We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges
Ranked #8 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Firstly, Bubba & Bean not a typical serviced apartment or hotel. The rooms, carved into an old but refurbished townhouse in East Harlem are clean and serviced every other day with fresh towels and other goodies which made it very comfortable. There's no check in desk but the posted number near the door is always answered or returned quickly.

Secondly, you're way uptown here, with the closest subway not even 5 mins walk away at 101st. The neighbourhood is friendly and varied with taxis easy to catch, great shops a block or so away and Central Park not far off. The laundry downstairs is well priced and excellent. You need to plan your day if you're downtown a lot since it's a long train ride there and back, but we liked the separation and - when we felt lazy - a cab from the East Village only comes to about $15. Not bad!

Thirdly, your hosts Jonathan & Clement, along with Victor, are helpful to a fault, fixing anything that needs attention, make sure you get mail delivered to your room and that you get the to the airport on time. Perfect when you're hungover from the night before an early flight away.

Great value and comfortable, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 4 is quiet and has a small outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jctomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    55
    9
    0
    9
See reviews for
79
87
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Jonathan & Clement went out of their way to assist with any queries prior to arriving and whilst we stayed. Great spot close to the Subway, great pizza next door, laundry next door cheap and efficient, great pharmacy and easy to catch a cab, really Central to come home to, felt like we lived in Nee York, great couple of weeks can't wait to come back, NYC rocks

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at Bubba and Bean Lodges for 6 nights. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome by the owners. Our studio appartment was so clean and very comfortable. Our room was at the back of the building and was very peaceful. The welcome basket with coffee, biscuits, fruit, sweets etc was very thoughtful and much enjoyed by us. This address is in Harlem and only minutes from the subway. Locally we enjoyed breakfast in the East Harlem Cafe and dinner a couple of times in the excellent Italian restaurant just two doors away. We loved the feel of a 'real neighbourhood' and found people very friendly. Overall, we had a fabulous trip to New York and after a long day out, Bubba and Bean felt like coming home at night. In addition, it is only minutes from an entrance to Central Park on foot. Loved this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 12, which is at the back of the building and lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhayes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Bubba and Bean BB is located in a small townhouse (6 rooms). We travelled with our kids and booked a room for four. The room was smaller than I expected. There was no place to sit after a busy day in the city. It would have been nice if there was a small couch so we didn't have to sit on the bed. The room was clean and the beds were fine.
We didn't meet the owners. When we arrived Victor was there to meet us, after arrival we haven't seen him again or one of the owners.
On the last morning there was nobody to check us out. We knocked on the door many times, sent text messages an called. We decided to lock the door and we left. I think that was not really friendly especially because they knew our flightschedule.
We liked the neighbourhood. The Italian restaurant is great! I didn't feel unsafe for a moment. The subway is a 5 minutes walk and central park is also very close by.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Manon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed in this apartment twice during our recent visit to the east Coast USA. Looks can be deceptive as from the outside it doesn't look much, however on entering the 1st floor apartment there was heaps of room for extra luggage. Jonathon & Clement were both helpful & leave a list of places to see, restaurants & museums + subway info. Their maintenance man Victor was extremely helpful & did things for us whilst the guys were away on weekend vacation. We learnt that when catching the subway downtown to use 103rd street station, only 5 minute walk. Also if in New York & using subway buy a $31 pass as it lasts 7 days. I would stay here again if visiting again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked B&B Lodges following a friend's recommendation as we were looking for a non-hotel place with a personal service. I feel really torn about this place.

We were welcomed by Jonathan who was reachable and helpful throughout our stay (3 nights) and throughout the booking process. They make a big effort (and succeed) to make the lodge look good and the building positively stands out in the neighbourhood. Rooms are very spacious, clean and well furnished. We had a room facing Lexington Avenue which was quieter than expected.

However found the location very odd; it is definitely not a tourist place. It is probably a safe neighbourhood but it just does not feel safe at night to someone who is not local.
Even though there is the subway and there a buses, you need to be aware that going to sights (apart from the big museums) always involves a commute.

It is certainly great value for money. So if you are looking for a good budget accomodation and the location is not an issue for you, this may be the place for you.

If you are looking for a personal place in a nice neighborhood with some nice coffee shops and restaurants and you are willing to spend more, you may wish to explore other options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClGrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My family ( husband and two adult children ) stayed at Bubba and Bean recently and were incredibly happy with our stay. There were many reasons for this ! Not only was it outstanding value considering the location which was very accessible everywhere by train and taxi but it was well appointed, quiet, had a wonderful small kitchenette ( well equipped) which we used mainly for breakfast as there were many varied and fabulous restaurants suitable to any budget which were very close by!! The free wifi worked very well and the laundry service next door was very convenient!!! We came here during one of the coldest winters that New York has experienced in quite a while and I must say we were always very happy to walk back into a comfortingly warm apartment!!
And most of all Jonathan and Clement were positively brilliant hosts from the very first correspondence till our departure. Not only were they welcoming and accommodating but we felt part 'of the family' that is their two beautiful dogs, Bubba and Bean!!
We had the two bedroom apartment which was on the bottom floor and our relatives which were travelling with us ( brother and sister- in- law ) had the top floor one bedroom studio which was also brilliant. It was their second stay here and they were just as impressed as the first time!! We are planning a return trip to New York and will definitely stay with Jonathan and Clement again and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants excellent value for money! Thank you to the Bubba and Bean Family !!!!
Lizzie and Martyn

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#261 of 468 in New York City
728 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 468 in New York City
4,808 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 468 in New York City
3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#192 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges

Property: Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges
Address: 1598 Lexington Ave, (Between 101 & 102 street), New York City, NY 10029-6150
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bubba And Bean (Bb) Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing