We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too small rooms, ugly reception, expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“too small rooms, ugly reception, expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Although the hotel is nicely located in Manhattan when you enter the reception you have a feeling it is a budget youth hostel and not a 4 star hotel. The rooms are terribly small. Breakfast is expensive and not good at all.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PiotrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    537
    296
    89
    60
See reviews for
399
285
95
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Hotel was fine. It is SMALL. There are only 5ish rooms to a floor, which isn't really an issue, but I had a King room and there's about 2' all the way around the bed. Bathroom sink reminded me of a cruise ship, but the shower was full size.

While this really only applies to frequent business travelers, this was the first time staying at an InterContinental Property where I didn't get anything for being a Platinum Member. When you spend tens of thousands of dollars a year on a chain, the free room upgrades or bar drink tickets are a nice perk. There were better rooms available when I checked in, but was not offered one. Oh well....

Room Tip: DONT buy the non-refunadable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Guy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

So this shoots my theory that the Holiday Inn chain has been making great strides in upgrading its properties. Everything is new and clean at this hotel, but there is not much else to commend it. It is on a shabby street at the edge of the Fashion District. The lobby is so small and nondescript as to be off-putting (I felt embarrassed to greet a friend there). The elevators are slow and, god forbid that you try to take a ride when the housekeepers are trekking their carts and supplies to the upper floors. The friendly front desk staff cannot make up for the rooms they have to assign you - incredibly small, even by NYC or European standards. There was literally a three-foot aisle around each side of the king-sized bed. Although the shower was generous, the rest of the bathroom was barely larger than an airline toilet. One has to close the door to stand in front of the mirror, and squeeze oneself into the shower opening so that the door will swing past. This is definitely a hotel for small people and single travelers. If you prefer Holiday Inn properties, try the Indigo Inn, two blocks north on 28th Street, where the rooms are also small but beautifully designed. Or try the Holiday Inn Madison Square Garden on 29th Street and spring for a jacuzzi room that provides a spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkOn_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed here during the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show. Everything was clean, and the staff was extremely helpful. The hotel is actually off 6th Avenue on 26th St. ... so there's little traffic noise. There's a nice little bar and great restaurant (Prime Cafe) attached to the hotel. Yes, the rooms are very small. The bathroom was downright tiny. However, you're in New York; why would you spend a bunch of time in your room? There is a "business center" downstairs with two computers that are free for guest use. If you really need to use a computer during your trip, I'd recommend bringing your own ... because the ones in the business center were almost always in use by other guests. Also, the hotel is pet-friendly .... always a plus. Easy walk to pharmacies, the subway and Madison Square Garden. I would definitely book here again! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Manhattan, in the middle of 26th street between 6th and 7th avenue. Only two blocks away from the subways 1,2&3 (Times Square in 5mins) and three blocks from subways B,D,F&M (8mins to Rockefeller Center)
The staff on arrival was very friendly, and although we arrived at noon, our view room on the 20th floor was already available. The room wasn't that big, but not cramped. Nice wide bed, but for me not long enough (I'm 1m92 or 6'3''). TV had more then enough channels, and the free wireless & wired internet worked like it should have, acceptable speed as well. The view from the room was excellent, with the Empire State Building and Chrysler Tower right in front. The bathroom had a big shower, hairdryer, toilet and a small sink. It was only a bit difficult to get in and out, because the door was too wide. We had to step inside around the toilet to close the door. A bit strange they used a door that wide for a not so big bathroom. Cleanliness was OK, only the shower wasn't entirely clean, nothing to worry about though. The staff in the lobby gave us a nice greeting everytime we went out or came back in. Storage of our luggage on the day we left was not a problem, and checkout went really fast. Lots of places to have breakfast or a quick snack on the way to the subway, and a nice restaurant adjecent & opposite the hotel. If there is a remark, it's about the elevators. There are only two of them, and no service elevator. That means in the morning, sometimes you'll have to wait a bit. We stayed for 5 days, but never had to wait longer then 1 minute. It probably feels longer while you're waiting :).
Overall experience was very good, and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We requested for a twin bedding room, but the hotel only had double bed on the first day so the friendly receptionist promised us a twin room for the next 3 days of our 4 day stay, which we gotten and were very greatful. Location is good but not great, about 15-20 min walk to times square, I would recommend staying closer to madison square garden area. Room abit small, toilet small too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

This holiday inn was a major disappointment. The room was so small. There wasn’t a closet only a cupboard. I hung my coat and it didn’t close making it hard to walk past. And the bathroom was so small that you basically had to stand in the shower to open the door. Parking was quoted as $30 on the website but we were charged $40 because we had an SUV. When leaving I noticed a double room. If you plan to stay here ask for a double they looked a little bigger.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing