We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #340 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location of this hotel is great! You can easily walk to most of central Manhattan tourist spots. Concierges were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. This is a noisy hotel but only due to New York being a noisy city!! We stayed on the 6th floor and weren't aware of any noise other than the outside traffic etc. The walls are paper thin and you do have to hope that you have considerate neighbours. Other reviews mention the towels, shower etc . Housekeeping are only to happy to issue more towels and yes the shower splashes but if you use the bath mat provided you don't get a puddle on the floor. If you're looking for a traditional hotel then this isn't the one for you but on the whole a good hotel for NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    1,498
    994
    501
    337
See reviews for
1,063
1,506
275
834
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night as there was a gap between our old lease ending and new lease starting. The hotel is located on the Upper West Side a nice neighborhood away from the tourist areas of Midtown. The room was small like most NY hotels but furnished nicely. The front desk staff was helpful when we checked in. We enjoyed the rooftop bar. Definitely a good place to stay if visiting the city won't be disappointed with the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovenyc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed @ The Empire for years and was very disappointed in the downward spiraling conditions during our pre Christmas stay. We upgraded to a suite which from the sounds of other reviewers, we at least had plenty of room and a lovely view.
Every day the towels either had holes in them or were frayed.
The newest con I'm seeing with regularity is that the TV doesn't work so someone has to be sent up to fix it; queue the tip music. This has happened to me in every hotel in Manhattan I've stayed at for the last 2 years.
As other reviewers said, stay here for the location because there's not much else positive.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p2cip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The perfect way to ring in the new year -- the vibe was amazing, the service impeccable and the food was out of this world. Everyone who works there especially Aaron Collins makes sure you have a great experience. I wanted to have a chill, positive NYE and the Empire Hotel was the BEST PLACE to be. The music was also amazing and I basically couldn't stop smiling. I have been to a lot of crazy places for NYE but this has been one of the best!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceyanne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

celebrating NYE at The Empire was a perfect start t0 2013! My fiance and I were welcomed by the entire staff and Mr. Gabriel who gave us our bracelets was such a gentleman! I have never been around such welcoming people, the cocktail waitresses were very nice and the bartenders were there when you needed that drink! cheers to 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited the Empire during December of 2012 for the Holiday season in NYC. Upon arrival you will see a beautifully decorated lobby and bar area. The staff is very efficient and gets you settled in quickly. The rooms have the same decor as the public areas. When we returned back at night, there was a delicious cupcake with the Empire logo in our room. We both had a wonderful nights sleep, the beds and pillows are to die for! I truly appreciated the bath products they provide in their rooms. L'Occitane products are high quality and smell great! We had a nice corner suite that provided some great views of the upper west side and the Lincoln Center. This boutique hotel is in a great location whether you plan on going to the Lincoln Center or not. It's so close to Central Park, some really great restaurants, lots of shopping.. and it's NYC, you are supposed to be walking and exploring to other areas as well! I had an absolutely wonderful stay, I can't wait to stay here again. Great job to every one at the Empire. Thank you for making my holiday season in NYC special.. Keep up the wonderful services you provide!

Room Tip: The corner suites provide some extra nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel's location is great if you're going to the Met, which is the reason we booked it. It's right across the street.

We only stayed one night, for which we ended up shelling out $270 total, although the website we booked it through advertised it as $100 bucks initially. The room was tiny, not at "user-friendly", due to some faux-European stylizations which make for an odd experience. For example, I'm 5'6"" and had to stand on my tiptoes to reach the hangers in the tall, narrow closet as well as the hook for bathrobes. The sink in the bathroom is completely flat and quite shallow, causing a splash-back issue. The shower has a steel baton attached to it by coil for no immediately apparent reason, except perhaps to make you think water is actually going to come out of it if you don't look at it closely. When you turn *on* the shower, it pours out of a ceiling fixture directly onto you, which is completely non-adjustable. Turning the lever to the other side simply prevents water from coming out, since there's not faucet. So, if you don't want to suffer the freezing water first coming out, you either have to squeeze against the wall near the fixtures or suffer the freezing water momentarily until you jump back out of the way, and then keep leaning into the falling water until you get it adjusted to the right temperature.

There's more. We were told by the web site (not the hotel) that our room had a view of the Met Plaza. It turns out the "view" was streamed through the tv, apparently so they could say "now every room has a view", as was happily announced on a placard next to the TV. What a con. The actual view was a brick wall.

Be careful of the hotel's restaurant, the Chowder something or other. It's amazingly expensive - we paid $80 for 2 with strictly an entree for each, plus one $8 glass of sparkling water. Oddly, we thought the prices would be much better, because Mon-Thurs they run a happy hour, which includes cheap food, from 4-6 pm. Although we were inside by 10 before six, they give us the regular (really expensive) menu rather than the much cheaper happy hour menu. I was confused and didn't realize until we left the restaurant that we should've been offered the happy hour menu, when we talked to a couple who were leaving the same time as us and who *had* gotten the happy hour menu, and were raving about how good deal it was. Ouch.

Also, as a heads up, there is a $100 "incidentals" charge added on your bill at checkout, which they don't tell you about - it just shows up on your charge card. I called the hotel just now and asked them what was up when my wife spotted it. They said it would be cleared in 72 HOURS!!!! I'm hope so!

FWIW, the performance of "Barber of Seville" at the Met was fantastic. And this is from someone who is decidedly not an Opera afficionado but who's married to one.

Next time, we'll book a Holiday inn and take the train. It's cheaper, everything's "normal", has WiFi, and the rooms are larger.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacknimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#364 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,919 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#176 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,467 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#225 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#85 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#48 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing