We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous NYC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #312 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Fabulous NYC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice rooms -- we upgraded to a deluxe. Best shower ever! Lobby was great. Got coffee next door at SB, met the rest of the party in the lobby. Rooftop bar with a fantastic view. Then we found the beautiful bar and restaurant at Ed's Chowder House right in the hotel. Staff was great everywhere in the hotel.

Convenient to subway and Central Park. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kerry M,

Thank you for the great comments in your review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed the comfort of your room and all of the amenities and outlets of our hotel met your expectations. As you know, our hotel offers a phenomenal location steps away from Central Park in the middle of Lincoln Center. If you have chance to return before the end of the Summer, be sure to visit our Pool Deck. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a cocktail while catching some rays. Thank you for choosing The Empire Hotel.


Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,828
    1,752
    1,118
    606
    389
See reviews for
1,313
1,838
342
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

As fans of the TV show Gossip Girl, we decided to treat ourselves to a stay at The Empire where many scenes of the show were filmed for or our first visit to New York. When we arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon our room was still not ready so we sat around in the lobby for a while. When we eventually got the keys to the room to our disappointment the room was small and had a few flaws. The bed was made with sheets that had holes in them and the doona cover consisted of two flats sheets – one above and one below the doona, the aircon barely worked, one of the shower doors was missing and the fittings in the bathroom were falling out of the wall. The hallways in the hotel on our floor smelt strongly of marijuana and given what we had paid for the room per night this is not exactly what we expected to get. As for location the hotel is two blocks away from Central Park and about 10mins walk to Columbus Circle. My partner had also been in contact with the concierge to arrange for some of my favourite flowers to be in the room as a surprise when we arrived. The flowers weren’t there, he was told that the peonies were out of season and had to choose something else but after wandering around NYC, all of the florists were still stocking peonies… All in all the only great thing about this hotel is probably its location and rooftop bar and pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundtheworldin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear roundtheworldin2013,

Thank you for the detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We take our guests’ feedback seriously and use it to improve the product and service that we offer. I sent you a private message so that we can identify the room number and address the reported room deficiencies accordingly. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I am glad that overall you did enjoy your stay with us. I hope that you will return as I am confident your next stay will be a great one. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I wasn't happy with the first room we had and was moved without issue to another, slightly bigger one. The Junior Suite was perfect for my, my wife and baby in a crib. As a base, you can't get a better location at the price with the luxury of a pool for after a hot day walking around town.

Room Tip: Corner Junior Suites are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewanmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Clean, nice kingsize beds, lovely roof-terras and situated in a beautiful & safe surrunding close to everything.
No closet for your clothes, had to stay in the suitcase the Whole week.
Not isolated, you heard the street, the guests next to you and in the hall...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vivian Østerlun... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great hotel in a very good location - just one block from the subway with a direct line into Times Square. Lovely décor and the rooms are spacious for New York.
Short walk to Central Park, cafes, bars, Lincoln Centre. Pleasant roof top bar. Overall a good base for a city break!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter with less road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Dawn046,

Thank you for the great comments in your review on Trip Advisor. It’s great to see that the location of the hotel and décor and size of your room met your expectations. I appreciate the tip in your comments and am sure other travelers will find it useful when making a reservation with us. We appreciate the great feedback and will be sure to share with our team. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Empire Hotel this past weekend. Nicole Agnello, the assistant director of front office, was great getting us anything and everything we needed. From extra towels, to champagne on ice - she made sure we were totally taken care of. The hotel also has a beautiful rooftop bar and pool area that has extraordinary views of the Upper West Side, which was a very nice accompaniment to the excellent cocktails served at the bars. Thank you, Nicole, for your incredible assistance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The location for the Empire hotel is perfect! I stayed the weekend of the 9th and had a very comfortable stay. The rooftop pool deck is where it's at! The View is great and as far as the staff up there goes ... AMAZING. Thanks especially to Michael the manager to make sure me and the few people i was with feel welcome and made sure we were taken care of. Thanks Michael !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Marisa D,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our prime location of our Pool Deck and the service of our friendly staff. I will be sure to share your review with Michael and the Pool Deck team. We cannot wait to have you back! If you ever need a contact at The Empire Hotel, I can be reached at gm@empirehotelnyc.com. The Summer Season is ending soon but there is still a chance to enjoy a cocktail and catch some sun before our Pool Deck closes for the season.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,527 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#384 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing