We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Exquisite”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

From the moment I walked in the building everyone was extremely accomodating. My flight came in early, so I was worried about checking into my room. As I entered the lobby/check in area, a very sweet blonde lady helped me with my reservation. She was fast, had a great attitude, and she upgraded my room.
When I got to my room, everything was extremely clean, the shower was amazing. The bed was perfect. I had absolutley everything I needed. The mini bar was fully stocked. Room service was fast and food was wonderful.
As I checked out the next morning, again I saw the same lady. Again, everything was great and I headed to the airport.
My stay at the Empire Hotel, was wonderful. The surrounding area had some great restaraunts !!!.

Thank You

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,867
    1,786
    1,134
    614
    394
See reviews for
1,344
1,861
352
1,028
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The hotel was absolutely beautiful and really loved staying there. So looking forward to going back when the roof top pool is open in the spring. Definitely recommnend this hotel. Great location and wonderful staff as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly91501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This nicely-located hotel looks very stylish and seemed like it would be a good spot for us to crash after being in NYC for a baby shower one weekend. However, our room on the 10th floor (which is 2 floors below the rooftop nightclub) was vibrating from the bass beat of the club until 4am. I got no sleep. Upon calling the front desk to see if we could get a room change the night manager Erik told me they were sold out but he would call the club to ask them to turn down the volume and send up a pair of earplugs. Really? of course the club did not adjust the volume at all, and the earplugs never arrived. Also, our bathroom was laughably small. It literally fit a walk-in shower, commode, and tiny sink that was facing a wall - you could not stand in front of the sink as there was only about 3 inches between the front of the sink and the wall. You have to stand in front of the toilet and lean over in order to see yourself in the mirror. Makes it difficult to do hair or makeup. Lastly, teh room was too hot. It is Feb and we had to turn the AC on high all night, which resulted in a tolerable temperature, but not even cool. We had relatives staying in a double room on the 8th floor, and while they couldn't hear the club from that floor, their room was also a toaster.

Bottom line is this is not a hotel that worries about its guests returning by providing good customer service. If you do choose to stay here, I hope you are either planning on club-hopping until the wee hours or manage to snag a lower-floor room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frqnttrvlr024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
clark, nj
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I needed a quick getaway with my wife, and booked a "4 star hotel in the central park area" on Hotwire, not knowing what I would get. The service was excellent; the room beautiful and very clean; the staff accomodating in every way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayClark_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Mike, Daniel and Jose set the tone for the hotel at the front door. We expected help with luggage and doors opened but they went the extra mile. Arriving, we were greeted with 'welcome to the Empire Hotel'. Each morning, we were greeted with a 'good morning' plus 'is there anything I can do for you this morning'. Each afternoon or night, we were greeted with 'welcome back, did you have a good day?' We began smiling when approaching them because we knew one or all would be there. Then there was the front desk. Mariana, Gabriel and Sean (the manager) were helpful in resolving our difficulties and in helping us with directions. We had problems with the heat and the water temperature in the shower. They were always gracious. We had a chance to experience the bar area. The bartenders, Mike and Frank, made drinks we requested although they had never made them before. They stopped by to see if we were enjoying them and to ask if there was anything that would improve the drink. Our waitress, I believe you spell her name, Nyahale, was a jewel. She recommended a light supper for us based on selective questioning and served us as honored guests. This hotel will be my hotel of choice on my next trip to New York City.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Fun vibe, friendly staff. Great place to stay especially if you need or want to be by Lincoln Center.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I have stayed here in the past... small but ok... This last visit I discovered that that the rooms have not been maintained.... shotty showers, bar not refilled, A/C grills dented. This last time, I had a City view and the room was a challenge to move about in(by myself).... the bathroom was beyond tiny(I'm a 5'6 women/size 2), no vanity and I had to put a towel down in the sink in order to have a place to set my make-up etc...Called the spa and heard women yelling abt appts etc(joke and hung up) .Third and last time....

Pros... great lounge feel when you enter and location is central... Starbucks, Rosa Mexicana and PJClarks's around the corner...

Don't stay here and you can leave your Xanax at home!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOTSPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,699 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,900 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing