We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark room in packed area of town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dark room in packed area of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our room was very very small, the second bed was right up against the AC unit, which must be a fire hazard especially when blowing hot. Which it wasn't during our stay. The room was also very very dark, facing the back of a really ugly building. Our mistake was not to ask for a different room after a couple of nights. So avoid the 09 rooms if you can.
The elevators are small, slow. But the internet worked, the beds were comfortable, the shower etc was fine, the rooms were cleaned properly and we were given fresh sheets when we asked for it. Just not my favorite part of NYC and therefore not my favorite hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the 09 rooms if you can, probably on any floor, but not sure of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muse-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Muse-trips - Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry that you felt our rooms were on the smaller side. They are quite average for NYC. I also apologize that our location was not ideal for you. We're located in a quiet part of the Chelsea neighborhood, right next to the Flatiron neighborhood. Close enough to the action, but it allows for some peace and quiet at night.

We hope you can give our newly renovated hotel another shot in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    529
    291
    87
    58
See reviews for
388
277
94
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The staff were great. Very nice and welcoming. The room I had was very clean. The bed was comfy. It is NYC so it was a little noisy...but again..its NYC no fault of the hotel. I did eat in the restaurant and had a fantastic meal. Service was a little slow, but they were extremely busy and it looked like one guy was doing his best to do it all. He had a great attitude also under the circumstances. The only issues I encountered were slow elevators and underneath the bed there is this metal platform that sticks out. I hit my toe on that platform twice during my stay. So be careful with that because it hurts! Other than those two issues, I had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777zba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

beautiful place, lovely staff! the rooms are nice and clean! the bed is comfortable. we booked a room including breakfast, unfortunately the cafe was under renovation but they gave us a voucher for a near by place which was also nice, the food was great

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeZee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Inn Chelsea for 3 days last week. The location is great. You are near Times Square (15 min walk), Empire State Building (20 min walk), MSG (10 min walk), subways just down the street from the hotel and restaurants are in abondance.
Do not listen to people who have posted that the rooms are small. You are in the heart on NYC, the rooms will be small. Besides how much of the day are you in the room? If you say a lot then NYC is not for you. You are there to walk the city, see the attraction. At most you are in your room to sleep and that is it. So enough of the small room nonsense. Try this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you don't get the rooms with the view if the Empire State Building (because not everyone can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hi Carlo G - Thank you for sharing your experience with the world! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and our great location. Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Mike Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms are very clean. It's located in a nice Chelsea area, 2 blocks away from the 1 train, and one from the B line. There're also few places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newyorker2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
511 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were here in late June for 4 days. This was our 1st time at this location. The staff was friendly and very helpful, they were always asking if we needed assistance. We arrived about 3:30pm and the bellman was ready to retrieve our luggage. Check in was very efficient since we had reservations. We had a standard room with a king bed, room 1702. We had a view of the alley facing a water tank & AC equipment on an adjacent bldg. It was OK since we only slept there and was out early every day. The room was clean, the bed comfy and a nice desk with lots of electrical outlets and an Ethernet connection if you did not have wireless connections. The bathroom was a bit small; had a shower, toilet & sink. It was similar to a cruise ship bathroom but it worked. This hotel is just minutes from Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building (42nd St), Times Square & Koreatown (32nd St). Sometimes, there is a groupon offer for this hotel for $149/night.

Room Tip: Our room 1702 was at the end of the hall so very quiet. the elevator was around the corner, 2 room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfun4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

In the hotel for the 2nd time. Very nice and helpful personal (especially Milta from the front desk and Carlos the concierge). Great location near from the subway 1 and near times square (15 min on foot). I would highly recommand this hotel if I know anyone who goes to NYC!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris_burri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing