We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unpleasant surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Ranked #271 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unpleasant surprise.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel in itself is OK. Microwave in the room was neat and nice beds. However upon arrival I had to show my credit card. I thought this was just to double-check info or charge me with a small deposit. However, when I checked my accounts the following day they had charged me almost 1000$. I found that strange, considering the stay itself was 1200$.

I asked the lady in the reception about the amount. She replied saying it was a deposit which would "break down" during our stay. It did not break down, and after one more day, I decided to talk to the reception. The same lady was working and I asked her if I could pay the whole stay and get those money they reserved on my account back. The answer was yes, when she finally understood what I meant. I was told that the almost 1000$ would be transfered back and the nights I had stayed would be charged. The two nights we had left would, like the deposit, supposedly "break down" during our stay. The deposit would be back within 1-2 days, she said.

Of course this did not happen. The last two days, the deposit changed from 911 to 991 dollars. Otherwise nothing else happened. I tried to calculate the nights they said they would charge to see if this was that amount. The numbers didn't add up.

Upon leaving, two days later, nothing had happened. When we arrived at our new hotel in Florida, I then checked my balance again. Appearently now over 1200$ had been charged in addition to the 991$. I called the hotel and tried to ask them what had happened. The lady in the reception obviously made a mistake. Instead of being understanding, the man on the phone was rude and a tad aggressive defending himself, feeling like I accused him and the hotel of swindle. I simply wanted to know what had happened and why things didn't go the way I was told. I also wanted to know why this deposit had not been given back to me. Appreantly there was a policy that it would be given back 24-48 hours after check out. He kept repeating this. I then understood that the lady the reception had not followed policy and was poorly informed. I tried talking with him about this, but then I was accused of "attacking" him. My friend sat next to me the whole time, and she thought I was way too calm considering the situation.

Of course I understand there is a policy, but then I think it's really unprofessional that the lady in the reception told me I would get the deposit back and that I could pay the stay two days before checkout. Additionally I was not told about this. Not the deposit which was almost as big as the charge of the stay itself, and not about the policy about it being transfered back after 24-48 hours. For a student with a limited budget this caused a lot of stress and economical difficulties before I got the deposit back. The lack of information and misleading information at this hotel was really poor. At a point I thought they had taken my deposit to keep...

I don't know if this is normal in America, but not in Europe. And the other hotels in America charged like.. 50$ in a deposit. Not 1000$!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuHaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest!!

I am so sorry to hear about your deplolrable experience!! I welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. If at all possible please e mail me at Timessquare.gm@comfortnyc.com or call me at 212-268 3040. Again my sincere apologies for this negative experience. I wish to make this up to you.


Kind regards,



Stephanie Gjerlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    460
    193
    64
    46
See reviews for
395
282
62
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent three nights here. Just a short walk to Times Square and theaters. We needed two rooms, one was great (for NYC) but second was so small we couldn't open our suitcase and still get by (1803). But we called the front desk and they found another. Every staff member was very accommodating and friendly the entire stay, made us feel welcome, I can't say enough about them. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but eggs, waffles, sausages and more in NYC for FREE was a major saving. Beds were good, traffic noise not bad. To save a few bucks on meals, walk west to ninth instead of east to Times Square. Port Authority just a block away, so you could arrive a variety of ways besides cab or shuttle. Oh, and the northeast corner of Port Authority has a Cake Boss (Carlo's Bakery) shop for sweet treats.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms per floor, some are larger than others. 1803 was TINY, 1801 and 1703 were just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for taking the time to write in. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay!! Please feel free to contact me directly when you are back in New York City!!

Kind regards,

Stephanie Gjerlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great Hotel, staff courteous and overall nice experience. The hotel was in a prime location in Times Square. Although the rooms are small it serves the purpose when you have a busy schedule. Great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tyra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Tyra G ,

Thank you so much for writing an updated review about your stay. We are so excited that you felt the warmth of our dedication and that we were able to make you happy once again. It is our unique pleasure to go above and beyond because it is important for us that you know that we care about you and your loyalty to us. I am grateful you allowed us the opportunity to replace your items and that you were pleased with our services and hospitality. We would be honored to welcome you back and always promise to make the most memorable and indulging experience.

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff at the Comfort Inn Times Square South is amazing. They tended to our needs promptly, professionally and courteously. Shivanna (hostess) went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. She is amazing. I would stay there again because of the attention and courtesy she provided. She is such a pleasant and accommodating hostess. She deserves a raise. The room was well cared for as well.

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you so much for the kind review and wonderful words about our team member Shivannah!!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!! It will be my pleasure to assist you directly with your reservations foing forward. I can be reached at Timessquare.gm@comfortnyc.com.

Kind regards,

Stephanie Gjerlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We reserved our room a day before we pay for a king size bed, big room. When we got the the staff at the front desk where horrible and no helpful at all. We got to our room and what they gaved us was a two bed room, very small smelled like cigarettes and not that clean.when we call from desk they said that was the las t room they had they couldn't do nothing, are you kitting me. We left and we stayed at the hubson great hotel same price, fancy, great staff and contoble I loved it. As for the comfort ill never stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

My sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I do apologize that we did not meet the standards that you were expecting. It is our hopes that you will give us another chance soon. It would be a pleasure to assist you directly next time you are in New York. I can be reached at Timessquare.gm@comfortnyc.com.

Thank you again for giving us a second chance.

Kind regards,

Stephanie Gjerlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff sucks, rooms suck, stink of cigaret beds not comfortable at all.. Don't ever think to stay at this hotel. They should fired the front desk stuff don't do nothing to satisfy or make any guess happy.. I requested for a king in non smoke area instead they gave me double beds and stink like cigarette the beds looked like if they were not done right and the bathroom smelled weird.. The rate for this hotel is a 2 out 10.. Defensively sucks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Diego A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Let me start by personally apologizing to you. Our staff always try to go above and beyond each and every time. We clearly fell short in your case. I would love the opportunity to make it up to you on a return visit!

Please feel free to call me directly at the hotel or e mail me next time you are in New York. My e mail address is Timessquare.gm at Comfortnyc.com.

Kind regards,

Stephanie Gjerlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Took my kids to NYC for a night over February break. Wanted a budget hotel near Times Square and this place fit the bill. Staff was very friendly and helpful. But the building is kinda run down and our third floor room was very cramped. The room lacked room darkening shades/curtains and a spotlight from across the street kept our front-facing room well lit all night, which might bother some. Plus the shower curtain was too short which led to a wet bathroom and the room's space heater had a broken knob..........

So-- the staff of the hotel should be commended for their good service and the Comfort Inn brass should invest in some upgrades.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Mr. Avon!

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to us!! Myself and Maybellyn, our Executive housekeeper have gone to your room to make sure that all is in working order. All of the staff try to go above and beyond and I do hope that on future stays in New York City, you will make this your home away from home!!

It would be my pleasure to assist you personally going forward and I can be reached at Timessquare.gm@comfortnyc.com.

Kind regards,

Stephanie Gjerlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#254 of 468 in New York City
975 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,361 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#312 of 468 in New York City
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#185 of 468 in New York City
564 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#268 of 468 in New York City
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square South
Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing