We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but Rooms (and beds) are Tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Aus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Location but Rooms (and beds) are Tiny”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I knew the rooms would be small but they were much smaller than I expected. The double beds were more like king singles and therefore uncomfortable for a family of four (inc two teenage daughters). The service was OK. The location was good particularly travelling in and out of Penn Station. Would I stay here again... Not sure. I have stayed in better NY hotels for a similar price. If I stayed here again as a family I would definitely need to look at two rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi MHJB - thank you for your honest review! We pride ourselves on our clean hotel, friendly service, and great convenient location. Our "New York sized rooms" are great for returning from a long day of sightseeing. We hope to see you the next time your family returns to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    537
    296
    89
    60
See reviews for
399
285
95
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

For an NYC hotel, the rooms were surprisingly large and you can't beat the location. Just steps away from Madison Square Park, the Flatiron building, and many subway stops. We walked with luggage from Penn Station with no worries. The attached restaurant was decent and had some good happy hour specials daily. We paid just a few dollars extra for a room on a higher floor, and it was money well-spent. We had awesome views of the Empire State Building. The higher floor however, meant we were more inclined to use the elevator, which sometimes had long lines. For the location and price, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for the city view room. You're higher up, which means less noise. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

As the title indicates, my recent experience at this hotel was a positive one. It was a good hotel in a great location. This hotel is convenient to subways, restaurants, business areas, tourist attractions. The rooms are small, but they are nice and serve the purpose. The public areas are average, but this is a moderately priced hotel. Service was very good. The price was fair for this hotel and location

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Good price and location for NYC business trip, typical NYC tiny rooms. Underground parking about a block away for reasonable rate ($30). Small footprint, so all rooms are within close proximity to elevator and stairwell. Service was average for an IHG hotel, and only problem encountered was limited hot water while showering in the morning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank traceydee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Holiday Inn Chelsea for 5 nights in Late November. We enjoyed our stay here and although yes the rooms aren't huge, they are adequate enough and you don't feel cramped. We were initially given a disabled access room which we hadn't asked for. This room was nice enough but didn't have a bath and was missing a bedside cabinet (as it's designed for use by disabled persons), so we asked to be moved to another room. One of the managers, David was very helpful and moved us to a good room on the top floor, with a direct view of the Empire State Building. This room was very nice and although it would have been nice having a fridge in the room, we made use of the ice machine which was located on the 20th floor. The cleaners came in every day and the room was very well kept.
The location of the hotel was really good. We were in walking distance of most places. The Empire State Building and Madison Square Gardens were only a short walk away, as were Times Square and the Rockerfella Center. We also walked down to the World Trade Centre and up to Central Park. These took longer to walk to, but we didn't mind the walking. There's plenty of subway stations nearby if you want to get around a bit quicker as well.
The hotel has a restaurant attached, which seems up be privately run, as opposed to run by Holiday Inn. We didn't have breakfast there, though we did have dinner there on the last evening. The food was very nice, but a bit pricey. For breakfast, most days we ate at The Malibu Diner which was located at 163 West 23rd Street, two blocks down. The food here was excellent and we would highly recommend eating here for breakfast. Its a traditional American Diner and the portions are very generous as well as the staff being very helpful. If you prefer something more healthy for breakfast, we also ate one morning at a place called 'Fresh & Co'. This is a franchised chain and there are several in New York City. The food here was of good quality and as its name suggests, is all from fresh ingredients.
A very enjoyable visit and this is a hotel we would definitely stay in again on our next trip to New York.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Railroadtycoon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crittenden, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel was newer and very clean and comfortable. The rooms are not that large but I do understand it is New York. Had breakfast there one morning and it was excellent! The front desk staff and management was very friendly and helpful. The only cons I have is that the elevators were a bit slow and the internet was extremely slow. We were in room 2502. We had a great view of the Empire State Building. I would go back again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 2502 had a great view of the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holidays and had a great visit to New York.
When I made the booking I made an error in the type of room we requested. When I realized my error I contacted the manager Mike Williams who kept in touch with me and found us the accommodation we needed.
I was most impressed that he took the time to make sure we had the room requested.
While the rooms are small the location is stellar.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and the elevator pretty slow so try and book on the lower floors to avoid having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing