We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY visit”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #343 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 17, 2014

As I mentioned on the previous page the only issue I have to mention is the overwhelming humidity in bathrooms! True there is a confined but there is no ventilation whatsoever! There is no shower door and the floor gets wet. No ceiling fans anywhere to help with the steam and humidity. The cloths on hangers get dumped. Sad to mention these issues when the rest of the service was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Felicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Felicia T,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page. We are very sorry about the lack of ventilation in the bathrooms. We are aware of this challenge and unfortunately when this building was erected over 100 years ago, ventilation was not a priority.

We are thrilled to hear that other than the ventilation, everything else was great! We strive to provide impeccable service to all guests, and are happy that this came to fruition with yourself.

We look forward to your next stay with us and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if there is anything we can assist with.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,157)
There are newer reviews for Empire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,442 of 6,158 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Empire is at a perfect location. It is easy to get a cab. The doormen are extremely helpful as are all staff. There is an excellent dining room and lobby bar. Being away from the hectic activity of Times Square and the ease of getting a taxi or driver makes the Empire feel like home in NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Janis T,

Thanks so much for your recent stay with us and for having such kind words to share about your experience, on our Trip Advisor page.

Thank you as well for specifically mentioning the Doormen, Ed's Chowder House and the Lobby Bar. These three areas are great features of the hotel, especially from a service perspective. We as well think we have a great location, being away from the hectic Times Square, but also within walking distance if and when the desire surfaces to visit. We are in the immediate vicinity of Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle and Central Park which all happen to be more relaxing choices!

We do hope that The Empire Hotel becomes your home away from home. If we can assist with anything when planning your next trip to NYC, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Thanks again and all the best!

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We needed to be close to Lincoln Center and this hotel couldn't get any closer. The location was great. The movie theater is near by, Central Park and great restaurants. Our room was a superior room which was very quiet. We asked for a quiet room. The bar was good and the service also. Would recommend this hotel and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room it is worth it and high floor and a quiet room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello LAXbuzz,

Thank you so much for choosing The Empire Hotel and we're glad to hear and see that you had a very good experience with us. Quiet, comfort and civility are great characteristics of a hotel stay and we're glad that this was the case with your visit.

The location of The Empire Hotel cannot be beat if you enjoy the arts at Lincoln Center, the serene Central Park or the swanky Shops at Columbus Circle.

We do hope and trust a return visit to New York and The Empire Hotel is in your deck of cards and should you need any assistance with reservations, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good service and friendly people. Would go back for another stay. Close to a lot of attractions and nightlife. Good price for the rooms. Would recommend to friends and book another trip for the future.






  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Christopher C,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your great experience on our Trip Advisor page!

We do offer many options for guest entertainment; whether it be the Lobby Bar, Pool Deck, Rooftop Night Club and/or Ed's Chowder House! Simply put, there is not much reason to leave the hotel, but we well know what this great city has to offer, right outside our doors!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel in the future. Should you need any assistance, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com, as we would be glad to assist.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We chose the Empire because it's within walking distance of the ABC television studios. We were in NYC for a taping of The Chew. In addition to a wonderful location, the hotel offers terrific service and a hip atmosphere. We were upgraded to a junior suite upon check-in. We went to view the the rooftop pool, but couldn't take advantage of it because of poor weather. Loved the lobby lounge! Shout out to Pasquale who was particularly helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. The only downside is that the hotel does not offer free coffee in its rooms. I hope they will rethink this policy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello SLM0131,

Thank you for choosing The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on our Trip Advisor page! Pasquale felt very rewarded when he saw his name on your review, and we thank you for specifically mentioning him.

Sorry that you were not able to enjoy the fabulous Pool Desk due to inclement weather, perhaps the next time you're in the city, the weather with cooperate. The Lobby Bar is a great back up plan and offers great beats and delicious cocktails, regardless of what is happening outside.

We do hope and trust that The Empire Hotel will be included in your next trip to New York City. If there is anything we can do to assist, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We found the truth to be somewhere between the good and bad below. Terrific location for subway connections yet relatively peaceful surroundings. The place suffers from too much use, peeling wallpaper, scuffed paintwork and worn lifts and air conditioning. I know that the lifts are safe - don't anyone worry on that score - they don't sound it though.
A closer look showed that everything was very clean - it didn't look it though.
The staff were very helpful no buts there. And the neighbourhood is great with cheap food on the doorstep - we both ate breakfast of two bacon buns with two decaffs for a little under $10 dollars.
More light and brighter colours would transform the first impressions so we won't return when we next visit unless we read of such a transformation - good luck with that. On those grounds we'd have another go.
The AC noise we had came from our own unit not the one outside.

Room Tip: We had an inner room that was darkened by surrounding walls. Something facing outward would be bette...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefiremon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Thefiremon,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We are sorry to hear about your sub-par experience and that we will not be receiving a recommendation from you.

You will be interested to know that we are in the planning stages or our next guest room renovation, this is scheduled to begin later this year and go into 2015. This obviously will address the condition concerns that you mention in your review. It is likely however, the colors will not get any brighter from a decor perspective.

Thank you for pointing out some positive aspects of your stay including cleanliness and location, we do appreciate that. Feel free to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and we'd be happy to provide the latest updates on our upcoming renovation, so you can eventually plan a return visit to The Empire Hotel.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Another stay at the Empire and same as last time: no improvement. The air conditioning does not work. The shower drenches the bathroom floor. Dreary, dark décor. Wallpaper peeling off the wall. The room is dark. Water is $7.50 per bottle. Go somewhere else for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Julia R,

Thank you for your return visit to The Empire Hotel, however we are truly sorry that your most recent experience was not any better that your prior experience. We endeavor to fully recover from disappointed guests during their stay, I am sorry that we did not have this opportunity with you.

We are currently planning a guest room renovation for later this year and this will address the condition concerns that you mentioned in your review. In the meantime, our maintenance team is facilitating repairs to the best of their ability.

I invite you to email us occasionally to obtain updates on our renovation schedule. I am confident that once the renovation is completed, your Empire experience will be renewed! We can be reached at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Thank you and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,249 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#352 of 468 in New York City
4,357 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#389 of 468 in New York City
6,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 468 in New York City
3,685 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#76 of 468 in New York City
3,589 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#310 of 468 in New York City
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing