We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable beds good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Times Square South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Ranked #255 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Galil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We Took a room with 2 king beds for 10nights.

Pros:
Location:Two blocks from Port authority Bus Terminal, and Times sq. Is very close too.
Comfortable beds. Clean, spacious bathroom
Linen and towels are clean and of good quality
Coffee machine
Breakfast
Cons:
No fridge, very limited storage space
Public areas are tiny and dated (lobby &breakfast room).
Price

Service- I will report again after we checkout
They agreed to enable late checkout, which is very nice, and were creative and flexible about it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mira12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mira12013,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us! We hope to have you stay with us again upon your next visit!

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    421
    180
    55
    41
See reviews for
352
258
60
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago for 5 nights and had a great experience. Booked the pay in advance rate through choicehotels.com and got a decent rate of $190/night plus taxes. Hotel is centrally located on the west side of midtown, close to anything and everything. Check in was fast and easy, front desk staff friendly enough. I had to book a separate reservation for my first night (that I paid for with points) and the only freebie room they had was two doubles, so I knew I would have to change rooms on the second day. There was a little confusion with the front desk staff over this and I found myself explaining the situation several times to different people at the check in desk. In the end they figured it out and even gave me the exact room I asked for, a king on a high floor on the front of the hotel. Yes, the room was smaller than a typical hotel room in any other city, but I found it to be a pretty standard size for Manhattan. I have stayed in MUCH smaller hotel rooms in NYC and had no problems with the size of the room. The room was squeaky clean, very nicely appointed and the bed was comfy. Daily service was spot on and there's a small safe that I stored my iPad in while out of the room. Only went down for coffee on one morning and, as others have pointed out, the breakfast room is kinda small, so just grabbed my coffee and went back up to my room to enjoy it. No big deal. Overall, this is a perfectly nice hotel in a great area of Manhattan and I would definitely stay here again. Only the super picky might find fault with the Comfort Inn Times Square South!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank nyclover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear nyclover18,

We thank you for your honest review! We strive to make every guest experience a perfect one! As hospitality professionals our team is very focused on getting the exact details for your reservation so that we ensure that your accommodations are exactly what you are expecting.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to indulge in our prime location! We will welcome you with open arms upon your next visit once again!

With kind regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was skeptical after reading reviews- but I found it convenient, clean, and just perfect for a jaunt through the city. I will definitely stay there again (but not for the free breakfast- needs improv)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Kristen P,

We thank you dearly for sharing your stellar review about your stay. We are so excited our charming location was to your liking and that we were close to your areas of interest. I am grateful that you have mentioned that you will return in your future visits. We love making special moments and endless memories so your stay is always special and unique.We all would be honored to welcome you back and create another wonderful experience.


With kind regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We needed something close to the action but didn't want to break the bank. I booked through the loyalty program and paid up front for the best rate.

Located just a block from the bus terminal and very near the ABC subway, this location is ideal for a casual tourist. Times Square and Broadway are within walking distance.

We were greeted very cordially by Leo, got checked in and took the quick elevator ride to the 15 floor. There are only four rooms per floor and they are rather small. Ours had two doubles and sometimes it was tight. The entry door would scrape the bathroom door handle whenever we opened it. But things were comfortable and clean (except the shower curtain needed changing and that sort of affected the entire room. I asked for a new one and I think they changed it a couple days later).

Maid service was good. The breakfast room is very cramped and navigating through breakfast with the other guests was sometimes difficult. The food was okay.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always happy to take the time to help with a restaurant rec or directions, train info, etc.The location is very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mycle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mycle22,

It is wonderful to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and enjoyed our hotel's centralized location and amazing staff!!! We hope you had a wonderful stay in New York City, and we would love the opportunity to impress you once again on your next visit with us.

Kind regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated like family. We were always greeting upon returning and told to "have a great day" when we left. The rooms were seriously small, I literally slept on the air conditioner with a pillow pressed between the wall and bed. The window sill was the only place that had room for my suitcase. But, everything was updated and very clean. The breakfast room was also small had hard to move through, but there is free breakfast and that is hard to find in NYC! The location made me a bit nervous at night, there is a club right next room with hookers, but inside the hotel I felt very safe. Times Square and theater district are a few blocks away as is the subway and Port Authority. There is also a Duane Reed a block away and that is very handy. I highly recommend this hotel and will defiantly make this my NYC hotel of choice!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SullyND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear SullyND,

We thank you dearly for sharing your fantastic review about your stay! We are very pleased that our ideal location was to your liking and that we were close to your areas of interest. We are happy to hear that you were able to indulge with our service and amenities. We strive in creating special moments and endless memories so that your stay is always special and unique. Your wonderful compliments about our hotel, service excellence and professional staff are greatly appreciated. We would all be honored to welcome you back and create another wonderful experience here at the Comfort Inn Times Square South because everyone that stays with us is like family!

Kind regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Yes, the room was small, but it was well-designed. There was a space to place and open up our large suitcase and stow our carry-ons and even child booster seat. The location of the hotel was convenient. Very close to many subway lines. It is on the fringe of Times Square, making it very convenient, yet not incredibly hectic. My family, which included two children under 10, enjoyed this home away from home and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renaka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear renaka2,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your New York City experience and your stay with us. We would love for you to come back and experience even more.Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of the Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel your "home away from home".

Kind regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel has a great staff!! The hotel rooms are small but updated, very clean and the beds are comfortable, which I worried about before we got there. We took my daughter's baby and they were extremely helpful with any needs we had. We got there several hours before we could check in and they offered us breakfast and kept our bags so we could explore New York before check-in. If we needed an extra towel, they were at our door within minutes. This hotel is close to the Port Authority and only a couple of blocks to Times Square. The staff was helpful with directions and gave advice on places to eat. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Beth C,

We want to extend our sincerest gratitude for taking the time to share your experience and to highlight all the wonderful things you enjoyed about your stay. Thank you again for choosing the Comfort Inn Times Square South and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#211 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#340 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#344 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn
#48 of 68 in Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square South
Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing