We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place for our family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges
Save
You added Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 81 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great place for our family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenages stayed 7nights in early May. We found it a great place to stay, suited our needs and close to the subway. A welcome respite at the end of each busy day. Definately recommend Bubba and Bean. We felt totally safe at all times coming home after a long day sightseeing or shopping in the vast array of stores in NY. Weather was perfect and at times too hot! We used both the 96th St & 103rd St subway station on the 6 line to head downtown and home again.We were made to feel welcome and left alone to do our own thing.
We plan to come back to NY again soon....there is so much to do and see. Will we stay at Bubba & Bean's again - most definitely!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kiwigolfer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    54
    10
    0
    9
See reviews for
73
85
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights over Christmas and this was an oasis in the chaos of the Christmas New Year period in New York.
This was our first visit to New York, and we were made to feel so welcome front he moment we arrived. After a difficult sleepless overnight flight from Honolulu it was so nice to arrive at 7 am and discover Clement waiting for us. We were so surprised to find that we could check in straight away, and then arrived in our cosy room to a welcome basket full of goodies and info on the local area.
Clement was a wealth of information, and there is so much to see within walking distance.
Having the subway close by was a godsend and after buying metro cards the first day we had no trouble getting anywhere we needed to.
It was great to be away from the whole Times Square downtown area, and felt like we were living in a local neighbourhood rather than just being a visitor in a big impersonal hotel.
Jonathan and Clement are the perfect hosts and Bubba and Bean are just too cute.
I would definitely stay here again if I ever get the opportunity to return to New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in February with our two teenage children. Lovely quaint place. We had a large family sized room, full kitchen facilities, large fridge, sep bathroom which was small but clean and still managed with the 4 of us. Ample storage in the apartment. We booked online after a work colleague recommended it. Enjoyed our stay and was nice to be in the Upper East side after a weeks stay in midtown. Got to experience a more truer New York way of life. The hosts Jonathan and Clement were great to deal with whilst we exchanged emails and their details about catching taxis, restaurants, shops in the area etc was fantastic, thanks so much guys. They very kindly booked a taxi for our very early morning departure as well. Would definitely stay again, so close to subway and easy walk to loads of other things as well.

Room Tip: We had the front room overlooking Lexington Ave but did not find the noise to be bad. I think the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peron, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed twice at Bubba and Bean over two weekends in February, Our first room was upstairs with an attractive balcony. Bigroom adequate kitchen and storage,

Good service when we asked for an additional pillow. Easy access with some parking around.

Great location in Spanish Harlem with easy walk to restaurants, take out etc,

Very pleasant will stay again if they have rooms.

Room Tip: Upstairs room at back has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stumbled upon Bubba & Bean on Tripadvisor as we searched for a self-contained bedsit. It more than delivered. Situated in the Upper East Side, it's close to the museum mile and far enough from Spanish Harlem to feel secure. It's half way between 96th and 102nd subway stations, close to Subway, Starbucks and a few bars, restaurants and markets, though the area is lacking in nightlife - possibly a good thing if you're in NY for business or relaxation.
The room was large, well heated and had all the comforts of home - even a welcome basket, particularly welcome after a long flight and arriving late at night. It included free Wi-Fi (with a decent speed), cable and a kitchenette.
The hosts Jonathan and Clement were around when needed and contactable, but otherwise left us to our own devices.
If you're looking for a place to base yourself for a week or more, you'd be hard pressed to find a nicer property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berniegerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in Bubba and Bean for two weeks in January 2013. The room was clean and well equipped. It was serviced regularly, had free wifi and great heating. It's within easy walking distance of a subway station and we walked to the Guggenheim, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. We were at the back of the building which was quiet and away from the Lexington Ave traffic noise. It was a pleasure to come home to each night, really feeling like a home away from home. The only disadvantage might be the thirty-three steep steps to the top floor. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiJay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berridale
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Thank goodness for Bubba & Bean - this place was perfect for my sister and I to stay for our first trip to New York.

A very safe neighbourhood that has everything that you could need - Starbucks, grocery stores, pharmacies and great food places all around NOT to mention the bus and subway stops being so close to you.

Our room was fantastic and the welcome basket was a perfect after our longhaul flight from Australia.

The room was spacious, clean and very quiet during our entire stay (#10) - we didnt have to ask for anything and an added bonus was clean towels and made beds every other day! This really made us feel like we were staying in a hotel not a BnB!

Jonathan and Clement are on site and only a phone call away if you need them - the housekeeper is on site everyday and extremely polite and helpful.

The location is in easy walking distance to Central Park and the subway ride to Grand Central Station is only about 10minutes - the subway system is very safe - we never felt unsafe day or night.

We would stay here again - everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie1977Berridale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,341 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#382 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#15 of 81 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#10 of 81 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges

Property: Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges
Address: 1598 Lexington Ave, (Between 101 & 102 street), New York City, NY 10029-6150
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bubba And Bean (Bb) Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing