We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #312 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed at the Empire Hotel several times while in New York on business. Location is a real plus with great restaurants within walking distance, shopping, museums... The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The front desk concierge was extremely helpful and the staff very attentative. I have stayed in several other hotels while on business trips, this is my far my most favorite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,833
    1,756
    1,118
    607
    390
See reviews for
1,317
1,839
342
1,010
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Callicoon, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Empire Hotel is in a great location. Right across the street from Lincoln Center.
The rooms were warm modern and comfortable. A little small but that's what New York City hotels are unless you double the price. But the staff is worth twice the price.

From the doormen to the front desk to the maids. All friendly and helpfull above and beyond what you would expect.

Made a comment about something that really didn't bother me but bother others. It was fixed almost before the phone was on the hook and they even gave me free breakfast for pointing it out.

Who asked? But it was nice to recieve.

Go enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnklLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear UnkLes,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at The Empire. I am glad that you enjoyed the comfort and modern feel of your room. I am thrilled to see that our staff provided you with the level of exceptional service we strive to provide at The Empire. I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for the post on Trip Advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The lobby and rooms are clean, chic and lovely, and we found an attentive staff who promptly delivered extra pillows, ironing board and iron and gave us a free box of cashews when the ones we opened from the honor bar proved stale. Our only real objection was a very small room with no room for an ironing board to begin with, queen, not king size bed, tiny closet and no place to put your luggage so it has to be opened on the floor. Sound transference between rooms was also a problem along with door slamming in halls. On balance this was a good value b/c we paid under $200 on Hotwire, but I would have been bummed if I'd paid full freight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccdeblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Empire Hotel has pleasant staff,efficient and attentive. It is a comfortable hotel with smart decor. The location is convenient and away from the noise of midtown located across the street from the great Lincoln Center. You will experience fine dining at Ed's Chowder House and a cool lounge with a bar on the lobby level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear pbs73,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay while on business in New York. As Assistant General Manager of The Empire, I am happy to see you enjoyed our friendly and attentive staff and that you were comfortable during your time with us. Thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you back to NYC!

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great location,excellent staff, close to Subway and many shops and restaurants
Great rooftop Bar, rooms are really small, comfortable bed,lower floor rooms have no issue with noise.star bucks is very close.
A bit pricey !!

Room Tip: I stayed for work for two nights.great location,very close to subway ,restaurants,rooftop bar is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BHAWANADAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in Jan 12 , service was good but rooms slighty smaller than average and had issue with the smelly toilet and constant sound of garbage collecting was unbearable . Apart from that great location close to central park and ballet theatre .

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We travelled to NYC dec 2011 from the UK. We had all been to the big apple before and wanted to sample more. I chose this hotel based on recommendation. I work in the travel industry so wanted to make sure we picked a good one. The check in process was speedy, the rooms were spotless. Our friends bedroom window would not shut properly, so they immeadiately informed the reception team and the were promptly moved.
We totally loved the lobby bar. A fab location to chill out after a hard day shopping, with a good cocktail. We decided to reserve an area in the roof top club. This was not cheap, but we had the most amazing night. We were treated like VIP's and loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Ask to be situated at th efron of the hotel for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssjjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear mrssjjenks,

Thank you for posting your review of The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled your experience at The Empire lived up to the recommendation you received. I am also happy you had an opportunity to enjoy a cocktail at our lobby bar and The Empire Rooftop. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire in the near future!

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,499 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,797 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing