We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #338 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed here for my Mother 80th Birthday in Sept 2008.The hotel is located in an area known as the "Garment District". This is a great location as the Metro is just around the corner, you are close to diners, delis, and there is a pharmacy just around the corner.
The staff in the hotel were really helpful and enthusiastic - even when it ewas busy!!
we had rooms on a high floor and the views were super. September - Octobr are good months in NY as the temperatures are dropping and the city is busy with business. Best advice - buy some comfy trainers and just walk your legs off!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

The room and the bathroom were little but very clean and comfortable. Good location, easy and quick to go either up-town and down-town Manhattan: 3 metro's stations nearby and walkable distance to the Empire, Flatiron, 5th Avenue. Quiet district but not so many restaurants and/or pub nearyby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeboraPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location minutes from macy's, empire state building, madison square garden etc, perfect for exploring. The view from the room was truly breathtaking, looking out towards the empire state and chrysler buildings, however there were no curtains provided, so the room didn't get very dark and it was difficult to get much sleep! The room was an ok size and was clean and comfortable, however despite our trip being at the end of the summer, it was still rather expensive, particularly as we didn't get any meals. Overall, pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnlins101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My friend and I visited New York City last week. We stayed at this hotel and it was a pleasant stay. Check in was quick and the staff were very helpful. We ate in the resturant three times and food was very good. This hotel is in a very good location. We walked to several areas almost every day. It was very clean. The staff was very helpful in getting us a car to the airport on day to leave. Check out was smooth. Highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are small, but we were only in them for a short time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoustonMeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Following an accumulation of Airmiles and Priority Club points (and Platinum Status) I had planned a "free" trip to NYC from the UK. Having stayed before I knew roughly where I wanted to stay around my main highlight a trip to the new Yankee Stadium. The choice was between this and Crowne Plaza Times Square having stayed at the CP before. With this being a new hotel the decision was on the basis of this and the fact the internet was free (and unlike other reviews speed was adequate).

Arrived at JFK so took the LIRR to Penn Station and made the short walk down 7th to the Hotel. Arrived at 1pm but was offered my room immediately - even though this was a freebie - 1901 a King Bed with a "view" of the Empire State Building. At the end of the stay I was also offered a late check out - excellent service and status reccognition by the hotel.

Having stayed in New York before I expect small room unless you pay the earth. The room here was of a perfect size. In a hotel I want a bed , a desk, TV and bathroom. All of these were provided and excellent. Must say this is the first hotel I have stayed in that provided a HD Tv that actually had HD channels (in fact almost a full cable line up of SD and HD channels). No complaints about he bathroom - good shower a a toilet and basin. Nothing more but what else did I want to do in there ?

The local area provides a good mix of shops (CVS, Wholefoods, Duanne Read, Best Buy) and places to each (from Subway, Starbucks and Macdonald to good restaurants) all with a few blocks. The subway was close by along with key bus routes - but did walk to Empire State, Rockafella Centre, Times Square and Union Square all within 20 to 30 mins.

Overall a wonderfull hotel and goes straight to the top of my personal list of manhattan hotels

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK_Yankee_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights towards the end of August and we have to say we were very impressed overall. Prior to arrival we were in touch with the hotel about having some parcels delivered before we arrived, the manager took charge of the requests and kept us and his very attentive staff informed so they were there when we arrived.

Lets get this in perspective, this is a hotel on Manhattan island, right in the middle of things and therefore space was always going to be limited. When you compare it with the hotels at four times the price you may have a case for saying the rooms are small, but realistically, for the location, price and the amount of time you will spend in them they are just fine. I will say its likely to be the bathroom that has caused most of the 'small room comments' as it is on the small side, but again its perfectly usable.

Our room wasn't ready as we were there early (around 1pm) but we were able to leave our bags and set off stright away, advised to come back around 3pm when they expected the room to be ready for us. The room we had was an 'upgrade' from the standard room we would normally get for our rate, we had a 19th floor Empire State building view room which, whilst the same size room (all rooms are similar at this property, there are no suites etc, just standard rooms (seems to becoming more common with franchised IGH properties)) was better due to the open air feeling and the lack of brick wall outside the window.

The room was good, sure it wasn't huge, but like central London hotels, size costs money and realistically when you can get this hotel for $100 a night if you are smart about booking it really can't be beaten. The elevators have caused people to comment, sure sometimes there are long queues, but this seemed to only be when they had large parties checking in or out of the hotel, other than that we really didn't have any issues during our stay.

The internet was free, a great bonus considering some IHG locations charge up to $20 an hour for access in Europe, it wasn't the fastest thing on the planet but it was fast enoguh for our needs and greatly helped us to be sure we filled our days as best as possible. There are free PC's n the business center in the basement too, when you can print off tickets etc for free - excellent facilities overall in this department.

We didn't eat breakfast or any food in the hotel during our stay for many different reasons. The hotel food wasn't cheap, the breakfast wasn't cheap and it wasn't in the nicest of locations. The doors into the Bar/Restaurant are very 'office like' and the layout of the facilities aren't inviting. The bar itself is 'lit' poorly with battery powered LED lights too dim for the size of the room. The cafe desperately needs to have tables and chairs outside, for some reason during our stay these were piled up outside and unusuable - maybe they were packed away for the winter, although with temperatures around 83/85 on our stay they could have been useful.

Over all though, Peter (the hotel manager) and his team have a good little hotel here which we wouldn't hesitate from staying in again, nothing was too much trouble and it was great value overall. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visidigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We booked 2 rooms: 1 king bed room and a 2 double beds room for 2 nights and we were very pleased! (especially considering the low price we paid).

Staff was professional, rooms were beautiful, clean and bigger than I expected. Max occupancy for the 2 double beds room was 3 persons according to the hotel but we could easily have been 4. The max occupancy was 3 because one side of one bed touches the wall so one of the bed would be more difficult to access for one person but it would not have been much of an problem if we had been 4 persons. Rooms were very well isolated too, we didn't hear anything from the other rooms.

The only bad surprise we got is that there were no safe to keep our valuable stuff (passports) in the room. But they can keep it "safe" for you at the front desk (but we did not use this service).

When we check-out, they kept out luggage so we could leave NY later in the day.

There is plenty of cheap parking around the hotel (http://www.bestparking.com). I think we got a better deal using the bestparking website that if we had used the hotel's parking "deal" and our parking was a 30 second walk from the hotel.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank Mavoubate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 470 in New York City
2,077 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#151 of 470 in New York City
1,946 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#195 of 470 in New York City
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#196 of 470 in New York City
2,087 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#322 of 470 in New York City
2,094 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#48 of 470 in New York City
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Address: 125 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $124 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing