We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #338 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 8, 2011

A great find and a great bargain.
We booked this hotel about 6 months in advance through the discount link on trip advisor. Total cost of hotel for 7 nights was £560. Absolute bargain for NYC.
Yes, as other reviews the rooms were small, however not as small as we thought they might be.
We managed perfectly fine in the room.
The hotel is generally quite small however suited our needs fine.
We had a king bed smoking room on the second floor. You can open the windows.
Our room faced the main street, however we were never disturbed by any noise.
The hotel is very new. The hotel was clean and our room was serviced each day.
Very friendly staff and we felt very welcomed when we arrived.
Shout out to staff member Carlos who was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, organising a late check out and organising a taxi back to the airport. Thank-you for your help!
Excellent location, only several blocks and easily walk able down to Macy’s, Time’s Square and other areas.
Great happy hour 12-8 in the bar that is part of the hotel. Two alcoholic drinks for $8-a steal compared to elsewhere! We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was very good.
Free wi-fi which worked very well inside and just outside the hotel.
Located on a street where there are some nice bars and restaurants.
Great seating area outside the hotel, ideal for relaxing and people watching.
We felt very safe in the hotel and area. We would defiantly return and recommended to others if the price is right.
Tip. Sunac deli. Few minutes walk-just round the corner. Great freshly prepared food and snacks with a seating area inside-an upmarket deli. They serve breakfast. Very tasty and good price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyjb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel after getting a deal for 180 usd per night. We stayed for 5 nights on the 16th floor.

The room was a little small but perfectly fine and clean. Great comfortable beds of good size and good bathroom.

Yes you have to wait a fee mins for the lift in busy times but it's fine.

Great location with a 20 min walk to times square. On Sunday's there is a lovely street Market down the road.

Staff were good and helpful.

Overall perfect for us. Will come again!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SABWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in March 2011. The hotel is very new and very well furnished/decorated. The rooms are super - we had an Empire State View King Room - Fantastic! Spotlessly Clean - Lovely comfortable bed, Satellite TV, all mod cons. Great bathroom with good water pressure in the shower. Plenty of towels and lovely toiletries. Staff very friendly. Located on 6th Ave and 26th St (Chelsea). Nice quiet road but still near enough to everything. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. That might not matter to people who really just need a bed to sleep in, but if you have any intention of using your room as a home base for an extended trip it might be uncomfortable. There was barely any space to stash your luggage.

On the other hand, being a new hotel, nothing was broken or beat up so everything looked nice. The room had windows that open which is always a plus and an LCD TV with HDTV service. The bathroom was very small but had some nice touches like a soft close toilet seat.

The restaurant attached to the hotel seemed nice but I only had a drink at the bar so I can't comment on the food. The bartenders were friendly.

The street the hotel is on is mostly quiet and is in a safe part of town, just a short walk from Penn Station (Madison Square Garden) and Herald Square.

For the price, one could probably find a bigger room to stay in, but this was adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Although the hotel is nicely located in Manhattan when you enter the reception you have a feeling it is a budget youth hostel and not a 4 star hotel. The rooms are terribly small. Breakfast is expensive and not good at all.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank PiotrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Hotel was fine. It is SMALL. There are only 5ish rooms to a floor, which isn't really an issue, but I had a King room and there's about 2' all the way around the bed. Bathroom sink reminded me of a cruise ship, but the shower was full size.

While this really only applies to frequent business travelers, this was the first time staying at an InterContinental Property where I didn't get anything for being a Platinum Member. When you spend tens of thousands of dollars a year on a chain, the free room upgrades or bar drink tickets are a nice perk. There were better rooms available when I checked in, but was not offered one. Oh well....

Room Tip: DONT buy the non-refunadable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Guy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

So this shoots my theory that the Holiday Inn chain has been making great strides in upgrading its properties. Everything is new and clean at this hotel, but there is not much else to commend it. It is on a shabby street at the edge of the Fashion District. The lobby is so small and nondescript as to be off-putting (I felt embarrassed to greet a friend there). The elevators are slow and, god forbid that you try to take a ride when the housekeepers are trekking their carts and supplies to the upper floors. The friendly front desk staff cannot make up for the rooms they have to assign you - incredibly small, even by NYC or European standards. There was literally a three-foot aisle around each side of the king-sized bed. Although the shower was generous, the rest of the bathroom was barely larger than an airline toilet. One has to close the door to stand in front of the mirror, and squeeze oneself into the shower opening so that the door will swing past. This is definitely a hotel for small people and single travelers. If you prefer Holiday Inn properties, try the Indigo Inn, two blocks north on 28th Street, where the rooms are also small but beautifully designed. Or try the Holiday Inn Madison Square Garden on 29th Street and spring for a jacuzzi room that provides a spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkOn_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 470 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#153 of 470 in New York City
1,956 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#201 of 470 in New York City
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#194 of 470 in New York City
2,092 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#326 of 470 in New York City
2,101 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#48 of 470 in New York City
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Address: 125 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $122 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing