We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional at convenient NYC location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Functional at convenient NYC location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night after staying one night at the Hilton a block away. The service was very friendly and thorough, from the greeters, through the call at the room 15 min after I arrived to ask if I need anything else, and allowing me to checkout later (1pm) upon my request. Better service than Hilton. Room was pretty spacious. That said, room didn't feel very clean. I could tell it has been cleaned, but cleaning lady forgot to flush the toilet after she cleaned it, sheets were stained (clean, but old stains), and towels were pretty rough of frequent use. I also really didn't like their bathroom products and was happy I brought my own. BUT will be back because of location, service and altogether good value.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lirilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi Lirilo - Thank you for sharing your experience with the world! We are thrilled that you recognized our high level of personal service we strive to provide. We really do pride ourselves on the great experiences we try to create for our guests. I apologize for the sheets and towels in your room. Please know this is not typical of the amenities we offer.

Please email me directly the next time you are in our area. My email is gm@hi-nyc.com. I'd love to personally handle your reservation.

Thank you!

Mike Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    537
    296
    89
    60
See reviews for
399
285
95
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed in New York recently between Christmas & New Year. Because of the room rate we decided to book a family room. With two tall teenage sons, there was two double beds in a room
Which should only accommodate one double bed. Needless to say we couldn't move. Especially
with four full size suitcases and carry on luggage it was difficult.

The bathroom was tiny. The bedding was grey and thread bare. We stayed three nights, towels
Were not changed and I ended up asking reception to replace towels. The bins and room including beds where never made not the service I expect from Holiday Inn.

On a positive note the bar was friendly, food good, reasonably priced. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Browneyes48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi Browneyes48 - thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We're thrilled you recognized our Team's great high level of service. I apologize that your towels were not changed, and assure you this is not consistent with the high level of cleanliness we strive to maintain.

We hope you will return to our hotel the next time you are in the Chelsea neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We picked this hotel based on location, and it ended up being perfect. We loved the Chelsea/Meat Packing District nearby, and were able to walk most places. Don't expect a large room, as it was a very small room like everywhere else in NY. The bathroom was extremely small, but I guess that's NY. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, except for the very small pillows relative to the large king bed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slawrence44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Slawrence44 - thank you for your candid review. We're thrilled that you loved our hotel's location... the Chelsea neighborhood is within walking distance to all of New York City's landmark locations, and we are glad you took full advantage of this. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

After leaving Ithaca and the Meadow Court Inn, we decided to go to New York to see what the Big Apple had to offer. My nephew, who graduated from Cornell the day before, found this hotel and got a great rate! Less than a hundred bucks a night!

If you travel a lot like we do, you'll find there are hotels with huge, Texas size rooms and then there are small European sized rooms where you practically have to move furniture to get around. We had to move the desk chair to get from one end of the bed to the bathroom.

The bed was very, very comfortable! The room clean and clean smelling.

I never dealt with any of the staff so I haven't a clue if they were helpful or not. I can say that this Holiday Inn really isn't that close to Rockefeller Center, and all the touristy places one visits while in New York. We did walk there from the hotel but took the subway back!

I recommend this hotel for its cleanliness and extremely comfortable beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PigFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

we had reserved a room via hotels.com, i asked for a room with two single bad,that they usually have.they didn't have when we arrived so they said at the reception that they move us when they will have a vacant room.well it didn't happened, we didn't hear from them a word along the week we stayed there (not even an apology).
and about the hotel - the pros:very good location,you can get easily anywhere in the city,great view if you get a high floor. the cons: the room are really very small,the elevators are very slow,sometimes you have to wait for long minutes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi danbd - Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. Please reach out to me directly at gm@hi-nyc.com so that I may fully investigate what happened with your reservation. At times, 3rd party sites, such as hotels.com, will sell "run of house" rooms, which does not guarantee any specific room types. I'd like to see if this was the case here.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent two nights there.
Rooms: smallish but the bed is huge and fills the room! Rooms spotless and good bathroom. We only used the rooms to wash and sleep so perfectly adequate for that - we were sightseeing the rest of the time. Good heating (it was January!). WiFi a bit awkward but it is there.
Restaurant: wow! Huge breakfasts and dinners with very friendly staff.
Staff: very helpful.
Position: great for going south to the sights (Statue of Liberty), local (Empire State Building) and north (Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, rockefella center).
Get to a nearby subway station and buy a Metrocard - then you can get anywhere. This hotel is close to all the Manhattan subway lines.
Note: staff happy to look after your luggage after check-out (11am limit) and this is secure. Handly for most UK flights that leave in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russjking k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

When visiting NYC I always look forward to staying at the Holiday Inn on 26th St. The rooms (NYC sized) upper stories offer great city views either North (Freedom Tower) or South views of Empire State Building, Chrysler Bldg and midtown are great photo opportunities. The location in Chelsea while out of the main midtown high traffic areas puts you walking distance and easy access to all noted views, midtown,Madison Square Garden and great bars and restaurants. Prime restaurant located in the hotel is family owned and run and is probably one of the best Italian eateries in Chelsea.
The staff is great and makes you feel like you back home.
I would strongly recommend this hotel for a great NY experience.
Mr T

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing