We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy apartment, close to amenities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges
Ranked #7 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in February with our two teenage children. Lovely quaint place. We had a large family sized room, full kitchen facilities, large fridge, sep bathroom which was small but clean and still managed with the 4 of us. Ample storage in the apartment. We booked online after a work colleague recommended it. Enjoyed our stay and was nice to be in the Upper East side after a weeks stay in midtown. Got to experience a more truer New York way of life. The hosts Jonathan and Clement were great to deal with whilst we exchanged emails and their details about catching taxis, restaurants, shops in the area etc was fantastic, thanks so much guys. They very kindly booked a taxi for our very early morning departure as well. Would definitely stay again, so close to subway and easy walk to loads of other things as well.

Room Tip: We had the front room overlooking Lexington Ave but did not find the noise to be bad. I think the e...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 250 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed twice at Bubba and Bean over two weekends in February, Our first room was upstairs with an attractive balcony. Bigroom adequate kitchen and storage,

Good service when we asked for an additional pillow. Easy access with some parking around.

Great location in Spanish Harlem with easy walk to restaurants, take out etc,

Very pleasant will stay again if they have rooms.

Room Tip: Upstairs room at back has a balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stumbled upon Bubba & Bean on Tripadvisor as we searched for a self-contained bedsit. It more than delivered. Situated in the Upper East Side, it's close to the museum mile and far enough from Spanish Harlem to feel secure. It's half way between 96th and 102nd subway stations, close to Subway, Starbucks and a few bars, restaurants and markets, though the area is lacking in nightlife - possibly a good thing if you're in NY for business or relaxation.
The room was large, well heated and had all the comforts of home - even a welcome basket, particularly welcome after a long flight and arriving late at night. It included free Wi-Fi (with a decent speed), cable and a kitchenette.
The hosts Jonathan and Clement were around when needed and contactable, but otherwise left us to our own devices.
If you're looking for a place to base yourself for a week or more, you'd be hard pressed to find a nicer property.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berniegerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in Bubba and Bean for two weeks in January 2013. The room was clean and well equipped. It was serviced regularly, had free wifi and great heating. It's within easy walking distance of a subway station and we walked to the Guggenheim, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. We were at the back of the building which was quiet and away from the Lexington Ave traffic noise. It was a pleasure to come home to each night, really feeling like a home away from home. The only disadvantage might be the thirty-three steep steps to the top floor. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiJay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Thank goodness for Bubba & Bean - this place was perfect for my sister and I to stay for our first trip to New York.

A very safe neighbourhood that has everything that you could need - Starbucks, grocery stores, pharmacies and great food places all around NOT to mention the bus and subway stops being so close to you.

Our room was fantastic and the welcome basket was a perfect after our longhaul flight from Australia.

The room was spacious, clean and very quiet during our entire stay (#10) - we didnt have to ask for anything and an added bonus was clean towels and made beds every other day! This really made us feel like we were staying in a hotel not a BnB!

Jonathan and Clement are on site and only a phone call away if you need them - the housekeeper is on site everyday and extremely polite and helpful.

The location is in easy walking distance to Central Park and the subway ride to Grand Central Station is only about 10minutes - the subway system is very safe - we never felt unsafe day or night.

We would stay here again - everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annie1977Berridale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at B&B with our two children for one week in the beginning of December 2012. We came over from Iceland to see Rolling Stones perform in New York and we were looking for some nice hotel but saw this stay while we were browsing in the internet. We had this feeling that we had to give it a try to stay in B&B. And you know what, we will be back. The room was very clean and the service and hospitality from Jonathan and Clement was excellent. We will stay again in B&B the next time we visit NYC. The location is also very good. It seems very safe neighbourhood and only 1 minute walk to the next subway station which takes you to Grand central station in only 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fridberteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We wanted to go to NYC before Christmas and had sticker shock with the prices and almost decided not to go. Something made us check out B & Bs and were we ever glad we did. Stumbled upon a great place to stay. Hosts are very personable but not intrusive at all. Not your typical B & B because each room has their own kitchentte. Ours was supplied with a nice basket of snacks, coffee and tea. Barely knew anyone else was staying in the townhouse, it was so quiet. Really nice to be away from the business of the 'city' and in more of a neighborhood. Easy to access any and everything you need. Parking is available nearby for a reasonable fee. Would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#221 of 468 in New York City
767 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#169 of 468 in New York City
890 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#72 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#23 of 78 in New York City
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubba and Bean (BB) Lodges

Address: 1598 Lexington Ave, (Between 101 & 102 street), New York City, NY 10029-6150
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bubba And Bean (Bb) Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing