and only one was doing anything
I ask her how do I order she say coldly u have to go over there( motioning to the register) and says I'll b rt there u have to wait. So I wait while she finishing making a drink for someone who is waiting at another station
Mean while the rest of the none working wage earners r just standing around. One made an attempt to look busy at one point
She finally made my juice. By the time I got back all the food was already on the table and they were waiting on me. That's when they tried the ravioli.
The waiter didn't offer to replace it, try it and didn't take it off the bill. When I had ordered my sausage dog he tried to talk me out of it saying that's just normally to go. I had to insist three times just to get it
When we went to walk out the kids are still hungry bc they didn't want to eat the spoiled food(I wonder why) so we stand at a station for five min being ignored but a man cooking no matter what we say or do he ignores us. Finally another man shows up and he tells us we have go talk to the check out desk up front. Then as a hostess walks by he tells her and she tells us we have to b seated to order. We said we just where and all the food was bad and we just need something simple for the kids. She takes us up to check out. The three people there seem pre occupied and so everyone has been negative
I leave the wife and kids to deal with this.they r just trying to get a turkey sandwich
I go to an area rt outside the todd English area and get a turkey sandwich from a girl who smiled and didn't seem hateful( obviously she didn't work for Todd english) I go back in and my wife tells me she had it out with one of the girls. They had refused to sell her a sandwich unless we went and where seated again. Wife said no. Then girl said u will just have to take something from the refrigerator. My says she then told the girl what she thought of her and the girl went and got the sandwich. Kids at the one I got and the one from Todd English they each tried and we threw it away
The room was now down to 75 we tried to rest bc we all still sick from car ride..we woke got dressed room 72, so I called and told them we were going to dinner and plz fix the ac
We had their house car take us to dinner, it's free but they only have one and it's first come first serve. It's a nice BMW. Went to del frisco's great crab cakes. Very good filet and porterhouse. Service good. Waiter was great. Be warned the place is so loud u can't hear yourself think and everyone is yelling to b heard
Kids hated the noise. The second car ride had expounded upon the first and no one ate a lot and we were all motion sick
So we decided to walk the 15 min or so back. It was nice. Met nice people on way back, not locals.
The kids were feeling better now and wanted desert but all we knew of was Todd English and that area so yes that rt we won't back to Todd English. Tried to get two cupcakes and two scoops of ice cream for the kids and a Cooke for Mommy and daddy to split. The girl acted horribly like she was forced to work without pay as a slave but had no fear of reprisal for her bad attitude. So surly. She was so nasty it took her three attempts to tell us we can only order food to go. Seems Todd English changes the rules when they busy. We said good we didn't want to stay
She was so slow and so mean we tried to cancel the ice cream but she wouldnt listen. A waiter needing two cupcakes for his table couldn't get her attention either I told please go ahead we can wait but she wouldn't pay attention to her she just kept slamming things around
A mgr walks by and waiter gets him to get him the cupcakes and he does and walks away even thou he can hear and see she is in a foul mood
He says nothing to us
Back at the room. Kids didnt want the cupcakes bc they were old and hard. The cookie was as well but they ate the ice cream
Oh I forgot the DVD player in the room didn't work and they had fixed it and the ac by the time we returned from dinner

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Allen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Plaza lived up to its reputation as one of the finest New York hotels! My friend and I treated ourselves to the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights to celebrate our birthdays. The room was superbly decorated in antiques and the bathroom was sumptuous! The reception staff were not that friendly but the porters, Teddy and Waheed, deserve special mention for keeping us entertained and for being helpful.

Room Tip: try to request a room with a view over the park - it may be a bit noisy but the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent 6 nights here, when we traveled to NYC to be married and it did not dissapoint. We stayed in 'The Rose Suite' which was perfectly romantic. The rooms are exceedingly large by NYC standard and the decor is classic but modern, with the most comfortable bed and furnishings. Our bathroom was very large and had the priveledge of french doors opening to a great view over central park to our left. The butlers pantry and Mod cons, such as the lighting and air con controlled via an ipad, ensured the ambiance was always perfect and our every need catered for. The room was kept immaculate and Our turn down service was a joy, with lots of little personal touches provided. The rest of the hotel was just as lovely and the staff a pleasure to speak with. This was truly a 5 star experience....my only dissapointment was that i had to leave our lovely room to sightsee !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear SAK_10,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are thrilled you chose to stay with for such a special occasion and that you had great experience - from your comfortable guestroom to the personalized turn down service. We do hope that you will be able to return again in the future, perhaps even to celebrate your one year anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed for 1 night only but it was wonderful. Location is right on Central Park and 5th Ave. Incredibly comfortable bed and the bathroom was divine! I would love to stay longer the next time i visit NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eimear G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here 4 days late August. Paid to upgrade to The Rose Suite, well worth it, as was heavenly, The bed was the best i have ever slept in and wanted one to take home,had dressing room dressing table mood lighting all from your in house ipad. I loved the corridors to the suites very well designed and spacious. The plaza has Eloise Boutique, a dream come true for any little princess, also The Eloise Suite. Found Todd English in the food court as part of Hotel easy for a light lunch. My very favorite store is right next door Bergdorf Goodman women and mens across the street,Just doing there Fall windows so beautiful I took many photographs. and of course right in the heart of everything. This was our first trip to New York and would recommend this hotel. One slight downside was breakfast, Service takes too long and waiting for an hour plus for pot of Tea not good enough. Other guests with us found the same problem, as we all wanted to get going to various shopping sightseeing etc. All in All good experience and would return if only for those heavenly beds.

Room Tip: If you want to spoil yourself not much more a night to upgrade to a suite, have some super deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phoebe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,481 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#49 of 469 in New York City
736 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $566 - $1,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing