We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four star standard”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #329 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not four star standard”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked a superior room for 4 nights. If this was a superior room I dread to think what an ordinary room was like. The room was small and only a shower in the bathroom. There were holes in one of the duvet covers and the linings to the curtains were also full of holes. There was mold on the walls at the bottom of the window. The only hanging space for clothes was a curtained alcove less than 3 feet wide and this also housed the safe and minibar, 6 hangers were provided for 2 of us. There was a gap at the base of the toilet pan causing it to rock back and forth on the floor clattering against the cistern and there was always a pool of water ? on the floor beside it. There were no bathrobes in our room as someone else has said. The swimming pool is closed until May. We asked to stay in our room for 1 hour later than our check out time and were told it would cost an extra $75 plus taxes.
We also were given a bottle of cheap wine when we complained.
We loved New York but were unfortunate in our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Seems a good room is a lottery. We had a first floor room for one night, traffic going over manhole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear MoB22,

Thank you for the detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We take our guest’s feedback seriously and will use your comments in an effort to learn from your experience and make necessary improvements to our operation. If you should ever need assistance at The Empire or would like to discuss your experience further, please contact me directly at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future as I am confident your next stay will be a great one.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    1,828
    1,166
    650
    435
See reviews for
1,409
1,913
366
1,066
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I like this place. Got a great deal ($250) but should have waited until the day of because it dropped to $199. RIGHT across the street from Lincoln Center and Juliard. A little frayed around the edges but a great overall value. A Starbucks is right around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was visiting friends in NYC over St. Patrick's Day weekend and we decided to stop in to the bar at Empire Hotel. The atmosphere was a nice change of pace. Quiet, Calming with plenty of places to sit and actually talk and catch up, but with a definite air of sophistication. The bar manager, Michael, came over and actually talked with us and gave us tips on other places we could go to throughout the weekend. He even went to the bar for us to order our second round! Overall, even though we were only there for about an hour it was a great experience and a place my friends and I will return to next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Kelly T,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lobby Bar of The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is awesome to hear that the ambiance of the bar and service our staff met your expectations. Thank you as well for mentioning, Food and Beverage Manager, Michael in your review. He is a great ambassador of service for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel Soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently visited the lobby bar at the empire hotel and would like to give Kudos to their bar manager Michael. Excellent customer service, friendly atmosphere and awesome all around experience. Will gladly refer friends and family to stop in a visit when in the big city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've just come back from 4 days holiday in New York and found The Empire very good. We wanted somewhere close to Central Park, which is just a couple of blocks away and walking distance to Times Sq area [we're good walkers, though!].
At first we thought the room small, but turned out to be perfectly adequate as we weren't in the hotel that much, but out and about. Bed was very comfortable and robes supplied - nice touch.
Problem with the sink blocked on arrival, but fixed straight away. Staff and concierge more than helpful throughout.
New Yorkers very helpful too! Buses great way to get around up and down the avenues, but they don't take notes, only coins or MetroPass. We didn't know this at first and did not have enough in coins, so this guy saw our problem, gave us his metro pass to swipe in the bus machine and we just gave him the notes instead. (You can buy MetroPass at any subway station).
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Kevin_Abrook,

Thank you for the detailed feedback from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay the location of the hotel and comfortable bed and robes met your expectations. Our Pool Deck opens in a few weeks. It is the perfect place to enjoy an evening cocktail and take in the views of Lincoln Center while catching some summer sun. We hope to see you there. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed last week for 1 night... The Junior Suite we stayed in was the perfect size. The service was top notch. Quick check ins, fresh smelling room, great help with hailing a cab - The staff makes the stay extremely convenient - that why I love staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I came to NYC for the weekend, we had never been and were very excited to stay at The Empire. Unfortunately that excitement quickly faded once we got to the hotel. We had a bit of unexpected business to attend to and needed to use their computer/fax room. We scanned a handful of documents to email and apparently the scanner was broken. When we went to the desk the employee simply said "Oh yeah, it's broken." She faxed our documents for us and said the manager would refund us the $15. When we checkd back at the desk, a different employee informed us the girl was wrong. They sent a bottle of wine that cost less than what we paid to scan our papers.

The following night we needed a bucket of ice sent up. We waited over an hour for ice. Over an hour. I called the desk twice, and finally called room service and they said they never got the order for ice. 15 minutes later, we had ice.

Not only is there a never ending lack of communication and the blame game, but listening to their employees talk about their life's drama at ever turn is quite ridiculous. My biggest peeve of the entire stay was how dirty the rooms were. The carpeting in our room, under the desks and tables, had clearly not been vacuumed. There was a good 1/4" dust under them. The bathroom doors were stained with god knows what.

At checkout we were asked how our stay was,new responded with "not nearly as good as whAt we were hoping for". The girl at the desk gave us a half hearted apology and left it at that.

Unprofessional. Dirty. Quite frankly not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Gordana S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am disappointed and concerned to hear of your negative experience. It is certainly not indicative of the service our staff strives to provide our guests. Please contact me directly at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to regain your confidence and trust in The Empire Hotel.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 466 in New York City
4,963 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 466 in New York City
3,607 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 466 in New York City
6,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#351 of 466 in New York City
4,247 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 466 in New York City
5,055 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 466 in New York City
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing