We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Oh such friendly hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #323 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
609 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Oh such friendly hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

No - the rooms are not big. What to expect? But its well located. Concierge suggested dinner across the street at TreDici - good choice!
CheckIn staff brilliantly happy. Concierge service quicker than the lightning.
Good bed to sleep in. And i can not complain about the elevators as others do... waited 30 secs max.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    505
    277
    81
    51
See reviews for
366
260
91
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A great location close to shopping, ten min walk to Times Sq. My wife and I stayed first night in a hotel next to Central Park. It felt far from action. This is a hotel who wants to feel all the action in the town, and relatively quiet. Breakfast is included - not a standard in NYC. Yes, reviews are correct, rooms are small, and breakfast area is cramped in the mornings, but come on, let's be fair, there is sausage, egg, waffles, toasted bread. Felt almost like full english breakfast. And rooms? Clean, tidy, and quiet. Yes, small. But how long do you intend to stay indoors while all action is at your doorstep from this great vfm hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoliMakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in the Holiday Inn for 6 nights. Arriving in Penn Station the hotel is about 9 blocks away very easy to get to from 7th Avenue, situated between 6th and 7th. I managed to get one of the top floor rooms due to the help of the guy on the desk, I had originally been put into a smoking room on 2nd floor (I don't smoke) but he managed to move me the day before I arrived. 100% worth it for views, straight out onto Empire State and Chrysler Building. Overall hotel was brilliant, everyone who worked there was friendly and always ready to help us with any questions we had. Yes the lift is slow but you only need to wait for it a couple of minutes and then you are at your floor. The breakfast area in inside the hotel, not across the road like we thought it was. My parents had coupons but I usually paid every day, not too expensive but recommend getting coupons to save money. Lots of places to eat nearby and easy to get to subways and sights too though we mostly walked everywhere. Great visit and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieBalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been to New York City a couple of times before and I have to say Holiday Inn Chelsea is it! We were a little nervous about it since the room was booked randomly through Hotwire but it turned out to be a really great stay! This hotel was close to everything. We were in New York City for my sisters birthday party and when we needed things to do the Concierge and Front Desk were really helpful! I remember David especially. He was really awesome (and really cute too!) He gave us a room with an Empire State view. If you stay at this hotel you just have to stay in this room. I have never seen the Empire State Building like that before! The rooms are really small but what can you expect, its New York City. They were clean and that is all we needed.
After all we were really surprised with the service at the hotel, the restaurants happy hour was perfect, and the staff was awesome. We definitely will be back! Thanks Holiday inn Chelsea!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited New York City during the US Tennis Open. We stayed at holiday inn because we had sufficient priority points for a discounted stay. We found this hotel to be convenient to other city sites. It was clean and fairly well maintained. The biggest negative is no on site parking. They had a relationship with a parking garage down the street, which was not open 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHVETTE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My room was small, but functional - the bedsheets were real cotton, the shower worked well, the internet and TV worked well. The room basically looked like any other Holiday Inn (a plus, in my opinion), except that it was quite a bit smaller.

For example the desk was so small and cramped that I ended up doing whatever work I had to do while laying on the bed, propped up on the pillows. I had a king-size bed but was staying solo, so half of the bed effectively functioned as my desk.

The rest of the hotel also mirrors this philosophy - it is basically a front desk, two elevators, and a bunch of rooms. There is no lobby or lounge area to speak of, and the "fitness center" is just a tiny closet in the basement with a few machines. The elevators work well, but are a bit slow given the number of guests, and the fact that the cleaning staff also use them (there is no service elevator).

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, which is not bad actually, and you get vouchers to eat breakfast there as part of your room bill. Again, it's a bit tight - and you don't necessarily feel like you can sit there for hours reading the paper - but it actually is a full-service restaurant, as opposed to the crappy little automated breakfast areas in other Holiday Inns.

Overall I was pretty happy here - I was looking for a simple place with good access to Chelsea and Midtown. I don't like the whole "fake Victorian look" of B&B's and so I was happy with the Holiday Inn style. I would have been happier with a larger room, but I was able to manage. And the view from my room was beautiful - all the way down to the new World Trade Center tower and West to the Hudson river.

Room Tip: There are two categories of rooms at this hotel, "city view" (the upper floors) and then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F-wissenschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The service is excellent, the food in the restaurant is great and the bartender is awesome and a great asset to the hotel. The front desk staff is always warm and friendly and goes above and beyond and definitely made me feel welcome. If I did have a problem(which only happened once and it was a minor issue), the manager on duty at the desk took care of it immediately and even placed a follow up call to make sure everything was ok. Thats what I call service! The rooms are very clean and spacious and the rates are just right. Transportation is just 1 block from the hotel and 5 mins into Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fegou l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#160 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#304 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#210 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#147 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#313 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing