We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We felt very well :))” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #319 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Limburgerhof, Germany
1 review
“We felt very well :))”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My daughter (18 years) and I spent the last week-end in Holiday Inn 6th avenue. It was our first time in NY. The hotel offered us a pleasant stay. The receipt was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and cleanly. The bathroom was equipped with big comfort. There is a good binding to the underground. The hotel lies centrally.
We come again very much with pleasure!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claudia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    488
    266
    77
    49
See reviews for
352
251
91
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great location because it was close enough to everything but far enough to not be in the middle of the hustle and bustle. I went with my 3 kids and stayed comfortably. yes...the elevators were slow and the bathroom was super small and showing some wear...but overall we enjoyed our stay . There were no safes in the rooms and the front desk had no boxes left to keep our passports but otherwise that ..we had no issues. I would recommend you go to the computer/business room in the basement and take advantage of all the coupons on the wall...( that was a hidden secret that saved us close to 20% on every tour we planned to take. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank momof3kidsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December, 2013. The staff was very nice and helpful,. The room was small but clean and fine for our needs. The location is great. It is close to many great restaurants and subway stops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn 6th avenue for 7 nights last week. From the very beginning our stay was really great: the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, from the front desk staff who checked us in early with no fuss whatsoever, to the concierge who immediately took an interest in our plans and made great suggestions for activities, including helping us to book a boat trip and choosing the best day (weather-wise) to do it.
The hotel itself is modern and simply but attractively decorated. The reception area is small but there is a large seating area outside and a small bar and restaurant.
Our room was on the 20th floor - we'd requested an attractive view, and we got a room with a great view of the freedom tower, which was lovely. The room itself was small by European standards but slightly above average for a Manhattan hotel. It suited us perfectly to have 2 queen size beds, and the space between and around the beds was adequate for storage of suitcases etc. The wardrobe and drawer space was also more than adequate. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, with lots of small but fluffy(!) pillows. The large window was fitted with a blackout blind, which was great as it muffled the traffic noise from the street outside as well as the light.
The bathroom was basic and fairly small but perfectly clean, and hot water was available for showers and baths every time we needed it. The towels were in great condition, and toiletries were provided (can't comment on these as we brought our own).
The daily housekeeping service was perfect - our sheets were changed twice during our stay and towels changed daily.
The coffee machine in the room didn't work very well, but we didn't bother to ask for another as we loved the coffee shop on the corner of 26th and 6th! There was an ice and water machine, as well as other vending machines, a few steps away from our room.
The air con/heating system worked perfectly, which was appreciated given the extremely cold weather!
We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant one morning and it was fine, not particularly to our taste but pretty standard fare and reasonably priced for a hotel breakfast. Another evening, we were exhausted and freezing after a long day of sight-seeing and didn't feel like leaving the hotel to eat, so headed downstairs expecting a similar standard of meal. I'm delighted to report that our dinner was delicious! I'd gladly eat in the hotel restaurant again. Lots of choice on the menu, well priced wine options (and they're half price for 'happy hour'), and a very efficient and pleasant waiter.
The location of this hotel is a major plus point: it's within easy walking distance of Penn station, Madison Square Park and the Flatiron building, Herald Square, a huge variety of delis, restaurants, bars, pharmacies, supermarkets - you name it, it's within 5-10 minutes of the hotel! Naturally it's also close to a number of Subway stops, which was very helpful.
Our flight home was in the late evening, so we were delighted to find that there was the facility to leave our luggage in a secure room til we were ready to leave for the airport. One of the receptionists kindly arranged a cab for us too.
All in all we felt very lucky to have chosen this Holiday Inn for our stay: it was cheap by Manhattan standards, and our stay was a pleasure from start to finish. The staff made everything easy for us. We'll be back, and having experienced other NYC hotels will be sure to recommend this one to anyone planning a visit to New York!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! A higher floor will obviously have a better view. Speak to the concier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishuwereherex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Dear Tenille and Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th Ave Chelsea staff and all management,

Your staff has been cool, laid-back and wonderfully helpful people. Not a fancy hotel: So what, nobody stays in a hotel in NYC anyway. Clean and decent enough plus an awesome location (love to be able to walk down 5th Avenue to Washington Square Park and Soho/Village) - paired with your staff's attitude:

Good experience for even someone who's temporary home this is right now (aka not a tourist).

What made this an excellent experience - beyond any other hotel ever - was Tenille, who was most resourceful, friendliest person ever: A total life-saver. Thank you for helping!

P.S. Only one rotten apple (lady working with Tenille the day Tenille helped me). Sorry. Not cool and friendly at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeKay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

As a single traveller to New York the hotel was more than accommodating.

The staff were friendly and very helpful and even gave me a complementary City view room. I had a breakfast voucher for the time I was there which was excellent and set you up for the day.

The room was clean modern and we'll equipped and felt very safe. It was good to have a gym which was modern and had most of the equipment for my routine.

The front desk were particularly helpful when my shuttle bus did not appear organising a speedy cab to JFK airport.

Would have no hesitations in staying again being friendly, modern and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmillanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my two teenage kids over presidents day weekend. I travel quite alot and have stayed in different hotels in nyc. Location is key for me and service. This hotel ticks every box on both those elements. The service in this hotel is excellent, we came for my daughter's birthday, not only did they provide us with a room with the best view they gave her a cupcake in a nice happy birthday bag! Small issue with not knowing they hold the money on your card at check in, but I feel this could have been better notified on booking.com. nice clean tidy rooms, not too big but to be expected in this city and the view more than compensated. Recommend to anyone realistic about expectations and well travelled enough to understand you get what you pay for

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Charlotte G, and thank you for your great review! Our Team is constantly looking for ways to create great experiences for our guests, and I am thrilled that our front desk Team recognized your daughter's birthday and made this a memorable stay. We hope to see you again for her birthday next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison ...
#260 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,643 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#317 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#308 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#225 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#151 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing