We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location for Kennedy Center”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #311 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Terrific location for Kennedy Center”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Dark foyer with loud music. We immediately felt 'too old' for the clientele. The decor is entirely brown, incuding the corridors and the rooms so you feel as if you're in a 70s B film. However, the bed was comfortable and the room offered everything we needed. You can't get a better position for outtings to the Kennedy Center; the hotel is on the doorstep. There is a nightclub downstairs with lineups down the street in the evening; a little off-putting for non-clubbers like ourselves.I try hard to find somewhere else when we go up to New York.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    1,812
    1,144
    623
    407
See reviews for
1,368
1,882
364
1,047
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in June. And loved every minute.
The hotel is in a great location, only a 10 min walk to Times Square and is really beautiful.
The room was nice but quite cramped. You had to step into the shower in order to close the bathroom door if you needed to go to the toilet.
We were also incorrectly charged $9 for a bottle of water. What the?? But the staff were happy to rectify this when we approached the desk.
It is a lovely place to stay, and upon looking at the floor plan we realised we had been placed in the smallest room on the floor.
We loved it for our first visit but when we go back we will probably look for somewhere that can fit us, our two suitcases and without a struggle to go to the toilet in peace.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in September when we attended NYC fashion week (not as models!). It was an excellent location but don't expect to find using the lifts easy as we often had to wait FIVE minutes for a lift - I know the hotel was full because of fashion week but it was pretty ridiculous. And I don't mind walking downstairs so long as they are well signposted and you don't have to walk through a laundry area/service area to get out into the lobby.

Nothing special, but a good location. The bar was nice - and they had no qualms about swapping a glass of champagne when I thought it was flat which was good of them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAStravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The only thing this hotel has going for it is its proximity to Lincoln Center and its fashionable lobby. Aside from that, the rooms are cramped, the staff is amateurish and the management is incompetent.

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday 11/10 and checked out on Sunday 11/11. On neither day were the elevators working. Three times I had to traverse 11 flights of stairs. How do you run a hotel in NYC without a working elevator? The man who claimed to be the manager was rude and disinterested in hearing complaints from guests as they checked out. I don't know if anyone else was compensated, but we weren't.

Clearly security is also an issue at this hotel, as there is some sort of ghetto gangsta club on the roof which leads to a lot of drunk people lurking the halls at night.

I was expecting much more for a $400 a night hotel in Lincoln Center. I really should have heeded the warnings on Trip Advisor before booking here. It's a real shame, because it is literally across the street from Lincoln Center.

On a positive note, breakfast at the restaurant (The Chowder House)was decent.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnClap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel is OK and lobby is actually very nice BUT the hotel rooms defy description for smallness of size...2 people can barely fit inside (with one person it's crowded)...I've seen small hotel rooms in Europe BUT these are smaller than anything there...you'll be shocked...if you are attending Lincoln Center this hotel is great...we got a deal on HotWire...if I paid full price I'd be very angry.

Room Tip: Ask about room size when you book...I'd suggest a diet otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I travel a lot and go into the city multiple times a year. This was my first and last time I stay at the Empire. My friend and I stayed for one night. The lobby was very nice. The elevators were efficient. The hotel was overall clean. The rooms are small but that is what most expect in NYC. I chose this hotel because it was only 3 blocks away from The View where we had tickets the next morning. We stayed in room 931. We had 2 full size beds. I am sure that made the room feel tighter than if we only had a single bed. The beds were satisfactory but certainly didn't make you say "ahh". Besides the room being so small, the bathroom was the bigger disappointment. The drain in the sink filled and had a slow drain every time you used it. It was small and shallow so the slow drain made it fill and was pretty gross when you where brushing your teeth! There wasn't a door on the shower (not a huge deal). My friend took a shower first. She couldn't believe not only were we given one wash clothe but the drain was clogged in he shower too! We couldn't call the front desk because we didn't have the time for it to be fixed. I had to get in her dirty water and shower. The water was about to go over so I had to cut my shower short. I was not happy. We had told the clerk at check out. She said she was sorry. We had $36 worth of incidentals. She said she couldn't take that off our bill for our inconvenience because we booked through expedia. Further, she would not allow my friend and I to split the room on our credit cards because again, it was booked on Expedia. She did give us a couple of breakfast coupons but we told her we were unable to use them because of our time constraint. She did not care. I have stayed at many other places in the city. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee_knows_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Awful hotel. Awful staff. Noisy, tiny rooms. Poor security. Dreadful wifi.
We were staying at The Empire when Sandy hit, and the staff COULD NOT COPE. No communication, little assistance.
Do not stay at this hotel, unless you enjoy arguing with front desk everyday. Seems like since they've been a filming location for Gossip Girl, they've forgotten all about hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank p0cketr0cket77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear p0cketr0cket77,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at The Empire during Hurricane Sandy. During the storm we were fortunate to have experienced minimal interruptions to our operation. We were fully staffed and able to provide security, comfort and safety for our guests. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced as our team did their very best to provide service and communication despite the extraordinary circumstances. Please do not hesitate to contact me at jrauer@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to share your experience in further detail. There are always learning opportunities after working through unique situations. Thank you for staying at The Empire.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 468 in New York City
4,837 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#388 of 468 in New York City
6,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,976 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 468 in New York City
3,477 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#130 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing