We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Empire Hotel - a NYC favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #312 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Empire Hotel - a NYC favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Empire before but haven't for a few years, and upon a recent return for a work trip to New York I could not have been met with a nicer, more accommodating and helpful team, especially Maggie (thank you!) who went out of her way to help with some arrangements. The location is perfect - opposite Lincoln Center, near the Columbus Circle Metro, and two minutes from Central Park. Starbucks is just next door for the much-needed morning coffee fix. The room was spacious - especially for NYC - very well-appointed, quiet and extremely comfortable. Very good value for the money, which in Manhattan is not easy to come by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iame_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear iame_london,

Thank for the great comments in your review. I will be sure to share your feedback with Maggie and the front office team. They love to hear recognition from our guests. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    1,752
    1,117
    605
    389
See reviews for
1,312
1,837
342
1,005
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a virgin to New York City me and my friend choose this hotel for the looks more then anything , but have to say very well done to me as the hotel was so central to Times Square and everything else. It was very clean wen we arrived at near 9pm room was clean fresh and very much like the picture. All the staff at the hotel was very much helpful and the front door staff also very help. Have to sat didn't get to check out the pool roof top due the weather but after the rest of the hotel I'm sure just as nice ad the hotel. Would defo tell people to defo stay here and can't wait to go back in the summer as this hotel made me feel like home away frm home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carameljeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Carameljeanie,

Thank you for the great comments from your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. It is awesome that you chose The Empire for your first visit to New York. I am glad you enjoyed your clean and comfortable room and had a chance to meet our friendly staff. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the summer when our Pool Deck will be in full swing!

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The good: the staff, the beds, the lobby and bar, the bathroom products (L'Occitane) the LOCATION!!! The bad: regular rooms have no coffee maker, no free wi-fi and there is no ice machine in the hallways (you have to call for it). The worst: the bathroom is so very small...it was incredibly difficult to dry hair, put on make-up, etc as there is NO counter at all. Things constantly fell on the floor, or you have to balance it on the back of the toilet. If you are going to Lincoln Center, you can't beat it. Great conveniences on the same block as well (starbucks, duane Reade, restaurants). The windows also open a bit, and it was pretty quiet on the 8th floor. They are currently doing construction out front to the small greenspace, so there are some barricades, etc up. I would stay here again for Lincoln Center.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you for the detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We take our guests’ feedback seriously and use it to improve the product and service that we offer. Our staff is ready and willing to help with any request during your stay with us. Also, wifi is always complimentary in our Lobby Bar and any of our public spaces or outlets. We have various room options with different layouts all designed to meet the specific needs of our guests. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire, so that you may experience a different room option that we offer. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a very good experience staying at Empire Hotel. The location is unbeatable. The Chowder served the best food. The staff were very courteous and helpful particularly Reception and Concierge. Michelene and her colleagues deserve special commendation

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shubailat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and my Boyfriend have just returned from New York after a 4 night stay in the Empire Hotel. We've had such a wonderful time, words don't begin to explain. Special thanks to Chris the Concierge guy who gave us very detailed directions to some of the best places for breakfast each morning, ways to the sights we wanted to see and not to mention fabulous Lalos for cheesecakes. Nothing was too much trouble at all for this guy. The hotel was amazingly clean, modern and classy. Only thing I have to say is some of the Americans' are very rude, which didn't come as much of a surprise. Be prepared to be made to tip as some of the places think they have a right to add tips onto your bill. A few restaurants in Times Square think one should leave a tip and we were told by a waiter that it was offensive not to leave one. Good service deserves a tip but not just handing tips out willing hilly. I would highly recommend this hotel, a very comfy room and cleaners were very keen on a morning, they were in fact waiting for us to leave by 8:30am in a morning to get cleaned up. Very central and friendly staff all round but Chris is the best out of them all and so passionate about his job and the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived to when we left..The staff at The Empire Hotel, especially Michelene, exceeded are expectations. From the comfort of the room to the location, it made for a perfect time. When we checked out, we went and had lunch upstairs at Ed's Chowder House, which was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatcha5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear fatcha5,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. It is awesome to hear you had a great stay and the location of the hotel, comfort of your room and service of our team exceeded your expectations. Our staff loves positive feedback, thank you for mentioning Guest Service Agent, Michelene in your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire in the near future.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st catharines, ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

During a girls' week away in New York, we stayed at the Empire Hotel. We were very impresses with our first impression of the hotel. During check in the receptionist recommended we take a junior suite instead of our queen size bed room. We agreed under the impression that the room had both a queen size bed and a pull out couch. The room had only a pull out couch. After calling down to the front desk we were advised to try it for the night. It was a very uncomfortable and sleepless night for my girlfriend and I. The pull out couch was very uncomfortable. The hotel did redeem itself because after asking for our original reservation of a queen size room we were given a small suite with two double beds. After that first night our experience at the hotel was good but I ask myself why the receptionist would recommend our initial room? Dinner at the hotel restaurant was good but breakfast is very expensive, $5.00 got two pieces of toast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treeabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,527 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#384 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing