We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE the Lobby Bar @ Empire Hotel”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #329 of 466 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
“LOVE the Lobby Bar @ Empire Hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I work in the fashion industry and the last few Fashion Weeks I've lived at Lincoln Center. This year I again will return and one part that I'm most looking forward to is going back to the Empire Hotel.

I was recently there with a few friends for drinks and it just reminded me of how much I love the hotel especially the lobby bar. We sat at a table and were immediately greeted by Heather. Her level of attention and her hospitality were a clear reminder of what service should be. We then had the pleasure of meeting Aaron. Talk about a personality and positive attitude. We chatted him up and he never showed any disinterest in our conversation and really made us feel comfortable sharing with him our various previous Fashion Week disasters at other venues. He's a gem!

Looking forward to going back in a few weeks!!!

Room Tip: Try EVERYTHING on the cocktail list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FashionIsMyPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear FashionIsMyPassion,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our lobby bar on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to host you and your colleagues. I will be sure to share your kind words with Aaron, our Director of Food and Beverage. Thank you for your loyalty to The Empire Hotel. . We look forward to welcoming you back for Fashion Week. If you should need any assistance, do not hesitate to contact me at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    1,830
    1,175
    656
    443
See reviews for
1,419
1,919
367
1,071
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We (Brits) took a three night vacation in November '12. The location suited us, being walkable to Central Park and many shops and restaraunts. We weren't hugely impressed with our 6th floor room though - I don't think it would have been rated as highly if it were in England. The decor was fine but it was cramped, we couldn't adjust the heating (too hot), the shower cubicle had no door and it sported possibly the worst example of wall tiling I've come across! We found the doormen in the foyer slightly intimidating - but perhaps all US hotels are like that?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Graham B,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at The Empire. I am happy the location of the hotel met your expectations but disappointed you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. I have taken note of your comments and will share with our designers and the hotel’s Executive Team. If you would like to discuss your experience further or need any additional assistance, please contact me directly at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com. I hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back so that you may enjoy another room category we offer our guests.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed there and the service was excellent. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful! Clean, spacious, great view! Would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our stay at The Empire was beyond my expectations. The hotel itself was beautiful. Our room was just perfect. I could not have asked for more . The service we received was fabulous. We were a large group, with individual needs. Each one of use felt that the service we received was top notch. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. I look forward to another stay at The Empire Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spent two nights at the Empire last week and found the hotel's location very convenient (C-line is right across the street at Lincoln Center) my needs - a medical meeting at Columbia, an investors meeting in Connecticut, and investor meetings in mid-town. Room was comfortable, and there was a good breakfast on the Mezzanine level (which I missed on my first day). Good restaurants are in the area. Staff was friendly and responsive. I would stay here again. For those who need WiFi, there was a good (and free) WiFi set up here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear JetBlue2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. As Assistant General Manager, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us during your recent business trip to New York. It is great to hear that our services and amenities met your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently celebrated my birthday at the Empire Hotel lobby lounge and I must say, the experience was wonderful. Aaron and Pablo did an amazing job ensuring that my family, friends and I had an amazing evening from start to finish. The atmosphere was very intimate and beautiful, with plenty of seating space for my party of 15. We began our night by enjoying delicious food and drinks at the lounge before heading upstairs to the rooftop. The entire staff at the lobby lounge was extremely friendly and attentive, which made our experience a pleasure. I am looking forward to hosting another event there soon, and would certainly recommend it to anyone who appreciates intimate settings, delicious food/beverages, as well as exceptional service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fcamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent 2 nights here for our anniversary. Great restaurant and bars!! Rooftop bar is a definite must! High levels of service....from parking attendants to front desk, bell hops to housecleaning. Could not ask for friendlier people! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend time in New York City. Our room, overlooking Lincoln Center, was awesome! Also enjoyed some fab shopping in Columbus Circle, just a brief walk from the hotel. Great neighborhood. Lots to do. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Bobbymcc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Empire Hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. I will be sure to share your review with our team. It is always nice to recognize their hard work and commitment and I thank you for doing so. If I can ever be of assistance at The Empire, please contact me directly at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 466 in New York City
6,221 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 466 in New York City
3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#349 of 466 in New York City
4,252 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,064 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing